We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Howe Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Howe Cottages to your Saves list
Cape Howe Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   322 Tennessee Road South | Lowlands Beach, Lowlands, Western Australia 6330, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in 'The Wardroom'. The house had everything that was needed for our stay and the option of home cooked meals delivered to our door was fantastic and much appreciated after a busy day of exploring the area. It was a perfect size for a family of four. The location was great and we loved waking up to magnificent views over the Australian bushland first thing in the morning. We really appreciated the peace and solitude of the location and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Keepers Lodge @ $180 p/day. It is a stunning stunning location with amazing view over the bushland. The house was clean well presented with everything you may need.
The kitchen appliances dated and it can do with upgrade.
We enjoy the rural location. Nearby Lowlands beach stunning location.
I would liked a choice in rooms as we booked a 4 bedroom house and found half of the house locked up leaving us with 2 rooms. I would recommend this to anyone that wants to get away from the city!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capehowe, Owner at Cape Howe Cottages, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Keepers Lodge is a large 4 bedroom/2 bathroom house sleeping up to 10 people. Guests are provided access to the various sections of the house depending on the number of beds required and the tariff paid. Our website and sales information clearly states “You can choose how much of the house you require and only pay according to how many beds and bathrooms you use.”

As these guests booked for 2 adults and 2 children they were provided with access to the two best bedrooms and the largest of the 2 bathrooms plus full access to all the living, dining, kitchen, laundry areas (a total of more than 150 m2 of living space) plus all the outdoor space. Only 2 bedrooms and one bathroom were locked off as these sections were not paid for within the tariff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We are a couple with one child aged 10 and we stayed at Cape Howe Cottages in July 2012 for 4 nights in the Snug. What a wonderful quaint little place to stay. Friendly owners showed us around the cottage on arrival , once we had settled in we took a walk to the beach to admire the stunning coastline, then back to the cottage to build a lovely warm fire in the wood burning stove. The Snug is very clean and well equipped with comfortable beds and comfortable reclining chairs to watch tv or read in the evenings. One of the nicest places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,104 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 735 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Yeah, this was good. And for Western Australia the price for what you get is great.

Kings Den is their luxury couples unit - in the bush with high specification decor it feels like a wonderful, relaxing retreat. There is a spa which is just about big enough for the two of you and an outdoor shower.

The units are all different though, so make sure you know what you are getting. Some are higher specification than others, some are for families or groups, some for couples and some have views.

They are a 15/20 minute walk to the pretty Lowlands Beach (or its a quiet road to drive).

We packed our own provisions so didn't try their menu, which included pizza and curries.

You are a drive away from Albany and Denmark (40-ish minutes to Albany and 20-ish minutes to Denmark) so you need to be happy with that, but personally I love being in a bush location like this and the wineries and town attractions and local national parks are not far away. We have booked for next year.

A good option ifor a walk is that they can drop you in Cape Howe National Park for you to do a 5-6 hour walk back along the coastal Bibbulman Track to the cottages.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have experienced another fantastic stay at Cape Howe Cottages, this time in the Kings Den for 2 nights.

If you need to escape from your busy lives at home, this is the best place to chill, relax and catch up on much needed sleep.

This cottage is like what another reviewer has described it as – “2 pods connected by a walkway”. One pod being the kitchen, lounge and dining area and the other being the bedroom, bathroom and laundry facilities. Near the walkway is an outdoor shower.

This cottages comes with it all well equipped kitchen, large fridge\freezer, a good selection of books, mags, games and even a couple of cook books. They also have a book exchange if you start reading a book and cannot finish it before you go, leave one of your books and take that one. 1 litre of full cream milk in the fridge along with some locally made toffee and its Yum!! There is a washing machine and dryer and the bathroom is also well equipped with shampoo, soap, hairdryer etc.. We were even supplied with slippers which come in handy for the tiled floor.

Not much more I need to say as it’s covered in all the previous reviews. Some hand towel in the kitchen would be handy and if you rely on mobile reception there is no reception at all in this cottage, however we loved this aspect!

We can’t wait to return for another relaxing stay at Cape Howe Cottages.

Room Tip: If you want total seclusion Kings Den and Wardroom are both great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in King's Den.
Well worth the slightly longer (1 1/2hrs) drive than Margaret River.
Warm and genuinely pleasant host - check
wonderful setting buried deep in woods and a 20 minute jog from a sensational beach - check
superbly well equipped kitchen- check
massive amount of space- check
unbelievably comfortable bed- check
delightful spa and outdoor shower - check
No Foxtel sports - can't have everything!
amazing home cooked food delivered to cottage (lamb madras outstanding) - check
Amazing value for money

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kualalumpur
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the wardrobe...family of 4 in November 2009. The wardrobe is so warm and cosy that makes us never want to leave. The kitchen is very well equipped, we had great time cooking our meals after a day of driving around Albany. The dining area overlooks the delightful bushland, the bedrooms and bathroom are roomy and snug, the garden is cherry with varieties of kangaroo paws and Australian flora. The beach is a short drive from our cottage. If one feels energic, it's also quite easy walk to the delightful beach. The sea view is spectacular.

Even though its more than 2 years, we still smile when we think of the wardrobe.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
22.9 mi away
Beach House at Bayside
Beach House at Bayside
#1 of 21 in Albany
5.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tennessee Hill Chalets
Tennessee Hill Chalets
#2 of 2 in Lowlands
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Torbay Sea View Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Albany Harbourside Apartments and Houses
23.0 mi away
HideAway Haven
HideAway Haven
#2 of 21 in Albany
5.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
11.1 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#3 of 28 in Denmark
5.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Howe Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Howe Cottages

Address: 322 Tennessee Road South | Lowlands Beach, Lowlands, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Lowlands
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Howe Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Howe Cottages provide five distinctly different secluded holiday retreats nestled amid 50 hectares of private nature reserve near Lowlands Beach on the far south coast of Western Australia. Guests are invited to savour the essence of a real holiday experience surrounded by nature and immersed in luxury.Cape Howe Cottages have now earned an award winning reputation for excellence providing providing space, privacy and tranquility in quality accommodation with personal care and service in a truly inspiring environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Howe Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Howe Cottages Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Howe Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.