We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy, dirty room, could not eat breakfast” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast

Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coalpit Heath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Coalpit Heath BS36 2UW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Filthy, dirty room, could not eat breakfast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Previous occupants had written in the dust, we added to it! Bathroom had sliding door and obviously they only cleaned it whilst open, cobwebs in corners of shower and bathroom, extraction fan covered in cobwebs. Tiny basin so couldn't wash properly and no shelf to put toiletries. TV table, lamp stand, mirrors, backs of chairs all filthy. Couldn't trust the water in kettle as the lid was covered in dust which hadn't been disturbed. Breakfast served from 7 to 9 a.m. Ours must have been cooked at 7 and kept warm until 8.30. Cheapest sausages - just paste inside uck! Obviously they offer a two tier system as we had B&B in farmhouse and definitely not the standards and service which I had expected having booked reading other reviews - but dirt had been there for a long time so ? Would never recommed or go there again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxHedge, Owner at Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
If you have has just read the above review it would be appreciated if you would take the time to read our response in the interests of giving a fair hearing To Marilyn and I (Bob) as the owners of Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast.

Marilyn and I take all comments from guests very seriously and are always happy to accept constructive criticism. We are aware that you cannot please all of the people all of the time but we attempt to do so. Because we are open to criticism we believe that guests that stay in our B&B should also be open to criticism if their behaviour or attitude could adversely affect the enjoyment of other guests staying at Box Hedge Farm. We know from many years of experience that a very small minority of guests when asked to have some consideration for other guests become very indignant and resentful that their behaviour has being criticised, and seem to think that because they are paying guests that they can conduct themselves in any way that they see fit. We are aware that indignation and resentment from a small minority of guests can manifest itself in many forms …..

The reviewer has rated our “value” as terrible, our “rooms” as terrible, our “location” as poor, our “service” as terrible and “sleep quality” as poor. I would just ask that readers of the review, before accepting such comments at face value, take a look at other Trip Advisor reviews as well as “Guests Comments” on the Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast website. Guests comments are reproduced exactly as written by guests in there own handwriting in our Visitors Books which are always available for scrutiny at Box Hedge Farm. The comments on the Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast website are just a fraction of the hundreds of comments that we have documented, made by guests going back some fifteen years. The comments speak for themselves.

With regard the reviewers subjective ratings regarding “value”, “service” or “sleep quality” I will draw the readers attention to some facts later in this response, but first I will challenge the review marking for “location”. The reviewer has rated the “location” of Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast as “poor”. I believe that a rating of “poor” is very seriously misleading for the following reasons. Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast UK is set in 200 acres of countryside just to the north of Bristol and Bath and is on the edge of the Cotswolds. As far as the eye can see there are green fields and lush woodland which we share with Roe Deer, foxes, owls, field mice, birds, numerous other wildlife and cattle. The area is criss-crossed with footpaths and bridle paths, and our guests have access to these as well as having free but private access to about 50 acres of fields and woodlands belonging to Box Hedge Farm. Many very positive references can be found to our location on “Guests Comments” on the Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast website and also in the Trip Advisor reviews. I do not believe anybody could ever say that the location was poor if they enjoy the countryside. It may be that this reviewer may have considered that the location was “poor” because they would have preferred to stay in the middle of Bristol or Bath, with concrete, traffic, noise, nightclubs, and neon street lights etc but it was the reviewer that chose the location, not us at Box Hedge Farm. As the reviewer had total control over the choice of location, but may have made a bad choice which did not really suite them, I believe it is totally unfair to rate as poor a naturally beautiful country location, just because it may not be to the reviewers liking.

Now to some facts.

We do not operate a “two tier system” regarding cleanliness of rooms, the standard of service offered to our guests, or the quality of breakfasts served to our guests as stated by the reviewer. That is a fact. We have 18 rooms that are cleaned and dusted on a daily basis by four permanent cleaning ladies. All toilets and bathrooms are cleaned on a daily basis. Our ladies are very experienced, and are directly employed by us. We do not use contract cleaners who may not be familiar with the very high standard that we demand. An important factor in the quality control system that I have put in place is that my wife Marilyn personally inspects all rooms prior to guests arriving.
Despite all of our efforts it is always possible that a bit of dust may appear, or spiders may wreak havoc, spinning webs furiously between daily cleans. Living in the middle of the countryside as we do, Marilyn and I have to accept that dust (and nature) prevails and spiders are free to run riot! We hope that if our guests do find some dust and the odd spider that they will consider this to be a small inconvenience for all the benefits of relaxing in the middle of the countryside.

It is a fact is that none of our guests would ever be offered a “filthy, dirty room”. If our accommodation was “filthy, dirty” we would not have been in business for fifteen years, and continually turning people away because we are fully booked. There is substantial evidence to support my statement. For a start, out of the ten reviews for Box Hedge Farm B&B on Trip Advisor this is the only review that states that their room was not clean. Of the remaining nine reviews one made no comment on cleanliness, six had maximum rating (5 points) and two had three points. Further very positive comments on the cleanliness of our accommodation can be found in “Guests Comments” on the Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast website.

In the accommodation that was occupied by the reviewer the basin in the toilet/shower room is intended for washing hands, face and for wet shaving. It is fit for purpose. The small basin was never intended for individuals to wash or bathe in. As observed by the reviewer, the basin is far too small. The shower unit right next door to the hand basin was installed for persons to clean themselves, and is fully fit for purpose. Although there is only a mirror above the hand basin there is a cupboard directly adjacent to the basin, in, and on which, toiletries can be stored.

Breakfasts at weekends are served between 0730 and 0900. Breakfasts for guests eating at 8.30 are most definitely not cooked at 0700 as stated by the reviewer. We always ask guests at what time they would like breakfast, and what they would like for breakfast when they arrive, so that we can plan the cooking sequence accordingly. As we can be cooking up to 30 + breakfasts daily at weekends some items like sausages and bacon are kept on “hot hold” for perhaps 20 minutes but never for 1 ½ hours as suggested by this reviewer. Generally breakfasts are cooked on demand as required and this fact is substantiated by the Trip Advisor review “Back in Blighty” dated 20th June 2010, I quote …. “The following morning breakfast was wonderful, a proper full english with all the trimmings (made all the better for seeing it being cooked in the kitchen off the dining room!)”. Further comments regarding the high standard of breakfasts is given in “Guests Comments” on the Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast website. This is probably the right moment to point out that we are formally registered with South Gloucestershire Council and have held the coveted award of five stars (out of five) for the Environmental Health and Trading Standards Food Hygiene Star Rating since its inception in 2007. Prior to this we held a five out of five star rating for South Gloucestershire Council’s Food Safety Award. The highest award possible has been awarded for many years following regular rigorous site inspections and very close scrutiny of our food purchasing and processing procedures. This award does not guarantee how good a breakfast might taste however, but guests should be pleased to note that food safety is pretty well assured!

I turn now to the most important subject of breakfast sausages!! We have searched far and wide, high and low in order to provide the “best” sausages to our guests, but have had some difficulty defining what a better sausage is. It is a fact that individuals’ tastes vary. Some people like sausages stuffed full of meat while others prefer something lighter with more rusk than meat in their sausages. We standardised long ago on a Cumberland pork sausage which contains 75% farm assured British pork, rusk, herbs (sage, thyme and parsley), spices (nutmeg, tumeric, ginger, corianda, black pepper). Our sausages are not cheap and certainly do not contain “paste” – whatever that is. We also can provide when asked in advance vegetarian “sausages” which consist of rusk, wheat and pea protein, onion and salt. For some of our regular guests (who stay week after week) who prefer a “lighter” sausage we have standardized on a sausage that has only 32% pork and 8% beef, the rest of the sausage consisting of rusk and spices (nutmeg, ginger, pepper). We do not serve low meat content sausages to weekend guests or non-regulars unless they specifically ask us to do so.

The guest review is entitled “Filthy, dirty room, could not eat breakfast”. We have never had anybody in fifteen years that has not eaten their breakfast. Some have not eaten all their breakfast because the plate was too full. If any guest had left their breakfast untouched we would certainly have known and would most certainly asked the guest(s) in question why they had not eaten their breakfast. These guests were served breakfast on two mornings. They left clean plates on both occasions.

We remember well the couple that are responsible for the review and are content that they will never return. In any event they had already been added to our very short list of “never again” guests. We believe that more often than not “like attracts like” and are therefore we are well pleased that they will not recommend us to their friends and relatives.

Regards

Bob Downes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
4
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

I stayed here with my husband for a couple of nights as we were attending an event nearby. Right from making my first enquiry Marilyn couldn't have been more helpful, professional and polite.
On arrival we were delighted with the rural location and absolutely made up with our room. We had the ensuite to the left of the main house and found it charming. The bed was huge, the room itself very spacious with everything you may need and the shower room was clean, tidy and well stocked too.
The following morning breakfast was wonderful, a proper full english with all the trimmings (made all the better for seeing it being cooked in the kitchen off the dining room!).
Whilst the location is fantastically rural and felt like the middle of nowhere it is close enough to a number of local amenities and nearby venues to make the best of both worlds.
I will definately use this B&B again when staying in the area - we visit a couple of times a year and this is by far the best place we have found.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxHedge, Owner at Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Marilyn and I have not looked at the Trip Advisor site for a long long time as we have had our heads down working hard at Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast to maintain our very high standards. Although we have eighteen rooms available for Bed and Breakfast and also provide self catering accommodation we continue to be pretty well fully booked throughout the year and as Marilyn and I are “hands on” 365 days of the year there is little time to sit back and reflect where we are after more than fifteen years providing Bed and Breakfast and self catering accommodation. There has been even less time to spend browsing the Internet and catching up on any reviews that have been posted on Trip Advisor. Guests continue to fill up our Visitors Books with their comments and we can glance at these daily as we go about our business and I reproduce just one a month on the Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast website listed under “Guests Comments”. The vast majority of comments are only ever seen by guests interested enough to flip back through the current visitors books. Comments posted on Trip Advisor however can be seen by the whole world and therefore as the owners of Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast, Marilyn and I have decided that from now on we should take the time to read and respond to all reviews.

As from this week (4th October 2010) we will also ensure that our staff of four cleaning ladies and one maintenance man get to read the Trip Advisor Reviews and if appropriate any comment they have will be reflected in our management response to a review.

My wife Marilyn is very pleased to get such nice comments about how she interfaces with prospective guests. I appreciate how hard she works trying to accommodate peoples varying needs, but it’s nice for to have confirmation of this from our guests. As the reviewer has pin pointed exactly which room she occupied Marilyn has been able to pass on the positive comments to Sarah the cleaner for that area. Hopefully other reviewers will say whether they stayed in the Main Farm House, The Barn, The Gables, The Forge, The Stables or The Lodge so we can pass on any comment (good or bad!) to whoever is responsible for cleaning and maintaining a particular area. Sarah’s comment was that although she is just doing the job she is paid for, it does make a real difference getting thanks now and again!!

It does get very hot in the kitchen most mornings for Marilyn and I and the positive comments on breakfasts are welcomed …. some credit must go to the wonderful Aga cooker and the Range Master cooker which allow us to turn out up to 30+ breakfasts in quick time every morning!!! ….. and of course credit must also go to our butcher who continually supplies us with a consistently high standard of produce.

We hope that those that read the few reviews on Trip Advisor will also take the time to review other “Guests Comments” going back some fifteen years on the Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast website.

Regards
Bob Downes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Always made welcome on arrival and never in a rush to see you go. Never had a complaint with any of my visits to Box Hedge Farm, and I have been returning for the past year, and I'm sure I speak for many who stay here on a frequent basis as we all keep returning.
The location could not be better, away from the noisy towns but close enough to either drive or taxi, (that will not break the bank, should not pay no more than £20 into center of Bristol and £7 to Downend).
Great keep up the good work

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxHedge, Owner at Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
Marilyn and I are pleased to see a review from a regular guest to Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast, and the review is appreciated as it clearly indicates that we maintain a consistently high standard from week to week here at Box Hedge Farm.
We have a lot of business people working in the area who stay as guests from Monday to Friday. They come back week after week, month after month, and in some cases year after year. Our longest stay has been a computer software expert who stayed with us for over nine years! A big attraction seems to be our location which is smack, bang in the middle of the countryside with plenty of safe parking for all, allowing the stress of the working day to melt away in quiet peaceful relaxation, surrounded by green fields and lush woods.

Another attraction we think is our breakfast service. A lot of working people want to be up early and away to beat the morning rush and conscious of this we provide a full English breakfast from 0630 weekdays for those that want it. Some people have even earlier starts and for those that want it Marilyn is happy to provide any combination of bacon/egg/sausage sandwich in brown or white bread for early birds to take with them. If you have never tried it, I can tell you that biting into a cold bacon and egg sandwich made with nice fresh bread is a moment of magic! (Am I sad or what!)

Our regular guests are a bit like “family”, so to get an excellent rating for all categories from a family member is praise indeed – thank you “Daveyboy45”, we would never have expected “family” to actually take the trouble to thank us for our efforts.

Marilyn and I hope that those that read the few reviews on Trip Advisor will also take the time to review other “Guests Comments” going back some fifteen years on the Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast website.

Regards

Bob Downes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights at Box Hedge Farm on the outskirts of Bristol/Bath for a Hen Weekend, including a 30 minute spa treatment at the farm.

We had a fantastic time but I think that was largely due to the people. The venue was large enough for our group of 18... however with 1 bedroom for 6 sharing 1 bathroom and 2 further bedrooms for 4 sharing 1 further bathroom the facilities were somewhat lacking... with Ivy growing in the bathroom it was certainly rustic! There werent enought beds meaning sleeping hens on futons made for an uncomfortable night after a day's pamper.

The Hen Weekend also provided a cold buffet which was beautiful, fresh local food and a mini bus service into Bath on the evening.

Im not sure about the B&B as we stayed on a self catering basis.

The place could be fantastic but unfortunatly it was a bit tired and needs a bit of money to spruce it up.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxHedge, Owner at Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
If you have has just read the above review it would be appreciated if you would take the time to read our response in the interests of giving a fair hearing To Marilyn and I (Bob) as the owners of Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast.

Some clarification is required regarding this review. Marilyn and I run Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast business. The accommodation for the B&B consists of the Main Farm House, The Lodge, The Stables, The Forge, The Gables and the Barn. Another company called BHP Inspiring Events have accommodation units within in the Box Hedge Farm complex which are known as the Old Stables and The Old Barn. BHP run a lot of Hen Weekends and on occasions we provide some of our B&B accommodation for BHP use. This particular weekend we provided The Barn for just PART of a Hen Group. The whole Hen group may of consisted of 18 people but we accommodated only 10 of the Hen Group in our Barn as the reviewer has confirmed.

The first point to make is that these Hens wanted to be together and share the accommodation like a small community … as Hens always do! If we had been able to accommodate them they would have preferred all 18 to be accommodated in the one converted Barn, but this was impossible. I cannot agree that facilities were somewhat lacking because there where two shower room/toilets available for 10 guests which meets with all guidelines on these things. It was true that one shower/toilet room was designed to service the biggest bedroom which had 6 beds, but they were all mates together so there was no reason why one girl couldn’t have had access to the second shower room /toilet which was available to the other 4 Hens.

Because they wanted to be together we had to provide futons to accommodate some of the Hens because we just don’t keep a stock of spare beds on site. We have fully reviewed our procedures to ensure that prospective Hens understand that if they insist on being “altogether” then some Hens will have to use Futons. We have also made the need for two futons redundant by introducing a bunk bed ……. we are anticipating a complaint anytime now from a Hen that can’t stand heights! ……

I take exception to the comments regarding the Barn looking “tired”. All our accommodation is subject to annual decoration and we have a regular maintenance man who carries out these tasks. In addition regular deep cleaning of carpets in all areas is carried out by expert contractors.

I have to make the point that it is generally Hen parties that carelessly stick photographs and banners on to the walls in lounges /kitchens and bedrooms with no consideration for the marks left on the walls which can be very difficult and sometimes impossible to remove. More often than not there also seems to be some sort of fatal attraction between a Hens glass of wine (usually red) and our carpets. These sorts of past experiences with Hen groups in our Bed and Breakfast accommodation means that we are now reluctant to accommodate Hens unless a refundable sum of money is obtained as a surety against damage.

It is true that we did have some Ivy that sneaked in through the roof space, but it was high up in the apex of the room and we thought it actually complemented the original 300 year old oak beams. At the time we were waiting (and waiting, and waiting) on the services of a roofing expert to remove roof tiles in order to cut away the offending Ivy without affecting the watertight integrity of the roof. The offending wild Ivy has now been banished from the bathroom along with the cultivated Ivy, housed in an attractive pot, just in case that should cause offence or be considered too rustic for the surrounding.

Marilyn and I hope that those that read the few reviews on Trip Advisor will also take the time to review other “Guests Comments” going back some fifteen years on the Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast website.

Regards

Bob Downes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

After previously using the rather impersonal and over-priced hotels in Bristol, I decided this time to stay in the pretty countryside outside of the city.

The accommodation and breakfast at this establishment were everything you would expect of the better type of country B&Bs in the UK. My room was large, with access independent from the main house. It came with a full kitchen facility and en suite shower room, all of which was impeccably clean. Breakfast was very good, beautifully served, and seemed to offer plenty of choice.

The owner (Mrs Marilyn Downes) was a treasure, even spending a long time on the telephone to give me on-the-spot navigation commentary as I drove, after I had got lost at night in the neighbouring village. She could not have been more friendly, helpful or courteous. A free map was duly presented to me when I arrived at the farm.

Access to the centre of Bristol took fifteen or twenty minutes in reasonable traffic conditions.

Excellent value overall.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxHedge, Owner at Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
My wife Marilyn takes the lead in accepting bookings and is always the initial point of contact with guests. We do have very clear instructions on “How To Find Us” on the Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast website but occasionally she has to talk people in and has become skilled at this to the extent that I am sure she could easily get a job as a traffic controller at any airport!

We have passed a copy of this review to our cleaning lady (we have four) who is responsible for the accommodation that this gentleman stayed in. Jane said it was really nice to have a guest make such nice comments and that it actually made her day.

Marilyn and I hope that those that read the few reviews on Trip Advisor will also take the time to review other “Guests Comments” going back some fifteen years on the Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast website.

Regards

Bob Downes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

I would most definitely recommend this accommodation. If i were to stay in the area again, this would be the first place i would call for B&B, even if i were with my family. Marilyn and Bob were very polite friendly and helpful, without being overbearing.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxHedge, Owner at Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Marilyn and I find that some guests welcome close contact with their hosts, others prefer not to have too friendly an approach from us. With over fifteen years of experience in running Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast we hope that we get the approach right every time, this reviewer seems to think so anyway, which is very pleasing to us as we do try very hard to get the balance right.

Marilyn and I hope that those that read the few reviews on Trip Advisor will also take the time to review other “Guests Comments” going back some fifteen years on the Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast website.

Regards

Bob Downes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

Absolutely fantastic,very good value for money the cottage was lovely very homely, we went there for a family wedding and the owners could not do enough for us they were very accommodating with all aspects of our stay.Would highly recommend this B and B.

  • Liked — very comfortable
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxHedge, Owner at Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
This reviewer gave us a rating of average for “business services” e.g. Internet Access. Although we can provide a copying and fax facilities on request we cannot provide a decent broadband service because we are situated in the middle of the countryside with no optic cable connection and poor wi-fi. Something like a vodafone dongle connection does work but not in all bedrooms because some of our walls are two feet of solid stone. Because we are very competitively priced we could not provide “free” Internet connection and would have to charge. The dilemma for us is that to install any system at Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast would be extremely expensive because our accommodation is situated across a large area and we have thick stone walls. Once installed we would have to charge for what would be a pretty poor connection in terms of data speed – we are not happy to charge for a poor service. Until we can provide guests with a decent service we can only provide (free of charge) an emergency network connection point on request to download or send emails.

Regards

Bob Downes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: Coalpit Heath BS36 2UW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Coalpit Heath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coalpit Heath
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional, farmhouse setting in 200 acres of pleasant rural countryside, just to the North of Bristol and Bath on the edge of the Cotswolds. The Stables can sleep up to four people, The Gables up to four people, The Forge up to seven people, The Barn up to eight people and The Lodge up to eleven people. All rooms have central heating. We have a no smoking policy within all buildings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Box Hedge Farm b&b
Box Hedge Farm Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.