We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely personnal approach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Gasthof zum Schwanen

Save Saved
You added Hotel-Gasthof zum Schwanen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel-Gasthof zum Schwanen
Fussenerstrasse 2, Pflach, Reutte 6600, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pflach
Brugge
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Lovely personnal approach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 nights, before and during a hike in the mountains from hut to hut.
The hotel was booked by our travel agency, and that always frightens me a bit, but this was an excellent hotel. The rooms were very large with a modern bathroom. They have an own restaurant of a very decent standard.
I would recommand this any time for couples or families with children.

I would also like to mention that we missed our bus to Reutte the first day (to start our mountain tour by foot). The cook offered himself to drive us to Reutte immediately. Really, a fantastic guy! What a service!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My sister & I stayed one night at Hotel-Gastof zum Schwanen. A very nice experience. Pflach is in Austria, between Füssen, Germany and Reutte, Austria, so a convenient location for touring the Neuschwanstein Castle. We had a very large room with a comfortable bed and a good shower. We also had a balcony overlooking the Tyrol and the village. We dined in the restaurant – the dinner was delicious … the best salad dressing ever. Breakfast was good the next morning, but they did not seem to refill the buffet table – there was a large cycling group staying that night and they ate all the soft boiled eggs – when we asked for some … the staff did not seem too happy – like we were being greedy - and it took a long time. The downsides were: hauling luggage up a series of stairs (our room number was in the 20’s, but we were 4 flights up), very limited English spoken by the staff (I know ... we were in Austria, but we were not the only English speaking guests and it was difficult for us all), nails and screws from construction found in the back car park, having to pay for WiFi, they did not seem to get the idea of ice for the water or Coke, and room lighting could be improved. Goods: convenient location, pretty views from the balcony, large room and bath, delicious food in the attached restaurant.

Room Tip: Speak German!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Perfect little guesthouse just outside of Fussen (roughly 20 minutes by car). We arrived late and the the inn keepers had stayed up waiting for us and got us settled quickly into our room. Breakfast was great as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City,
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Our plane got in later than expected and we showed up at the hotel later than we expected. As it turns out, if you aren't there promptly before 9:00 PM, the doors are locked and the phones turned off. We tried calling so someone could let us in, no one picked up. Knocking on the doors didn't do anything (even though a light was on in the main floor). We couldn't find another hotel with vacancies and ended up sleeping in our car. Even though I didn't stay in the hotel, my credit card was charged as if I had, and I won't be seeing a refund. I'm amazed that a hotel that operates like this can be in business. Shameful. Don't stay here unless you know for certain you won't be even 5 minutes late. Even if you're sure you won't be, there are better hotels down the street for the same price.

Oh, and despite all of this, Neuschwanstein was incredible.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Clean and comfortable room. There was a lot of space inside the room for beds and wardrobe.
Very good breakfast.
Not so fanstastic the dinner.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

Our spacious room with bath accomodated a party of four and was immaculate. The breakfast buffet was delicious and also the evening meal that we enjoyed there. (We ate here the first night of our stay). This hotel was located in Pflach, Austria, just a short walk into Reutte. Situated in the foothills of the alps, every view is gorgeous, including the one from the balcony of our room. It was just a short drive (15 minutes) to the castles and Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Although we did not speak German, it was not a problem. The staff spoke enough English and were very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2005

The hotel is located right on the main road from the Fussen, Germany to Reutte, Austria, but if you aren’t paying attention you could miss it. The staff was very friendly, but they did not speak English. That made communication a little difficult, but not impossible with a limited knowledge of German. Nice, clean, quiet, spacious room. The food was very good - a typical buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel-Gasthof zum Schwanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof zum Schwanen

Address: Fussenerstrasse 2, Pflach, Reutte 6600, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Reutte > Pflach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pflach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying your vacation at all seasons at Hotel Gasthof zum Schwanen. Spring, summer, autumn, winter, our region has arround the year its offers. And after exciting outdoor activities we would like to spoil you for the rest of the day.Speeding up the circulation and relaxing in our wellness area. Who would not like it. Sunbathing, biking, walking, skiing. All at your disposition. And for cultural excursions - Castle Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau is in walking distance, Castle Linderhof 20 Km far.Spend your next holiday in Tyrol in the winter sports region Reutte - the gateway to Tirol. Our house is right on the trail. You also have the opportunity to explore the ski express the best hiking trails, cross-country skiing and ski resorts of Reutte, Ehrwald, Lermoos, Berwang Bichlbach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof zum Schwanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gasthof Zum Schwanen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Gasthof zum Schwanen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.