We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food friendly service, nice pizzas and salads as well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzaria Portobello

Pizzaria Portobello
R Candido Reis 24-A-r/c dto, Sao Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca 2460-637, Portugal
262 980 256
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bath
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good food friendly service, nice pizzas and salads as well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

this restaurant has a nice ambiance always busy so book or go early or late, excellent pizzas, cheesy garlic bread starters, salads are generous and tasty.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzariaPortobello, Owner at Pizzaria Portobello, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review and contribuition for our constant pursuit of improvment.
Hope to see you soon in the Pizzeria Portobello.
Best regards
Portobello team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We ate there twice during our 12 day trip in July/August. Huge pizzas- we needed a doggy bag and cheese covered garlic bread was interesting... not what we expected but good all the same. Salmon lasagne was disappointing . Not much salmon for the price of the dish. Would stick to the pizzas. Packed at all times, you might wait for a table.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzariaPortobello, Owner at Pizzaria Portobello, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review and contribuition for our constant pursuit of improvment.
Hope to see you soon in the Pizzeria Portobello.
Best regards
Portobello team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“AWFUL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We first visited this restaurant in 2010, and I had the meat canneloni my spouse the spaghetti carbonara as a main course.

Unfortunately the canneloni had to be returned twice as it was not cooked . As a result I was violently ill for the following two days and vowed never again.

Well last night (10th Feb 2012) I thought i'd give them a second chance and re visited the restaurant, where I had the meat canneloni again.

Upon recieving the bubbling dish, I felt assured all be fine. On biting into the canneloni the meat was COLD. Again I had to send my dish back to be heated. The meal was returned just slightly warmed inside, the pasta tasted like and had the consistency of old shoe leather.

Will we visit again? No No No.

However to balance my view, my partners carbonara was very good as was our garlic bread.
The service was good even though I was told by the waiter the food was freshly prepared, though i've never known freshly prepared food to be frozen inside as was the case in 2010! Draw your own conclusion.
Take my advice and go elsewhere 9Euros.10 cents for food poisioning is not worth it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzariaPortobello, Owner at Pizzaria Portobello, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review and contribuition for our constant pursuit of improvment.
Hope to see you soon in the Pizzeria Portobello.
Best regards
Portobello team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly and always good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This restaurant is probably the busiest in Sao and makes a great pizza!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzariaPortobello, Owner at Pizzaria Portobello, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review and contribuition for our constant pursuit of improvment.
Hope to see you soon in the Pizzeria Portobello.
Best regards
Portobello team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I have been here many times and it has always been good. It's not the best Italian food I have ever had but is certainly better than most. The service is always friendly and attentive.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PizzariaPortobello, Owner at Pizzaria Portobello, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review and contribuition for our constant pursuit of improvment.
Hope to see you soon in the Pizzeria Portobello.
Best regards
Portobello team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzaria Portobello also viewed

Sao Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca
Sao Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca
 
Sao Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca
Sao Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca
 

Been to Pizzaria Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzaria Portobello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.