We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"simple" meant not renovated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotell Riksgransen

Hotell Riksgransen
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riksgransen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotell Riksgransen
Riksgransen 981 94, Sweden (Formerly Riksgränsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Riksgransen
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"simple" meant not renovated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one week to go skiing. Our room was a big disappointment. It was called "simple apartment sleeps 1-2 people" That meant not renovated like the rest of the hotel which is annoying when they advertise the hotel as newly renovated. The pipes in the shower were rusty, there was a hole in the wardrobe door and the paint was peeling off the wall. The "bed" was a sofabed and a pullmanbed, not a bed for two which the description made it seem like. Also the tap was dripping and when we told the reception about this they answered "it has always been that way". The cleaning inspection which was made a big fuss about upon arrival never showed up. If we would have known about the standard of the apartments before we would have taken the smaller simpler skiers room which was cheaper. The food available is very limited. There were no vegetables seen in the store or any of the resturants. Forget about eating healthy. We chose the apartment partly because we wanted to cook our own food but the groceries available were very limited and of poor quality. The whole hotel is a bit shabby and needs a facelift. We wanted to go in the outdoor hot tob which was priced 150SEK on the homepage but when we got there we realised you had to pay the entry to the spa as well.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scandinavia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We arrived on June 26, just after midsummer, with the regional bus 91 (see www.ltnbd.se). The bus, which took us there directly from Kiruna Airport, was cheap and very comfortable. It also matched the incoming flight from Stockholm perfectly. Worth mentioning is the half price on flights vs own cabin on the train if you travel with someone and book a month or so in advance. You also reach Riksgränsen in only 3h instead of 16h by train. Our studio was small, but clean, modern and well-equipped with tv, fridge, drying cupboard and a proper pentry. For us, this was a good start of a mini-holiday with a one-day hike in the nearby beautifully green valley Kärkevagge. You get there easily, 3 stations by train (www.sj.se) to Låktatjåkka, from the train station just outside the hotel. With a good map you do not need expensive guides to go there over the day. Tickets are bought on board the train. Beware the trains only go once per day and may not stop at the station unless you specifically ask the conductor ! There is a good supermarket in the area, selling outdoor equipment as well. The studio pentry was perfect to prepare all meals and a lunch for a small backpack on the day trip. After the hike, back at the hotel around 5 pm, it was a pleasure to relax in the arctic spa before we tried the joyful bar at Meterologen. For my part, I lift my hat for the generous staff at Riksgränsen. Their friendliness and attention to detail really made us feel welcome an valued as visitors ! A spectacular view of the midnight sun panorama from our studio flat qualifies this venue for nature lovers who seek a city break with some outdoor adventure. Remember to bring Swedish cash as there were no ATM machines here and bus drivers did not accept any cards...

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

Just come back from a week in Riksgransen and would highly reccomend it. We stayed in the hotel and the room was fine, tv and nice bathroom. It stays light 24 hours so
a bit freaky having sunlit room at 3am!
We mainly ate in the bar which has a limited but nice menu burgers or raindeer stew.
Was about a tenner each so not bad. The Laplandia restaruant is a bit more expensive but food is lovely. Need to get a loan if you want to drink in the bar (the only one for miles and miles) or get some low (3.5% or less) booze from the supermarket.

If you want good snow at the end of April -May then go cos you cant beat it for this time of year. There are only 6 lifts (two chairs and some drags) but the heliskiing/snowboarding is worth every penny and you get some amazing views.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrbotten
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Just return from 4 days at Riksgransen in Swedish Lapland. R. hotel is a lovely, new renovated hotel with perfect location if you like skiing and see the northen light at sky. The rooms are very fresh but small. We stayed at a slalom room. It was new renovated. You have also your own plasma tv and own bathroom. The view is of course over the mountains. The service here is also very good....It depends from year to year because of season workers. Last year it was less good....but this year was superb.
The spa: Very good and please don´t miss the hot tub outside with a magnific view.
The food: Breakfast: Good....mutch to chooce between. Lunch: It depends were you decide to eat. Dinner: Exellent!
Go here its a perfect holiday for those who loves skiing!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

In July-August 2007 we had wonderful trip in lovely Sweden (from Stockholm to the Lappland), but we had only one dissappointment - hotel Riksgransen ("meteorologen")!
Let's start from merits. Hotel have rather good location (but there is no civilization around it!, only beatiful nature, so you can't change this hotel without changing location) and real good dinner.

The rest is terrible!

First problem that this hotel doesn't operate normally during no-snow season (we have never been at this hotel for skiing purposes, we hope it is better at this time). All information about wonderful alpine spa at this hotel is outrageous lie! It operates only from Thursday till Sunday from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. (certainly, that on hotel's web site there is no information that in other time all is closed). When we say "alpine spa" as for this hotel we
say indeed about sauna, simple jacuzzi and pool. All kind of massages and procedures (which is colorfull described on webpage) consist in one woman who is certainly busy during so short operation time. So there is no reason to stay at this hotel more than on night, especially from Monday till Wednesday, because you can nothing to do, and all information about "most nothern spa hotel" is insult to other spa hotels in the world.
The second, and the main problem is stuff. We was very much suprised about it, because hotel stuff in Sweden mostly rather professional and can understand foreigners without any problem (probably a little bit slowly).
When we came at hotel, and was very much suprised that all is closed (with exception of our room, little shop and reception) from Monday till Wednesday without any notice, we asked if we could leave this hotel two nights before planned (and prepayed) departure's date. We was told that it would be no problem to get our money for two nights back. So we've made a reservation in hotel in other town, and prepayed for it.
But a day later we was told that we can't take our money back for two nights because we have no special insurance of cancellation (certainly there was no any notice about it on website or at the reception before). After long "conversation" we was told that they would ask a girl who worked the day before about the previous our conversation. Next day we was told that it is not in hotel rules to give money back to travellers who haven't "cancellation insurance" but "as exception" we can take half of right sum back.
We won't be suprised if we confronted with such situation in country like Egypt or Thailand, but as for Sweden it looks like very untypical.

Andrew&Julie Moscow, Russia

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool, uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

This gem of a place is well inside the Arctic Circle, on the Norwegian border and is a great base for exploring. Riksgransen is the worlds most northerly ski resort.

The hotel is very well kept with good food and very friendly staff. The rooms were small but very cosy (in a Scandinavian sense) and come equipped with plasma TVs and a wet room.

The restaurant serves traditional Swedish fayre (pickled Herring, Reindeer and all). The site also has its own shop selling clothing, souvenirs and others necessities.

We didn't spend much time at the hotel but there is a fantastic spa which includes an outdoor hot tub...wonderful to sit in and look at the snow capped mountains. If you are looking isolation and relaxation then this is the place for you.

We travelled there to see the midnight sun and will be returning one winter to see the northern lights and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Peace and tranquuility
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotell Riksgransen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Riksgransen

Address: Riksgransen 981 94, Sweden (Formerly Riksgränsen)
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Riksgransen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Riksgransen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotell Riksgransen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotell Riksgransen to your Saves list