We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort to your Saves list
Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Monkey Mia Road, Monkey Mia, Western Australia 6537, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkey Mia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights in a Beachfront Villa and it was worth every penny. As we parked the car and looked at the beach there were dolphins in close and pelicans, in fact there were dolphins visible almost every time you looked out.

The villa was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the Boughshed was very good, self serve with a large selection. The last time we stayed it wasn't self serve and is now a better system. We had dinner the first evening in the Boughshed. It was probably 25% full yet our main course took 45 minutes to arrive. When it did, it was cold. In fairness, they were apologetic and a complimentary glass of wine was offered. The second night we went to the Monkey Bar. I can't fault this place. Great menu, reasonable prices, fast service...but be prepared to shout your order,Heavy rock music at full volume!! We ordered our food to take-away and it was really good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    181
    106
    56
    19
See reviews for
128
237
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed in a beachfront villa, it was an extra 25% but worth every penny for the view. The room was very nice and seemed quite new. Sitting on the patio on the edge of the beach was a great experience, we even had an Emu stopping by several times a day looking for food. We just stayed for 2 nights, but wished we had a third. And yes the dolphins turned up both mornings for their three feedings. A tip - stay for the second/third feedings when the crowds have gone. You can find lots of small faults with this resort, but it's really about the wildlife and scenery!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a beachfront villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bickley, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Loved our stay at Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort. We stayed 6 nights. We'll definitely be back.
It was such a bonus kids eating free at the restaurant. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast, watching the beach and waiting for the dolphins to visit whilst enjoying breakfast was fantastic. Evening meal was delicious too.
Looking forward to the modifications at the restaurant next time we visit.
Beautiful setting.
The family room was fine, although looking forward to either some interconnecting rooms, or a family apartment with a separate bedroom/s.
We loved swimming at the beach, the pool, playing tennis, learning more about the dolphins.
It is such a long way to drive, but well worth it once you get there. :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Although I did not get to see any dolphins, the resort was a nice place to stay. The garden villa was only a few steps away from the beach. Cleanliness is to improve (dirty glasses, cutlery). The resort seams to be rather dated. Staff was attentive, but needs more training. Looked like they had hired a lot of casual staff / work-holiday visa holders with no experience. Restaurant offers great food, but feels more like a canteen.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The place benefits from the exclusive location right next to the dolphin research centre, so people have barely no other choice than to stay there which means they don't have to do much to attract guests. As a hotel guest the first thing you have to do is pay the AUD 11 (per day!) entry for the national park which we thought should be included in the hotel price. But anyways...next stop was the reception which was really unfriendly. Having travelled 830 km from Perth to come to this place deserves way more appreciation. The room was okay, at least we were rewarded with a stunning view. But in general, the place looked as if it had already seen its best days. I think that's the reason why many people don't come back. If they tried to do a better job, be more friendly and keep the place updated then they could be far better off. We had dinner twice at the restaurant and the food was (surprisingly) good! We also saw the dolphins, very reliable creatures :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Manager at Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, we value all of our guest’s feedback.
We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience at check-in / reception, we will advise our team of your feedback and ensure that they understand the importance of making a great first impression.
At Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort we are continuously making improvements and have recently completed some changes to our Garden Villas and are currently working on the Limestone Garden Villas and our Boughshed Restaurant.
The Department of Conservation and Environment fee of $11 goes toward the research and welfare of the dolphins which is collected by the resort on their behalf.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again at Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort.
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 4 nights. It was OK. The beach and the dolphins were fantastic. Most of the staff were great but unfortunatly there were a few staff that were really rude and unfriendly. A good place to go to once, but it is not on our list for a re-visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Manager at Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort.
We work hard to train our staff to offer a superior service, and we are sorry that some of our team let you down.
We are glad you enjoyed the beach and especially the dolphins.

Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent three nights at the resort on a cuisine experience with a beachfront villa. The view from our room watching the dolphins at sunrise was simply amazing. We were the only people on the beach at 5.30am and had six dolphins put on a superb show for us. The room was clean with great air conditioning. The ensuite was small however perfectly serviceable. Our room was well maintained with a king size bed and a single bed for our daughter. The cuisine experience is certainly value for money as the food was fantastic (unlike other reviews) perhaps a different chef? We found the rangers who conduct the dolphin interaction to be very knowledgeable and experts in their field. It was an absolute pleasure to have a break with great customer service from all staff at monkey mia resort. Keep it up! Perth hotels could definately learn something from you!

Room Tip: Choose a beach front villa. You may pay more but are away from the noise of campsites and the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Manager at Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort. It is always great to hear positive feedback from our guests.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed your accommodation, dolphins and dining experiences at Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort and we look forward to seeing you again.

Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort

Address: Monkey Mia Road, Monkey Mia, Western Australia 6537, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Monkey Mia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkey Mia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Mia Dolphin Hotel Monkey Mia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.