We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coffee in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Fusiones

Cafe Fusiones
445 Chincha Alta, Chachapoyas, Peru
+51 41 479170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Chachapoyas
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Organic, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Café Fusiones!... a place that initially emerged as an idea in November 2008, we wanted to create a space in which people enjoy and encounter the flavour, aroma, beauty and quality of the organic products which are offered in our region – Amazonas. In April 2009, we opened our doors in order to offer you an extensive menu with a fusion of flavours based on regional organic products, following the principles of ‘slow food’ (as opposed to fast food), guaranteeing good, fair food, with tasty ingredients, produced without damaging the environment, wildlife or our own health; and always ensuring a fair and just price is paid to the producers. For this reason, we work directly with community organizations and private businesses, such as the Cooperativa Agraria Rodríguez de Mendoza with their flagship product Bio Café, the Asociación de Productores Santa Rosa who provide us with our organic natural sugar, La Chetina, with its milk based products and jams made from local fruits, the Asociación de Mujeres Artesanas de Leymebamba, with their artisan textiles and Artesanía Huamán, with their work in wood. We sell all of their products in our Fair Trade shop. In café Fusiones we support and promote fair trade and in addition to buying our region´s organic food products we also take account of the fine work of local carpenters, potters, weaver and other artisans, because we trust and value their work and we are proud to show the art that they have created with their hands.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great coffee. This cafe serves the best coffee in town, freshly squeezed juices, variety of teas and snacks. Emphasis is on organic, Eco and local produce, great background music and nice place to relax or meet people. free wifi, book exchange and other traveller friendly ideas. One block from the plaza.

Menu a bit limited, but more of a plac to drink coffee or juice , snack and relax.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    20
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chachapoyas, Peru
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best hot chocolate in Chachapoyas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This lovely cafe has very good drinks and food, the place has wifi, the people are great, you can change books and read guides. Definitely the best place to take a break and relax in Chachapoyas. And it's fair-trade!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great cafe, with a big heart.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Cafe Fusiones makes wonderful coffee, using beans from a Fair Trade
Co-operative in a local town. So coffee with a conscience, but also the best coffee I have had since starting my trip to South America in April. Food is great too - a mix of local flavours and dishes and a variety of sandwiches and sweet dishes. I have yet to try the local fruit salad, but am assured by others that it is also delicious. The atmosphere is really relaxed with books to exchange, guide books to browse on the local area and tours available through the Sustainable Tourist agency (Nuevos Caminos) which is run from the Cafe and online. The owners, Marilyn and Fran make you really welcome. Great place with Wifi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Foreigner atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Not your typical Peruvian place that is for sure. So if you are in the need for a more international atmosphere, go here. They have a variety of desserts and juices and teas. They have pancakes too! They also have wifi and a book exchange program with books in various languages.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An average place for Chachapoyas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Overhyped place.

Bohemian place that gets most of the hippie/backpaker crowd that comes through town. Local Peace Corps hangout.

Small portions for the price. In other words, overpriced. Poor service.

You can get some decent coffee from local producers.

Sandwiches way overpriced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fusiones also viewed

Chachapoyas, Amazonas Region
Chachapoyas, Amazonas Region
 
Chachapoyas, Amazonas Region
Chachapoyas, Amazonas Region
 

Been to Cafe Fusiones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Fusiones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.