We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a romantic hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gut Schmelmerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Gut Schmelmerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Gut Schmelmerhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rettenbach 24, 94379 Sankt Englmar, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Romantik Hotel Gut Schmelmerhof)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sankt Englmar
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a romantic hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I travelled to a Hotel Gut Schmelmerhof for a second time with my husband. We were looking for a spa hotel in that area for a while, and then decided to go back to this one for the second time, as it offered a great service at an acceptable price (comparing to other spa hotels). They also always have a great deals such as stay 3 nights get the 4th for free etc. The rooms are very clean and tidy.
Special hands up to a restaurant, the food was really good, taking into account that it was already included in the room price. The service at a restaurant is one of a really high standard and when you are there try a "waldwasser" from a local spring ;) We would definitely come back for one more time during winter holidays!!!

Room Tip: I would recommend not to move in into a room facing a main entrance, it can get quite loud with peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ancona, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have been at this restaurant for a working dinner and we had the chance to taste the traditional bavarian dinner. The food was good and my colleagues enjoyed the local beer (I couldn't unfortunately). I especially liked the Weisswurst, the pretzel, and the Knödel!
The bavarian cream as well was nice.
The restaurant atmosphere was charming, both inside than outside.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We've booked the hotel to spent a quiet wellness weekend in Bavaria (not far from CZ border).
The hotel has a great country atmosphere, with great restaurant with pleasant ambience.
The staff (reception, wellness, restaurant) very helpfull, smiling all the time and pleasant.
The wellness area is a little bit small, we supposed a larger wellness, however we have enjoyed.
The facial procedure was at standard level (Unfortunately the lady, who did the procedure, was too hectic, leaved the room many times while I was relexing and it was disturbing me and it spoiled the whole calm ambience of the procedure it should have.)
The room was large (we had a room for 2Adults and 1 child 3 y.o.) with a spacy bathroom and separate toilette with bidet.
We spent 2 days at the hotel (did not leave it for 48 hours) and we can recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

A hidden gem about 30km from Straubing, this hotel has it all. Superb staff, excellent food, beautiful rooms, a charming restaurant and a fantastic pool / spa area – all served up ancient Bavarian charm. We stayed for two nights in July and we could not find fault with anything – simply superb in every sense.

Our superior room was large and beautifully appointed with a balcony which overlooked the forest. Breakfast at this hotel is something to behold and was certainly one of the best we’ve ever had. All food is served in the hotel’s old cattle house – an incredible series of rooms on the ground floor of the hotel with vaulted ceilings (see the photos!).

We spent a day in the spa area. There is a decent sized pool and a hot tub, a chill out room, three saunas and one steam room. In addition, there are about 12 ‘treatment rooms’ which the Mrs got all excited about. I read a book in a day – and then headed to Straubing’s Jazz festival in the evening – a perfect day?

What else can I add? There is free wireless internet access in the hotel lobby - free parking (lots of it). There is no gym here though - that is one potential improvement - perhaps bike hire would be a nice touch as well.

Highly recommended. If you’re looking for a decent hotel in a very quiet area of Eastern Bavaria, look no further. I just wish I had had my mountain bike with me – I would have been in cycling heaven. Nevermind, I now have an excuse to go back…

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

my girlfriend my little son and me were at schmelmerhof for a quiet weekend. the rooms are clean, nice (although they are are in the "bavarian style") the bathroom is really warm and charming. you can sit on the balkony, watch the bavarian forrest and feel a little bit like hänschen castorp in the zauberberg. the restaurant is quite ok, upper bourgeois style (20 euro for a meal) but you have to ignore the terrible keyboardguy who's playing richard kleidermann at saturday.
there is a little spa which is simple, quiet and nice (almost of the guests are old ladys)
the main attraction is the environment of the hotel: no cheesy LudwigII-Landscape as in upper bavaria but the dark and great forrests of the "bayerischer wald". you can march and march and just meet some sheep. my son was crazy about the one meter of snow. So was I.

Nice Place

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

I have stayed here twice - in Sept, and Oct 2007.
The "Wiesengrund " rooms are a superior room for which you pay a little extra. The room priced on a b/b basis cost €134 per night - for two persons. The rooms are large and comfortable. Both bath and shower ( over bath ) are available in the room.
The food is good - on a half board basis the evening meal is in one of the pleasant dining rooms , or you can eat a la carte in the "stube" ( bar ) which is also fine .
The area is very quiet and peaceful , and the staff are attentive and friendly.
2 pools are available - inside and out, plus other spa facilities.
Parking is outside , but in my opinion they should extend the parking available. Garages are also available at €5 per night - good if you wish to have your car fully secure .
The family Schmelmer are friendly ,and in attendance.
In conclusion I would say that one or two nights here would be a fine experience.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

This is a truly fabulous place to spend a few days off the beaten track in Bavaria. It's only 30 mins from the autobahn, and 4 km from the ski resort of St. Inglemar. Still, few Americans venture here. The hotel and the Schmelmerhofs can track it all the way back to 1305. It has an excellent spa, indoor outdoor pool, and there are reasonably priced packages that include massage, exfoliation, and other treatments. There are 3 saunas, European-style, but that should not stop you. The food is amazingly good, and there is more to Bavarian cuisine than sausages and beer. Almost all the ingredients are sourced locally, even the meat, amazing bread, dairy products, and vegetables. The hotel even has its own longhaired cows! I was there in winter and it was beautiful, but any season would be fine. The hotel is a T-Mobile hot spot and there was a charge per minute for wi-fi, but it was not that expensive. The Schmelmerhofs are wonderful hosts that treat you like family. Markus and his wife Sonya speak good English and are very accommodating. (They honeymooned on a cruise out of Miami, and he likes warm weather and doesn't ski! Why is he living here?) One word of advice. Most of the guests are German so the newspapers, TV, etc. are all in German. The majority of the staff speaks some English, as do many guests. The nearby resort town of St. Englmar is worth a visit, and you can even hike there. I learned that only 75 Americans went there last year. Try the Romantik Hotel Schmelmerhof for a short break on a European vacation.

  • Liked — Off the beaten track, yet with no sacrifice in comfort
  • Disliked — No English TV stations or newspapers, but I overcame those!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gut Schmelmerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gut Schmelmerhof

Address: Rettenbach 24, 94379 Sankt Englmar, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Romantik Hotel Gut Schmelmerhof)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Sankt Englmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sankt Englmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gut Schmelmerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gut Schmelmerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gut Schmelmerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.