We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated rooms, excellent breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lapland Hotel Kilpis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lapland Hotel Kilpis to your Saves list
Lapland Hotel Kilpis
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kasivarrentie 14206, Kilpisjarvi 99490, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilpisjarvi B&B and Inns
Tampere
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Outdated rooms, excellent breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotel Kilpis is built in the fifties and unfortunately is a protected building. This maybe explains why there is no more modern compound in this magnificent spot. As everything is expensive in Kilpisjärvi, we didn't find 180€ for a duplex apartment with two rooms, kitchen and an own sauna too expensive. The apartment was quite outdated but clean. You might find more value for your money with renting a cabin close by uphill, but then You'd miss the great breakfast buffe.
A hike to the Saana is a must thing to do. If you don't have the whole day, You might want to drive to the northwest corner and start from the camping ground. Sturdy wooden stairs lead halfway up, so elderly people in good condition can also get almost the whole view. One option is to take tho whole hike up and around the Saana (15-18 km depending on the shortcuts You make). There is a lot of other hiking possibilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a room for two in the hotel. The room was okay, maybe a little bit outdated. Bathroom was great and had plenty of room. There was special drying room for clothes in the corridor, which was great for wet clothes (after hiking to Saana). Plenty of parking spaces.

Restaurant was quite expensive, more of a fine-dining type of place. Food was okay.

The staff was really helpful and nice :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Okay Hotel as expected. Sauna is great at the waterfront. Like place, Good views if you take a Walking Tour. Centrally located and Good breakfast buffe. Easy reachable from the Main road. Take the Boat to tre riks röset if you have time

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hotel is nothing special at all. Rooms are basic and very noisy I would recommend that you bring ear plugs.

Restaurant and Breakfast very good

The price level is very high compared to what you get for same price other places in Lapland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kilpisjarvi hotels

Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The hotelroom is dated, needs some attention, but a dinner in the restaurant while enjoying the amazing mid summer views of Kilpisjärvi, nice hike through the nature AND the greatest part of it all: Finnish Sauna, a dive in a icecold lake while being amazed by the snowy Tunturi's... That's what it's all about. We definately enjoyed our night in Kilpisjärvi.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Like some of the other reviews, this hotel is awful and has nothing to recommend it apart from being a place you can book over the internet as a stopover on the way from finland to norway. If I was to do this trip again I would make all attempts to book a cabin in kilpisjarvi, it would be both cheaper and nicer.

The hotel rooms are small, many have a view of a huge concrete car park, have walls that are paper thin and you hear the neighbors to both sides and below - sometimes so loud you wonder if they are in your own bathroom. I did think one woman in the room next door had a great singing voice when she sang in the shower though.
Fittings are straight from the 70's and do show a lot of wear, the desk especially is chipped very badly.
Beds were worthy of a prison.three narrow single beds in our room.
breakfast was ok and nothing to complain about there.
overall 90 euros badly spent. Since i paid in advance I was even tempted to leave and pay another 70e for a cabin close by.

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in in Finland. Makes my all time worst three anywhere in the world (places in ehran and karlskrona in sweden make up the other three). I will add the whole lapland hotels chain to my list of places to avoid, lest their other hotels are similar to this dump.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

We travelled through Lapland again in 2008 and stayed again at the Hotel Kilpis because it was on the route back to Tromso. I have seen the other reviews and yes everything is as they say. The windows are, frankly.... knackered....the carpets are worn....and the tables in the rooms are scratched.....and the varnish on them looks like it was applied sometime around the birth of Christ ....and there is the lingering scent of faded grandeur....without the grandeur !.
If this Hotel was anywhere else on earth you probably wouldn't stay here....but if you were a fan of "Northern Exposure" you just might see that this Hotel has something to offer. It is definitely a frontier Hotel in a sublimely beautiful area !. We stayed a second time in 2008....certainly not expecting much....other than the most amazing scenery....and a few colourful locals...but guess what,... we had our socks knocked off by the food !. 2007 the food looked like it was prepared by an Army Cook. Good produce but somewhere between harvest and the Dinner Table things went south. But 2008 either the Cook got a PhD in 1 year or something changed radically. The food was superb and more than made up for the mediocre decor. It was still roughly the same menu but the Chef really made something special from it. And again the scenery was amazing...and the Sauna to die for. If you go with moderate expectations you will be pleased, if you go expecting 5 star you will be shocked.....either way it is unique !

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lapland Hotel Kilpis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Kilpis

Address: Kasivarrentie 14206, Kilpisjarvi 99490, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Kilpisjarvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilpisjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lapland Hotel Kilpis 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lapland Hotel Kilpis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Kilpis Kilpisjarvi, Finland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapland Hotel Kilpis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.