We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Human instincts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ranua Zoo

Ranua Zoo
Rovaniementie 29, Ranua 97700, Finland
358 16 355 1921
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Ranua
Attraction details
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Human instincts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Booked Ranua zoo tour with Santa Claus holiday village where we are currently staying in.

We take about an hour plus ride to get to Ranua zoo which is quite a unique zoo as it preserves the forest nature for the animals and the animals live in good environment close to nature and not in pure cages like other zoos.

The zoo has a pathway that loops around so that u can see the animals upfront. The snow capped zoo is a must go for nature lovers.

We also experienced something that showed us human instincts in animals. The female polar bear was scratched and injured by the male polar bear. The female was bleeding from the injury on the face. then the male bear went up to her multiple times to somewhat say sorry and touched the wound. But he was rejected by the female bear. we hope the bear will recover soon.

We also saw the brown bear climbing up the tree but only to land on his bottom as he slided down from the top.

definitely a must go for adults and of course for kids they will love it.

Tip: some parts of the pathway are slippery, a few people slipped and fell so be careful and have proper shoe wear especially in winter.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    33
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ranua Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We enjoyed this much more than we were expecting - it was a really special day out. It's a beautiful place covered in the snow and it was great that there were so few visitors. The arctic animals in particular were wonderous in their snowy environment with the polar bear feeding being a particular highlight. The cafe served very good quality food. It was incredibly easy to get to by public bus from Rovaniemi.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great zoo but dont go in winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I enjoyed it but it was way too cold to be walking outside in -30 C. In addition, some of the exhibits go into hibernation or are moved indoors because its so cold.
Try autumn or summer.

However, walking around on a clear day when it is freezing does give you some fabulous photos

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toa Payoh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Zoo I have visited!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Be sure to take a brochure and note all the animal feedings and you NEED to catch the Polar bear feedings!!! The zookeeper will feed them fruits and meat, and watching them dive into the water to get their food is so enjoyable! The brown bear is also absolutely cute, swimming and roaming in their wide roaming space.

One thing i love about the zoo is that it gives the animals lots of space to roam, and it is very natural yet it is structured so we still can see them roaming about. The feedings are the highlights and the layout of the zoo makes you feel like you are exploring the zoo yet still close to nature, with all the plants, and greenery around you.

A beautiful and happy place to be, where the animals look healthy and loved.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing experience ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our day at Ranua was one of my favourite experiences we had in Lapland. It was incredible to see these wonderful arctic animals but the zoo itself was a magical experience. Walking along looking at the snow covers exhibits. The only sounds were the snow crunching beneath your feet and the sounds of the animals. Stopped for a glögi at the icebar. Mmmm

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranua Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Ranua Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranua Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.