We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to natural surroundings as zoo can be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ranua Zoo

Ranua Zoo
Rovaniementie 29, Ranua 97700, Finland
358 16 355 1921
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Ranua
Attraction details
Lappeenranta, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So close to natural surroundings as zoo can be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This visit in July 2012 was my 4th visit to Ranua Zoo all in all. I think that this zoo is more like a walk in the woods along a very well marked route (about 2,5 km) where you can spot arctic animals - mainly those living in Finland - in their natural surroundings. Or as natural it can be when we are talking about zoo. Or maybe more like a wildlife park.
They have brown bears, wolves, red foxes, arctic foxes, lynx, different kinds of owls and eagles, moose, reindeer and many other animals ( 50 different spices ) They also have polar bears which we think do not belong there because those can not be found from Finnish woods naturally. Even the polar bear cub was cute...
There is easy to walk around (also with wheelchair or baby carriage) at least in summer time. All the explanations about the animals were in four languages Finnish, Swedish, English and German, so it is easy to tell kids shortly about the animals. You can buy ice cream or snacks along the way (don't know if it is possible in winter time) or if you want - you can bring your own food and have e.g. barbecue picnic there. Some mosquitos - but not too much. We did not mind about the feeding times (bears around noon, lynx and wolves around 2 pm) - and we still had great time and we saw almost all the animals. Spent there about 3 hours.
This time I visited the zoo with my 11 and 14 years old kids, their 16 year old cousin and my husband and they all liked it. Earlier I have visited the park with younger kids (3, 6, 9, 10, 11 years) and they have liked it too.
There seemed to be also caravan area and some other activities for the kids like playing ground, carting cars etc nearby the zoo. Also domestic animal park, a restaurant and souvenir shop. Nearby also dairy shop where you can buy Finnish cheeses. Family ticket was 40 euros. Visting Ranua Zoo during winter time could be nice too. I recommend.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    32
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuopio, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Nice place to go with your kids. I suggest to go in dining time so you can see animals. You can use zoo's baby carriages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We spent about 5 hours here on a beautiful, sunny day in February. Quite cold and lots of snow around so very atmospheric. We caught the bus from Rovaniemie bus station (1.5 hours max journey time) and enjoyed seeing the wildlife park's animals very, very much. The newly-born polar bear came out of its den with his mother .... and we loved seeing the wolves, lynx, reindeer and other animals. The brown bear was in hibernation in full-view so that was quite special. Although it was cold, we saw nearly all the animals and we had a nice, hearty lunch in the restaurant. Would definitely recommend a day-trip to this place!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good place to visit, loved the Moose.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is a good place to visit in the winter, not too big but big enough for a 2 hr visit. The animals look well cared for and the moose is lovely!
It is about 15 euros to go in, there is a cafe which is fine and a hut with ice sculptures. I enjoyed the visit.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Ranua is really worth a visit if you're in Lapland and for the ticket price of only about 11 Euro, you can't go wrong! We went during wintertime and it was so magical to see all the animals in the arctic environment. The restaurant on site also serves very nice food for lunch!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranua Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Ranua Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranua Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.