We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there early!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Condor's Cross

Condor's Cross
Colca Canyon, Cabanaconde, Peru
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$226*
and up
Colca Valley Overnight Tour from Arequipa: Colca...
Type: Mountains, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Get there early!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at the Condor's Cross on our way from Cabanaconde to Chivay, after hiking out of the Colca Canyon early in the morning (as part of an organised tour). We arrived around 8.30am and spent about an hour at the viewpoint and surrounds. There were about 6 condors in the sky when we arrived (and about 200 tourists at the viewpoint) - it was amazing to watch the birds gliding past, so close you could almost touch them. I'm glad we got there early though because, within half an hour, they had all gone. The tourists kept coming but there weren't any condors to see - I would have been really disappointed if I we had missed out on seeing this amazing sight. Get there early - before it heats up.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    30
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Condor's flew very close... spectacular views and photos!! We were there around 11am. Very crowded and many tourists.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Ticket for area expensive, but we saw condors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Took an early bus from Cabanaconde to the Cruz del Condor. We sat around for a while, but didn't see any there. We got bored of waiting. So we started walking back. We saw a few on our way back, including one that got pretty close - maybe it was scoping us out? Good thing we looked alive. Only gripe about it is that the ticket to the area was 70 soles or something - incredibly expensive - maybe not worth it if seeing the condors is the only thing you're planning to do in the area. Apparently you need it to spend any time in the area at all.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Riding into Cabanaconde we came thru Conders Cross,Although it was stormy weather the view from the Mirador was fantastic,alas we didnt see a condor.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Awesome place, nice views and birds, try to get there very early!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The views from the Cross are just incredible. All around you the mountains, and looking down into the gorge. and then wait, wait and some more waiting and hoping to finaly see those awesome condors!! Huge ancient birds! WOW!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Condor's Cross also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Cabanaconde, Colca Canyon
 

Been to Condor's Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condor's Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.