We arrived at Pachamama after spending 5 hours on a bus coming from Arequipa, we were greeted by a gentleman working behind the bar that seemed very flustered as he was busy trying to serve people food in the restaurant. He told us to wait a minute for the boss, but we ended up waiting 20 minutes stood around in the restaurant before we were shown to our room.
It also turned out that the room we had booked (matrimonial) had been given to someone else so we ended up staying in a twin room.
The 'boss' then disappeared and we didn't see him for the rest of the evening when we needed to ask questions about the walk in the colca canyon that we wanted to do early the next day. We tried to ask the staff in the restaurant questions but the man working behind the bar clearly had no idea and the lady in the kitchen was far too busy cooking for the restaurant.
We choose to stay at Pachamama because they say on their website that they give their guests a hand drawn detailed 'map' and lots of information about the canyon - all we got given was flyer for the hostel with a map on the back that I could have drawn myself blindfolded (i.e a single line between 'Cabanaconde' and 'San Galle' and so we were no better off. Essentially, in order to try and find the footpath from Cabanaconde to San Galle we were told to ask local people... not a problem, but why advertise all the fantastic information and maps on your website?
That night I went to have a shower, but you guessed it... the water was cold.
We were told by the gentleman working behind the bar that breakfast started at 6am, however when we got down there all the doors were closed and lights off. We wandered around the town for a little while and luckily we bumped into the 'boss' that had shown us to our room the night before - he told us if we got the 6:30am bus to Cruz del Condor then we wouldn't get back to the hostel in time for breakfast (served from 7am to 10am). He kindly offered to still serve us breakfast when we got back from seeing the condors - we thought this was the least he could do! I wondered why they didn't offer breakfast to their guests early as standard so they can eat before going to Cruz del Condor, or late so they can eat when they get back. I imagine most people staying in the hostel will be setting off early for the condors or the canyon so I was surprised to see that breakfast wasn't at a suitable time.
We managed to hitch hike a ride back from Cruz del Condor so we were back earlier than expected and in time for breakfast. Breakfast was a little disappointing after reading all the amazing comments on here - it is a standard south america breakfast - no more no less - certainly nothing to shout about. Bread, an egg, a tiny crepe, jam and tea.
We didn't eat in the restaurant as when we arrived it was full and no one had food so we didn't want to wait. The next day we spoke to other guests and they said they had to wait 2 hours for their food! (it was a 30 minute wait just for a drink of hot chocolate!). The restaurant also seemed rather overpriced. They charged s.25 for a pizza (£6.25) - not too different to some prices in the UK!
If it wasn't for the fantastic claims this hostel makes on its website about information and the previous trip advisor comments, I wouldn't be complaining, but because of what we were expecting we were disappointed. I think this hostel should try and separate its restaurant from its hostel as currently it can't give the people in its hostel the service they require as it seems far too preoccupied with the restaurant.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hola, This Is Luy, the owner of Pachamama. I am very sorry for your bad experience at Pachamama it always affected me when i read a repport like this, but we have to learn from this repport. Unfortunatly i was not at Pachamama for some personal reasons, but i guess my brother coundt handle the situation and because this is a family bussines the day you were it came plenty of people and my family was surprised because is still low season and we do not have much people working at Pachamama. But we know that we can not make happy to everyone but believe us we try our best. I really apologize your bad experience....i wish we can make happy to everyone. We do always do breakfast at 600am, so people can cacth the bus to see condors, but something must happened that day and also apologize this case. The restaurant got full....imagine my mother alone just cooking plenty of plates for the unexpect day, my brother busy doing cocktails...it just got crazy but we were not prepared to handle lot of people and the only reason is that it got full in EASTER TIME...if this is everyday we could hire more personal stuff and we wont have these problem, but it is low season and this bussines can not manage to pay other yet...Price of the restaurant are cheapear than Arequipa...all our ingredientes comes from Arequipa, imagine Cabanaconde is 5 hrs from the city and we try to get our fresh vegetable...cabanaconde only grows maiz and potatoes...woodfire so expensive...
Report response as inappropriate
Trekking information is give to every tourist and we have a file with information at the Bar...sorry that you didnt get information as you wanted...
My apologize for your bad experience. We will do our best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.