We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantatic Accommodations, great price and breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pachamama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pachamama to your Saves list
Pachamama
San Pedro 209, Cabanaconde 0051, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantatic Accommodations, great price and breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Both owners were fantastic and friendly. We were only there for a quick day, and they were able to quickly get us information on how to see the locations that we were interested in seeing. The food was awesome - fresh pizza for supper and the best breakfast that we have had included in any hostel stay in Peru. Rooms were comfortable and clean, there was hot water on demand for showering. If you want to have warmer water, lower the pressure :) neat atmosphere, great price, and everyone was very welcoming and friendly. I would recommend staying here if you're looking to overnight in Cabanaconde.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    37
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
72
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a great hostel its chill and mellow during the day with a hefty breakfast included more than you usually get in Peru. At night they serve delicious food. The piazza is the best in Peru. The owner is incredibly helpful and speaks perfect English if you don't speak Spanish. He gives you detailed good advice about trekking in colca canyon. He even lent us money so we could stay in the canyon an extra day cause there was no ATMs in cabanaconde and he told us one extra day would really make the experience, he was right! One of our best times was spent here in Peru.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ro
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night in November 2012, in a matrimonial room.
The place is really basic, but far the best option you can have in Cabanaconde. Expect to find rooms and bathroom with minimum facilities, really helpful staff who provide a lot of useful information of treks into the canyon, a restaurant with lazy cats and great pizza, but prices comparable with restaurants in Arequipa.

Definitely this is a place for trekkers, friendly and adventurers people as you can come together with a lot of other tourists in the hostel's restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at pachamama before and after our colca canyon trek. I would definitely recommend this hostel, particularly if you want information and advice about the canyon. The room was pretty clean but the bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned for some time. The basin and the tiles needed a good scrub which is not difficult! The restaurant is great - the wood fire pizza is amazing, and there are plenty of other choices if you don't like pizza. We were warm at night with the thick blankets on the bed. There are not too many choices in Cabanaconde and this is a good one.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hostal is undergoing an upgrade at the moment but that isn{t much of an issue as they only work during the day. The restaurant does pretty tasty pizzas but they are very expensive compared to the general price of food in Peru. But some really tasty chicken places in town were available. The breakfast was really good and despite some of the other reviews on here stating otherwise it was available to us early when we requested it.

Our room was in the main building but hardly any noise came from the bar at night which was great. The showers were good and the beds pretty comfortable and the price reasonable, 50S for matrimonial room and breakfast.

Luis was really helpful about routes to take into the Canyon and around the local area. He´s quite a laid back guy so get him to do anything that he says almost immediately! The staff were generally pretty good, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is in Cabanaconde, not in Arequipa!

It is right next to the Colca Canyon. Very friendly people that run the place. Very good rooms. They can give you a lot of info for exploring the canyon independently. They support the local community. Next year they want to offer nassages to the people who did trekking in the Colca Canyon.

Excellent!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Pachamama was an awesome place for our trip into the Colca Canyon. We looked around town and it seemed the nicer of the two hostels. They were very helpful with advice on hiking into the canyon. It was also a nice place to hang out. We stayed in a double room which was large and comfortable.

You don't need a guide for the Colca Canyon - just get the bus to Pachamama and they'll help you out :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pachamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama

Address: San Pedro 209, Cabanaconde 0051, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Cabanaconde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cabanaconde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PACHAMAMA BACKPACKER BAR- PIZZERIA. Located in Cabanaconde, Arequipa, at 3287 mts and it is start point for all the hikes into the Canyon. Take a bus from Terminal terrestre Arequipa - Cabanaconde 5hrs. visit us. We work more with independent travelers who are looking for something different to do a trek. We have pelnty of information to make easier your hike. Pachamama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pachamama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pachamama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.