We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful vistas, tranquility and gourmet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earthsong Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Earthsong Lodge to your Saves list
Earthsong Lodge
38 Medland Road, Tryphena, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Tryphena B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Beautiful vistas, tranquility and gourmet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

An eco lodge made of straw bales, so stylish and simplistic.
Due to Gt Barrier not being on electricity grid no mini fridge in room - but owners put our small picnic pack in theirs.
Very relaxing, laid back, wonderful place and people. Easy to unwind. No need to go out for dinner - an amazing dining experience every night with lovely sunsets- loved the entire stay.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms would be fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coromandel, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Great Barrier Island with it's old New Zealand charm and the combination with EartSong Lodge is the best. The friendliness and professionalism of the owners is a treat and the enthusiasm of Trevor presenting his 5 star creations is such a wonderful combination. We can only wholeheartedly recommend EarthSong. You will feel at home!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Arrived in NZ after a long flight, and headed straight to Great Barrier Island to celebrate my partner's birthday. Earthsong was the perfect choice! Trevor is an excellent cook, going to great trouble to prepare fresh, locally-sourced ingredients with passion and care, and presenting it to his guests with panache. We felt very special, especially as we were the only guests for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed; but I suspect we would have felt the same way if the lodge was full too. Carole is charming and quietly goes about ensuring our every need was anticipated and met. Excellent - a real highlight of our time in NZ.

Room Tip: All are lovely, with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Spent three nights with Carol and Trevor Rendle, proprietors at Earthsong Lodge on New Zealand's Great Barrier Island. Only three rooms with splendid views and sophisticated calm. Great meals from Chef Trevor and Carol is a fine hostess. Luxury without pretension. I want to go back now.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We had two nights at this beautiful lodge to celebrate an anniversary in December. It was luxurious, even though Great Barrier Island (known for its campsights and many harbours where boaties moor) has no electricity grid. Our host, Trevor, is an accomplished chef whose inventive 6-course dinners with fresh Island food were fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton nz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

we felt totally panther ed , treated like royalty the whole time
our hosts were always thinking of our needs yet they were very
discreet so we didn't feel that they were always there
The meals were a performance of culinary delight and service was exquisite
I don't think it mattered that we were the only quests at the time
We felt really relaxed on our journey home
The masseuse we found to be not gentle enough

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

The lodge is beautiful with a gorgeous view over Tryphena Harbour. It provides access to a remarkable island 50 miles off the coast from Auckland. The lodge would be worth a visit by itself but what really sets Earthsong apart is the food. We have four remarkable dinners accompanied by some wonderful New Zealand wines.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Earthsong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthsong Lodge

Address: 38 Medland Road, Tryphena, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island > Tryphena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tryphena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earthsong Lodge is a luxury lodge hideaway on Great Barrier Island, just a 30 minute flight from Auckland. The 3 Ocean View Suites all enjoy breathtaking sea views and private sunny courtyards. Earthsong offers dinner included packages as well as B&B rates. Earthsong has a far-reaching reputation for its elegant cuisine. At sundown guests gather to recount their adventures over cocktails and to dine in timeless tradition savoring the finest taste sensations of Earthsong's contemporary cuisine. Great Barrier Island, just 30 minutes from Auckland, offers rugged landscapes, breathtaking views and unspoilt white sandy beaches - an island world that soothes the spirit and challenges the adventurous. Your hosts Trevor and Carol offer genuine kiwi hospitality with exceptional and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Earthsong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthsong Lodge Great Barrier Island/Tryphena, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earthsong Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.