We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cottage and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tryphena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island
Save
You added Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island to your Saves list
Shoal Bay, Tryphena, Great Barrier Island, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Tryphena B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a weekend away at the cottage of the Shoal Bay Estate, it had everything there and fantastic views also on the water's edge. It was clean and comfortable and good to have SKY TV with movies if the weather's bad.
Val and Francis were great hosts and gave you all the tips you need to know about the island. Hire a Car from them it's so easy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a magical stay on great barrier island. From start to finish we loved every moment. Shoal bay estate is a great place to stay. Val and Francis are excellent hosts, welcoming you into their home. The bedroom was huge with windows in every direction and a great view of the sea. They have a lovely garden to relax in where you can feed the chickens or spot kaka eating their fruit! The wharf is a ten minute walk if you like fishing and they have kayaks to hire if you want to go out of the estuary. They also organised car hire so that it was ready and waiting for us at the airport. Be sure to have a meal with them. Val is a great cook. We had fresh snapper caught by Francis, crayfish from their lobster pot and steak for the carnivores. Thank you. It was a very memorable weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for three nights in Jan. of 2014. Very friendly owner couple Val and Francis. The room is comfortable and bathroom is big with pretty hot shower. As a bonus, Val is a quite good chef, not only traditional NZ cuisine, but also international ones, very delicious! And most important that all the veg. + eggs for cooking are from their own garden, very fresh!
The beautiful sea is just in front of your window, if lucky, you can see the dolphin shaking hands to you.
Very nice place for holidays!
PS. Thank you so much, Val and Francis!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Excellent food, welcoming hosts, comfortable beds and plenty of hot water for showers.
Our extended family group was well catered for by Val and Francis. Nothing was too much trouble.
The kids loved the sandpit and toys, and feeding the animals.
Will visit again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are light and have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband, 3 kids & I stayed in the cottage over Christmas time for a week. We ate with val & Francis (lovely hosts) in the main house the entire time.
We had a wonderful experience, house was immaculate, food delicious, very good value for money. We could even hire a car & kayaks!! Kids had a blast! Had the feel of being at home while on holiday, with the option of privacy. Will definitely be returning!! Val & Francis are one of the nicest hosts you'll meet. Their local knowledge was superb & laid-back attitude made us feel comfortable. All the things you want your holiday to be! Thanks guys, see you again!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Retreating from Auckland...........to Shoal Bay on Great Barrier is sincerenity. Val and Francis are wonderful beautiful people it is like you are home, you came for a visit and then you never want to leave.
Though it is a Bed and Breakfast it has charm and warm about with a welcoming friendly feeling. Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A group of 9 who meet annually had a wonderful break away at Val and Francis B&B.
From the warm welcome, clean and tidy rooms with great sea views, warm fire, Val's delicious evening meal the scene was set for a good time.
Val's breakfast set you up for the day and off we went exploring, bush walks, touring, hot pools etc. Val and Francis were excellent hosts. Nothing was a problem. Every need could be meet.
It was a great place to relax, and enjoy what GBI has to offer .
Our group had thoroughly enjoyable time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island

Address: Shoal Bay, Tryphena, Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island > Tryphena
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tryphena
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island Tryphena, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoal Bay Estate, Great Barrier Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.