We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Nice Location But Too Corporate!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Audley Road | Stoke on Trent, Alsager ST7 2QQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alsager
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Nice Location But Too Corporate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as we wanted to visit some of the National Trust properties in this area. The Hotel is in a nice rural location, feels very welcoming and the staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble... but, there was very little atmosphere unless you were there on business, as most of the guests consisted of groups of business people on their laptops, or huddled in groups discussing the day's business. The rooms looked very nice when we viewed them online, and we were told they had all been refurbished last year. Our room unfortunately was very small and right next to the kitchens with an extractor fan buzzing all night and most of the day, also we were awoken at 5.45am by people walking on creaking floorboards above and a T.V. blaring out. There was constant slamming of doors as well, and then we worked out that we were also underneath the dining room where staff were obviously setting up for breakfast.

We asked if we could be moved to another room, but were told they were fully booked. We wondered where all these people went during the evening as there were not that many people dining. We were using our Tesco vouchers for this break away and wondered if that was the reason we were not able to move rooms as the "Tesco allocation" was full. Now we paid £80 per night for bed and breakfast for 3 nights, (£240 in total) but on checking out there was a mistake with our bill and the room and breakfast had been added by mistake (we had already paid prior to our stay), and we noticed the room rate normally would have been £32.00 per night. We felt very annoyed by this.

This is totally Tesco's fault I think, but it does leave a bad taste in the mouth. We won't be using Tesco vouchers for trips away in future!

As I previously said, the hotel overall is lovely, the staff are excellent and we had the best English breakfast ever, but it didn't feel as relaxing as it should have as there were too many business people, a group of Gas Board engineers and various other people obviously there on business. We felt rather like outsiders.

Over all we would stay here again but as independent travellers, making our own booking then perhaps we would get a better room. Incidentally, we are Best Western Reward customers and as such should have been entitled to a free room upgrade, which also rankled as we have always been afforded one in the past at other hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the Ground Floor near the pool, in the "170's"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Sheffield Hazlenut

Thank you for completing a review of BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and it is particularly pleasing that you picked out our staff as deserving of special mention.

There are four ground-floor rooms and three first-floor rooms in the original C17th farmhouse building. They have lots of character and, as you point out, are smaller than the bedrooms in the modern extension. As a Best Western Reward Card holder we would try our utmost to have upgraded you, however, because the hotel was full, we were unable to do so on this particular occasion.

Guests booking the hotel on the Tesco promotion, run in partnership with Best Western, are not allocated rooms any differently - every customer is important to us and we have had many guests stay at the hotel on this promotion. The amount you inadvertently saw at check-out represents, like any marketing promotion, a figure exclusive of various costs, promotional fees and commissions. As such it was an internal accounting figure only and in no way indicative of any rate we would sell rooms at.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again and hope on your next visit that we will be able to upgrade you.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    110
    34
    16
    6
See reviews for
67
112
9
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great stay, very friendly staff and seem very well trained
Hotel was very clean and accommodating to our needs, food was great and room was very very nice.
Friendly feel to the hotel
Will stay again hopefully soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear AA

Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay with us at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted you found the hotel so friendly and relaxing. All 57 bedrooms have been refurbished within the last 12 months, (in recent weeks 20 new bathrooms have been installed and new beds went into 10 bedrooms) and many customers comment , as have you, on the comfort of the rooms.

Our chef will also be very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the food.

Yours sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while at a training course in the town, and thought that rather than head out in the evenings to find somewhere to eat I would make the most of the dinner, bed and breakfast option - and I'm so glad that I did. On the first evening I was the only person eating in the restaurant, so the service was fantastic - two staff - and the food was amazing, the pork belly with black pudding mash was out of this world !

The second night was a little busier, but the food and service were just as good. Breakfast both days was very good, with an excellent selection of fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, cheese, meat and of course the cooked options including kippers and deliciously satisfying Staffordshire Oatcakes.

The pool was clean and the water a perfect temperature, although the changing rooms were small and very warm.

If you're tall, mind your head on the low beams throughout the hotel.

The room was clean, tidy and everything that you would expect, and the en-suite was modern and well appointed - although I did have issues with a toilet that wouldn't flush.

All in all, a very pleasant stay and a hotel I would be very happy returning to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear David A

Thank you for completing a review of BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted you enjoyed dining in our Ostler restaurant which has a deservedly excellent reputation for its food and service. I am pleased too that you enjoyed breakfast both mornings - the Staffordshire oatcakes are very popular and are made in an oatcake shop not far from us - and feedback from our guests is that they are spoilt for choice at breakfast time.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future and I am delighted that in all aspects you had such a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Yours sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night to catch up with friends, we were booked in on a 'Dinner, Bed & Breakfast' package.
The location is rural and very quiet, great for relaxing, the hotel has old world charm and is very comfortable. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough for us.
We were in a large group of 10 people and they looked after us in the restaurant very well, the meal is complimentary with the room and the menu was great, plenty to choose from and the food was wonderful.
The room was a good size and very comfortable.
Breakfast was also complimentary and was buffet, plenty to choose from and also very nice.
We had a great night out, made all the better by the staff and the hotel itself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Mundo61

Thank you for completing a review of BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel following your recent stay and dinner with friends in our restaurant.

Our Ostler Restaurant has enjoyed an excellent reputation for its food and service for many years now and I am delighted that you had such a wonderful evening. The restaurant was unexpectedly busy on the evening you dined with us, so it's particularly pleasing to read of the friendly and efficient service you received from our restaurant staff.

I am pleased that your visit was so comfortable and relaxing and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

Yours sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Enjoyed an excellent dinner with a super Rioja that would probably have been at least 50% dearer elsewhere.
However we were greeted in a desultory manner, seated at a table in the restaurant' reception that wasn't cleared from previous occupants until we asked, & the the food droppings on one of the chairs was not noticed. We were told that all the menus were `in use' but when we then reminded another staff member that we were still waiting for one it was taken from a large pile adjacent to the "greeter' The bill had to be returned twice because it was incorrect.There were other elements of ineptitude which gave the Impression that the front of house staff really do need rather more training. The restaurant could not be blamed for the two raucous parties left and right of us but maybe it is just not our kind of place which is a pity given the excellent chef.

Room Tip: Only there for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Don R

Thank you for completing a review following dinner in our Ostler restaurant recently - I am delighted you enjoyed the food and wine so much.

I can only apologise that you left disappointed by the restaurant service. On evenings when we have a large number of tables booked, we always invite customers - as we did with you - to sit in our restaurant's bar and reception area in order to take their menu orders before then showing them into the restaurant and then seating them at to their table. The manner in which you were met is in no way representative of the restaurant's reputation - so I can only apologise if you felt you were greeted in anything less than a typically friendly and efficient manner.

During the evening a member of our restaurant team was being trained on the till and did, I know, twice present your bill incorrectly. Although inconvenient, and given your comment regarding staff training, I trust you understand the reason why your bill had to be amended by our restaurant manager.

When possible we do set a table or two in the restaurant to allow for unexpected diners. On the evening you dined the only table that had not been booked was adjacent to a table of ten and a table of eight, but I do understand that you would have preferred a table in the part of the restaurant where other couples were dining.

Thank you once again for your comments about the quality of our food and I very much hope that you will dine with us again.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A group of us (16) a mixture of adults and children had Sunday lunch here, the service was slow a few of us had the garlic mushrooms, the bread was forgotten time that arrived the mushroom were only luke warm, we had booked in for1pm a girl came out to say only 2 lamb left, no chicken only beef,yet there was chicken for the childrens menu, the beef dinner was bland, service at the bar slow,then they came and told us bar closing, we were still eating, shame really because the hotel is lovely and having been here a few times before and had great food and service not sure what has happened.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Wickedwendy63

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your lunch in the hotel's Stables Bar - I am sorry that on this occasion you left disappointed.

It was our error which resulted in your garlic mushrooms being presented without the topping of garlic bread. I know this oversight was rectified, but I am sorry for the wait whilst the garlic breads were toasted and and then served to your table.

The Roast of the Day was beef or lamb, and over a busy lunchtime all but two lamb portions had been sold by the time you were seated - one of which I understand was ordered by your table. The local butcher that supplies the hotel has done so for many years so I can only apologise that on this visit you did not enjoy the beef.

We rarely include roast chicken on our Sunday Menu however, as you rightly say, our Children’s Menu does have a chicken dinner choice which is presented as a small portion of sliced chicken breast.

Our Stables Bar does normally close at 3PM but I apologise if you were made to feel that you could not order more drinks after this time – our staff and duty manager always serve drinks to customers that want to order more drinks beyond afternoon “closing time.”

In closing, thank you for your custom and your feedback will be shared with all concerned.

I hope you will visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and wished it was for longer. From the time we took on step into the hotel foyer we were welcomed and the staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. We had dinner in the bar as the restaurant was closed. The menu had about five choices for each course. there were specials as well. The food we had was lovely and very reasonably priced. The room was lovely too, very clean and well presented. The bed was very comfy, so a good night sleep was had. Breakfast too was well presented with a good choice.
There is a swimming pool but we didn't get chance to use it unfortunately. However it looked well maintained and clean.
There was a wedding also taking place, it was busy, but not to our detriment. The staff took it in their stride. Our service did not suffer and I don't believe theirs did too by the smiles on people's faces.
I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat. Book here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Kate D

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted you had such a lovely stay - we wish you could have stayed longer too - and our staff will take great pride in reading your comments.

Hopefully we'll see you in the hotel when you next visit the Staffordshire-Cheshire borders.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel

Address: Audley Road | Stoke on Trent, Alsager ST7 2QQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alsager
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel is close to Stoke-on-Trent and Crewe and is set in countryside near the M6 motorway on the borders of Staffordshire and Cheshire. Our 57-bedroom hotel was awarded Highly Commended Large Hotel of the Year at both the Staffordshire and Cheshire Tourism Awards in 2014. All bedrooms are recently refurbished and have Apple-device docking station, free Wi-Fi and flat screen digital television with Freeview. The hotel's public areas were stylishly renovated in 2014, including sensitive renovations to the Ostler Restaurant and Stables Bar & Grill both of which are located in the 17th century farmhouse at the heart of the hotel and which provide a choice of dining locations and menus. The heated swimming pool and Sauna is free to use for residents. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel and we provide free on-site parking for up to 110 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manor Hotel
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western
Best Western Stoke On Trent
BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel Alsager, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.