We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner but front of house in no way matches the Chef's expertise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Audley Road | Stoke on Trent, Alsager ST7 2QQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alsager
Crewe
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner but front of house in no way matches the Chef's expertise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Enjoyed an excellent dinner with a super Rioja that would probably have been at least 50% dearer elsewhere.
However we were greeted in a desultory manner, seated at a table in the restaurant' reception that wasn't cleared from previous occupants until we asked, & the the food droppings on one of the chairs was not noticed. We were told that all the menus were `in use' but when we then reminded another staff member that we were still waiting for one it was taken from a large pile adjacent to the "greeter' The bill had to be returned twice because it was incorrect.There were other elements of ineptitude which gave the Impression that the front of house staff really do need rather more training. The restaurant could not be blamed for the two raucous parties left and right of us but maybe it is just not our kind of place which is a pity given the excellent chef.

Room Tip: Only there for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Don R

Thank you for completing a review following dinner in our Ostler restaurant recently - I am delighted you enjoyed the food and wine so much.

I can only apologise that you left disappointed by the restaurant service. On evenings when we have a large number of tables booked, we always invite customers - as we did with you - to sit in our restaurant's bar and reception area in order to take their menu orders before then showing them into the restaurant and then seating them at to their table. The manner in which you were met is in no way representative of the restaurant's reputation - so I can only apologise if you felt you were greeted in anything less than a typically friendly and efficient manner.

During the evening a member of our restaurant team was being trained on the till and did, I know, twice present your bill incorrectly. Although inconvenient, and given your comment regarding staff training, I trust you understand the reason why your bill had to be amended by our restaurant manager.

When possible we do set a table or two in the restaurant to allow for unexpected diners. On the evening you dined the only table that had not been booked was adjacent to a table of ten and a table of eight, but I do understand that you would have preferred a table in the part of the restaurant where other couples were dining.

Thank you once again for your comments about the quality of our food and I very much hope that you will dine with us again.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    98
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
56
90
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
oswestry
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A group of us (16) a mixture of adults and children had Sunday lunch here, the service was slow a few of us had the garlic mushrooms, the bread was forgotten time that arrived the mushroom were only luke warm, we had booked in for1pm a girl came out to say only 2 lamb left, no chicken only beef,yet there was chicken for the childrens menu, the beef dinner was bland, service at the bar slow,then they came and told us bar closing, we were still eating, shame really because the hotel is lovely and having been here a few times before and had great food and service not sure what has happened.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Wickedwendy63

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your lunch in the hotel's Stables Bar - I am sorry that on this occasion you left disappointed.

It was our error which resulted in your garlic mushrooms being presented without the topping of garlic bread. I know this oversight was rectified, but I am sorry for the wait whilst the garlic breads were toasted and and then served to your table.

The Roast of the Day was beef or lamb, and over a busy lunchtime all but two lamb portions had been sold by the time you were seated - one of which I understand was ordered by your table. The local butcher that supplies the hotel has done so for many years so I can only apologise that on this visit you did not enjoy the beef.

We rarely include roast chicken on our Sunday Menu however, as you rightly say, our Children’s Menu does have a chicken dinner choice which is presented as a small portion of sliced chicken breast.

Our Stables Bar does normally close at 3PM but I apologise if you were made to feel that you could not order more drinks after this time – our staff and duty manager always serve drinks to customers that want to order more drinks beyond afternoon “closing time.”

In closing, thank you for your custom and your feedback will be shared with all concerned.

I hope you will visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and wished it was for longer. From the time we took on step into the hotel foyer we were welcomed and the staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. We had dinner in the bar as the restaurant was closed. The menu had about five choices for each course. there were specials as well. The food we had was lovely and very reasonably priced. The room was lovely too, very clean and well presented. The bed was very comfy, so a good night sleep was had. Breakfast too was well presented with a good choice.
There is a swimming pool but we didn't get chance to use it unfortunately. However it looked well maintained and clean.
There was a wedding also taking place, it was busy, but not to our detriment. The staff took it in their stride. Our service did not suffer and I don't believe theirs did too by the smiles on people's faces.
I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat. Book here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Kate D

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted you had such a lovely stay - we wish you could have stayed longer too - and our staff will take great pride in reading your comments.

Hopefully we'll see you in the hotel when you next visit the Staffordshire-Cheshire borders.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is in a quiet, pretty location. Reception area, bar and restaurant are all dated, but tidy and clean. Service at reception was friendly. The double room was a reasonable size, clean and has a clearly recently updated bathroom; which was lovely. Very comfortable bed and nice pillows. The main criticism we have was the service in the bar in the evening was dreadful. The bar staff were more interested in cleaning and paperwork than serving us despite the fact that we were sat AT the bar. A shame really!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear LeeSuzy71

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you found your bedroom, and bed, so comfortable and that you enjoyed being in a room with one of our brand brand new bathrooms. Twenty bathrooms are presently being refurbished which are in addition to the 29 new bathrooms we had fitted as part of last summer's refurbishment.

I am very disappointed to read of the poor service you received in our Stables Bar - the importance of providing an attentive and friendly service is a characteristic we endeavour to instil across the hotel and I apologise that we let you down on this occasion.

TripAdvisor reviews are shared wth all staff so thank you for raising this point and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We spent one night here (with our dog too) and we were made very welcome. The room was spacious and comfortable and on the ground floor so easy for exercising our little dog. There was a wedding on at the hotel, but the evening party did not disturb our sleep one bit. The food in the restuarant was great and the bar area was relaxing and traditional. We skipped breakfast to take a swim in the indoor pool. There is also a sauna. Both are small but the water was lovely and warm and the sauna was hot, hot, hot.
We will certainly stay again if we travel to this area.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor if you take your dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Candyrio27

Thank you for completing a review of BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel following your stay earlier this year.

I am delighted that you (and your little dog), enjoyed the hotel so much and also that you made the most of the hotel's facilities: the sauna, as you say, is a great place to relax whilst the heated 15-metre pool is perfect for some gentle exercise.

Thank you once again for your review.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We met up with friends who were already booked into the Manor House Hotel, for an overnight stay, When picking hotels I usually like to choose for myself where I am going to stay and so I was apprehensive of what the standard would be - especially as it was a special offer of £39pp to include dinner, bed and breakfast. However, I could not fault it; it was unbelievable value. Upon arrival it had a nice friendly feel with a pleasant and helpful young man at reception. The reception lounge was bright and airy with a lovely view of the garden and the modern indoor swimming pool.The bedroom was a good size, well equipped, modern, clean and comfortable with a lovely new bathroom. The Stables bar was comfortable and cosy. The main restaurant had a lovely bar/waiting room for pre dinner drinks and canopes were also served. The service was five star, silver service - as one reviewer commented 'retro' - yes, I would say the excellent service was reminiscent of a by gone age...unless you can afford to stay at Claridges! The main meal was good, with lots of fresh vegetables and the numerous desserts on the trolley left me spoilt for choice. Sherry Trifle, Fruit Salad, Strawberry Tart, Chocolate Gateau...and more! Portions were generous too. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, from Continental to Full English, which included good quality lean bacon. Upon our departure the young lady at the desk was very helpful and professional. I was very impressed with this hotel and its staff; it is a credit to whoever owns it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Discerning41

Thank you for taking the time to complete this lovely review following your recent stay with friends at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted to read your comments regarding the comfort of your bedroom, the welcoming attitude and manner of our staff and the friendly feel to the hotel.

The hotel restaurant is renowned for the quality of its food - our head chef sources ingredients from local suppliers and growers - so I am pleased you enjoyed both your evening meal and breakfast so much.

Having had such an enjoyable stay, you will be interested to know that we have commenced another refurbishment programme in the hotel - the second within the space of a year- which includes the installation of 20 new bathrooms.

Come back and see us soon.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have to admit to this hotel not being my first choice so when I was offered this as an alternative I was a little unsure however I really don't know why. The location is fabulous as it is slightly away from busy Stoke and yet accessible. The staff were amazing, going out of their way to be helpful. The facilities were great with good food and lovely pool. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Dotty1Cardiff

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

Customers do like our location; quiet but also close to everything - including the M6! Your comments regarding our team of staff are particularly appreciated as we pride ourselves on providing friendly and efficient customer service.

I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel so much and trust we will now be your hotel of first choice when you next visit the area.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel

Address: Audley Road | Stoke on Trent, Alsager ST7 2QQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alsager
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shortlisted Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year in 2014, BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel is located in countryside and extends from a 17th century farmhouse with plenty of character. In 2014 the hotel's public areas, bar and restaurant received a £1 million renovation whilst all 57 bedrooms were refurbished between 2012 and 2014. All rooms have Apple-device docking station and flatscreen digital television. The Wi-Fi is high speed and is free throughout the hotel. Choose to eat in the Ostler Restaurant for bistro-style cuisine or Stables Bar for gastro pub bar food. Relax in the indoor heated swimming pool and Sauna which is free to residents. Free on-site car parking for up to 110 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manor Hotel
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western
Best Western Stoke On Trent
BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel Alsager, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.