We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value weekend that ticks all of the boxes.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Audley Road | Nr Stoke On Trent, Alsager ST7 2QQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Alsager
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value weekend that ticks all of the boxes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We together with several friends had a Saturday night break at this hotel on the 24th Nov great hotel excellent food and all for £38pp including B&B + evening meal all of which was to a very high standard but to cap it all the staff all went out of their way to make sure we all enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Most have been refurbished but we had 257 which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Graham M

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel - I am delighted you and your friends enjoyed it so much.

On the night you stayed you had booked one of our very popular Manor House Offers which enable guests to enjoy all the hotel's facilities, hospitality and wonderful food on a great value weekend break.

We are running more Manor House Offers in the New Year and in January we have a 241 Offer in our 17th century Ostler Restaurant; contact the hotel and we will email all the dates and information to you.

Enjoy December and I hope we can welcome you, and your friends, back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    83
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
46
67
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I guess if you neede to stay in Alsager then this is the best bet but I would try and avoid if possible. Just not very inspiring...welcome from receptionist was lukewarm - said the right things but exuded the attitude of not wanting to be there. Rooms smallish and just not very nice. Bar and restaurant not very welcoming and not very good value.
A classic case where all of the constituent parts of a hotel service are there but just not really working together.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear NSNO Dickie

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay with us at the BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

Without knowing which room you stayed in, I presume you were allocated one of the nine single room in the hotel, which are by definition smaller, but have had new bathrooms installed as part of the summer's £250,000 bedroom and bathroom refurbishment.

I am sorry too that in other respects you left us disappointed

Yours sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed for one night but will stay again when in the area. The Staff are excellent, the facilities were great and worthy of special mention is the food. The place is very clean and in very good repair, bar prices were very reasonable, even the cider! Diner was well cooked with good sized portions from an extensive menu. Breakfast included mushrooms, which other hotels are beginning to leave out, and was cooked to order perfectly. Special congratulations go to all the staff who without exception were helpful and polite
, even the Night Manager, well done!!!

Room Tip: Arrive early so that you can make use of all the facilities!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear WookiePlymouth

Thank you for completing a review folIowing your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel - I am delighted it was so enjoyable and relaxing.

Your comments regarding the quality of the food and attitude of our staff are particularly pleasing as we take a lot of care in sourcing ingredients - including the mushrooms - and in preparing tasty and well presented dishes, whilst putting customers first is at the center of what we do.

Thank you once again for all your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We staged our journey here when travelling back from a weekend away and being about 3 miles from the M6 and in a quiet rural location it was a great place to stop off. We had a meal in the bar which was tasty and the atmosphere was relaxed. Our room was lovely, especially the bathroom which was fab (although the shower wasn't very wooshy) and it was really nice not to have the heating on as we usually find hotels way too hot. The bed was really comfortable and we had a terrific nights' sleep. Breakfast was also very good - I had the Staffordshire oatcake which wasn't anything like I had expected but I thooughly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Jennilewes

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

Our location on the borders of Staffordshire and Cheshire does benefit customers on long journeys that want a quiet countryside hotel close to the M6 to rest at, and I am delighted you found this to be the case.

As regards your shower, the water pressure in certain areas of the hotel has been disappointing following the refurbishment works undertaken this summer, and a full and thorough fix to this has now been established.

Works will commence either on 3rd December and will take 3 weeks, or at the start of January when the work required will be completed over a shorter time period. In either case the hotel will operate as usual and we are delighted that these works will eliminate a source of frustration to some of our guests
.
I am pleased that you found the hotel to be comfortable and relaxing, and also that you enjoyed the bar food and breakfast the following morning. As you enjoyed the Staffordshire oatcakes the next time you visit have the porridge at breakfast - it is prepared fresh to order with oats milled in South Cheshire. It's delicious!

Thank you once again for your comments, and I look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to the area.

Yours Sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 1 night for a wedding. The hotel is a grand place & is very clean & comfortable. I ate on both the bar & the restaurant & was happy with the food & service I had in both. The bar prices were also reasonable. The only issues I had were :-
Breakfast time - the service was incredibly slow & the queue took about 10/15 mins to get through.
Bathrooms - the shower in our room was the worst I have ever experienced. It was nothing more than a trickle at best. I spoke to other guests in the party tho were staying & they said their showers were the same. All in all I would stay again & would probably recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Cheshire Rocketman

Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay for a wedding at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and had such a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

The morning after a wedding gets very busy very quickly in the restaurant as guests tend to breakfast late. For this reason, rather than cook breakfasts individually to order - which is the norm - we serve a hot breakfast buffet. This does mean that guests can have to wait for their hot breakfast to be served, but I apologise for the unusually long wait you experienced. I'm pleased to see however that the cooked breakfast was worth waiting for!

As part of the hotel's £250,000 summer refurbishment we upgraded the hot water supply to some parts of the hotel. Unfortunately we have since had problems with the water pressure in some rooms - for which I can only apologise - but our contractors are actively working to resolve this issue.

Once again, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Yours Sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my wedding venue a number of years ago & I have stayed & dined here a number of times since. My wedding was one of the most enjoyable events I have witnessed. Joanne works very hard to make the day special.
Anyway, this wasn't about my wedding day, this was about a Saturday Night break with Dinner Bed & Breakfast as a little break for two. I must say it was just as enjoyable as ever.
Even though the Hotel was hosting another wedding, it didn't stop us having a nice relaxing evening. We stayed in A Kingsize room which was very clean, comfortable & quiet.
Our meal in the Ostler reatuarant was fabulous & the food couldn't be faulted. The staff are very young but don't let that put you off as they are very polite & willing to help with everything they can. Breakfast the next morning was just as good & the food was so fresh.
Overall the staff & service at this hotel cannot be faulted & the price is reasonable too.
I'm sure some people can come up with some negative points but this hotel is well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Choose a Kingsize or Executive room for an extra touch of luxury but the Doubles are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear TrentTravellers022

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay with us at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay, and that in all aspects you found the accommodation, food and service to be of such a good standard. Our summer bedroom and bathroom refurbishment has been very well received by existing and new customers alike, and I am pleased to see you enjoyed the added comfort of a Kingsize room.

Our Chef Brigade have always taken a pride in producing fresh, tasty and well presented dishes using predominantly locally sourced ingredients and will be pleased that you enjoyed both the evening meal and your breakfast the following morning.

In closing, I would also like to thank you for the numerous times you have chosen to stay and dine at the hotel in the years since you celebrated your Wedding Day with us.

Yours Sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager



.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed with a group of friends, the event was a Murder Mystery Weekend.
We had a great weekend, the hotel, rooms, food and staff were all excellent, as were the cast of the Murder Mystery.
The rooms were spotless and the bed was comfortable.
Only minor points was the water pressure in the shower was very poor, and some inconsiderate guests having a party in their room at 1am, however after a call to reception the situation was quickly sorted.
Thank you for a great weekend the staff that looked after us are a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear MickS48

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel for our Murder Mystery Weekend.

I'm delighted you had such an enjoyable time - our Restaurant Manager, Grace, said how much everyone enjoyed themselves and the actors also commented that the guests that evening were one of the best "crowds" they had played to.

The water pressure in some of the hotel's showers is poor and we are actively working with our contractors to resolve this issue. I hope however this did not detract from the overall comfort of your stay, and am pleased that in all other aspects you found your accommodation to be of a high standard.

Providing customer service excellence is central to what we do in the hotel so your comments regarding the attitude and manner of the staff are particularly pleasing. By popular demand we are holding more Murder Mystery Weekends in 2013 and we will confirm exact dates in the New Year.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

PS Did you guess who dunnit?

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel

Address: Audley Road | Nr Stoke On Trent, Alsager ST7 2QQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Alsager
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shortlisted in the category of 2013 Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year, BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel is built and extended around a 17th century farmhouse with plenty of character and original features. All 57 ensuite bedrooms were refurbished 2012-13 and all rooms have Apple-device docking stations and flatscreen digital televisions with Freeview. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel and there is free access to an internet PC in reception. Choose to eat in the award winning Ostler Restaurant for Bistro-style cuisine or Stables Bar for a country pub-style Bar Food Menu. Relax in the indoor heated swimming pool and Sauna which is free to residents. Free on-site car parking for up to 120 cars. Versatile conference & function rooms for 2 - 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manor Hotel
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western
Best Western Stoke On Trent
BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel Alsager, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.