We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent relaxed & comfortable Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Audley Road | Nr Stoke On Trent, Alsager ST7 2QQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Alsager
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent relaxed & comfortable Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my wedding venue a number of years ago & I have stayed & dined here a number of times since. My wedding was one of the most enjoyable events I have witnessed. Joanne works very hard to make the day special.
Anyway, this wasn't about my wedding day, this was about a Saturday Night break with Dinner Bed & Breakfast as a little break for two. I must say it was just as enjoyable as ever.
Even though the Hotel was hosting another wedding, it didn't stop us having a nice relaxing evening. We stayed in A Kingsize room which was very clean, comfortable & quiet.
Our meal in the Ostler reatuarant was fabulous & the food couldn't be faulted. The staff are very young but don't let that put you off as they are very polite & willing to help with everything they can. Breakfast the next morning was just as good & the food was so fresh.
Overall the staff & service at this hotel cannot be faulted & the price is reasonable too.
I'm sure some people can come up with some negative points but this hotel is well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Choose a Kingsize or Executive room for an extra touch of luxury but the Doubles are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear TrentTravellers022

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay with us at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay, and that in all aspects you found the accommodation, food and service to be of such a good standard. Our summer bedroom and bathroom refurbishment has been very well received by existing and new customers alike, and I am pleased to see you enjoyed the added comfort of a Kingsize room.

Our Chef Brigade have always taken a pride in producing fresh, tasty and well presented dishes using predominantly locally sourced ingredients and will be pleased that you enjoyed both the evening meal and your breakfast the following morning.

In closing, I would also like to thank you for the numerous times you have chosen to stay and dine at the hotel in the years since you celebrated your Wedding Day with us.

Yours Sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager



.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    83
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
46
67
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed with a group of friends, the event was a Murder Mystery Weekend.
We had a great weekend, the hotel, rooms, food and staff were all excellent, as were the cast of the Murder Mystery.
The rooms were spotless and the bed was comfortable.
Only minor points was the water pressure in the shower was very poor, and some inconsiderate guests having a party in their room at 1am, however after a call to reception the situation was quickly sorted.
Thank you for a great weekend the staff that looked after us are a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear MickS48

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel for our Murder Mystery Weekend.

I'm delighted you had such an enjoyable time - our Restaurant Manager, Grace, said how much everyone enjoyed themselves and the actors also commented that the guests that evening were one of the best "crowds" they had played to.

The water pressure in some of the hotel's showers is poor and we are actively working with our contractors to resolve this issue. I hope however this did not detract from the overall comfort of your stay, and am pleased that in all other aspects you found your accommodation to be of a high standard.

Providing customer service excellence is central to what we do in the hotel so your comments regarding the attitude and manner of the staff are particularly pleasing. By popular demand we are holding more Murder Mystery Weekends in 2013 and we will confirm exact dates in the New Year.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

PS Did you guess who dunnit?

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Arrived on the 11 Oct - Room ready, staff very helpful, bar open, food excellent.
The wedding on the 12th was outstanding and cannot be faulted. The only minor gripe was that the shower needed more power. When we walked into the room it was if it was brand new. My wife who is fussy was impressed and couldnt praise it enough. The bar staff where excellent, although there could have beeen one or 2 more on before the wedding started as I had a 6-7 minute wait. Would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting the Potteries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear 105TimS

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay as a wedding guest in the hotel.

I am delighted that the wedding day itself was an enjoyable one and also that you, and particularly your wife, were so impressed with accommodation. Your positive comments regarding the excellent attitude of the bar staff are very pleasing, but thank you too for your patience on what was obviously a very busy bar

We know that in some rooms the pressure of the water through the showers is not as high as it should be. We are taking action to resolve this sporadic problem, and the improvements made to the hot water supply during our summer refurbishment will most certainly help.

Thank you once again for your review, and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I chose this hotel for a recent business trip simply because of its convenient location to the M6 and considering the very reasonable cost was very impressed. On arrival at the hotel, having battled recent floods, I was greeted with a smile and welcoming attitude which is always a good start. The room was as it should be at that price (I paid circa £55 b&b) - nothing grand, but roomy enough, functional with all the required facilities and most importantly clean! A quick swim in the pool continued to demonstrate how well kept and clean the hotel appeared to be.

I ate in the Stables Bar in the evening as opposed to the Ostler Restaraunt. The bar menu offered a good choice and what I ate would not win any culinary prizes - but nor could I complain about price or quality.

In summary - just what I needed on that evening...... I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you need a stop off on the M6 and will certainly use it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Richard B

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

Our location is attractive to customers that want a quiet countryside hotel close to the M6, and I am pleased you found this to be the case.

Since you stayed here in July the hotel has undergone a £250,000 refurbishment which has transformed the look of our bedrooms and many of the en-suite bathrooms. Enhanced room facilities include Freeview flat screen televisions and Apple device docking stations, so, if we do have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again, you may well have an even better stay!

As you took a dip in our indoor heated pool while you were here, you will also be interested to know that a sauna is due to be installed into the pool area during the first week of October:

Thank you once again for your comments - they are appreciated.

Yours sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have used this hotel on several occasions for business and always find the staff very friendly and helpful. I tend not to use the restaurant in the evening, preferring the less formal surroundings of the bar, which offers a good menu selection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Nigel J

Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

It's always nice to read reviews from regular customers, and we are delighted that the friendliness of our staff is one of the factors that bring you back to hotel.

I'm pleased you enjoy the menu selection in our bar. Our guests like the choice of eateries in the hotel: both the Stables Bar and Ostler Restaurant serve tasty, cooked-to-order food so the next time you stay why not try the restaurant? The menu is Bistro-style and enjoys an excellent reputation for the quality of its dishes.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, by which time our sauna will have been installed into the indoor heated pool area. (It's due to be installed in the first week of October).

Yours sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Having overcome a mix up with the bookings,which I was informed was my fault we hoped to have a good experience with the evening meal.Not so.A gaggle of little girls were gathered by reception desk in the Dining Room,none appeared to know what they were doing.We were shown to a table for two in the corner as two large parties occupied most of the Dining Room.We sat for a while to be attended to and ordered the starter and main course,omitting the soup.The starter was fine,then a wait for around 45 minutes for the main course.Sitting with nothing to occupy our time we were in a position to see the dust on the fittings in the Dining Room.Oh dear !!.My wife ordered the medallions of beef,in our experience a medallion is medal shaped,not a rectangular slab !!!Supposedly pan fried it had griddle marks on it,we were advised it was "pan fried then put under the grill to dry it out",it certainly suceeded in achieving that.The Duck in Plum Sauce was OK but had obviously stood for sometime as it was " sinewy".The vegetables were uninspiring and "tired".Rather surprisingly we were asked if we wanted any sauces with our meal.Ketchup maybe !!! Surprised to find the sweets wereserved from a Trolley very retro,although not covered and left standing around.All sweets appeared to be mass produced as one would expect to be supplied by Brake Brothers.Breakfast was OK but not in the same league as the Holiday Inn.We were advised by a member of staff that there were staff issues.Katrina on Reception was however excellent.We were permitted a reduction of £24 on the bill in view of the inferior meal.Still water which we requested in place of water in a jug already standing on the table was however charged at £4.10,more expensive than the prize winning red wine at Lidl.
Altogether a very disappointing experience,not to be repeated.

Room Tip: Ground Floor,otherwise could be a long walk with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear GwyneddPoshpaws

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy parts of your stay. We are aware that the Operations Manager and Duty Manager both spoke to you during your stay regarding your disappointment with the food. We are also aware that because you booked the hotel as a single traveler, there was some confusion regarding the room allocated to you when you arrived with a second person.

A direct message has also been sent to you in order to discuss your feedback further.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our family of five stayed here as a stopover for one night. It was easy to find, at the edge of a sleepy village. The room was clean and accommodated all of us easily enough. The staff were friendly, especially the guys in the bar. Best of all, the five of us stayed and had breakfast for a mere £80. I would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear JohnBrady33

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much. Our family rooms are very comfortable and roomy - many families choose to stay here for this very reason when visiting attractions in the area - and I am pleased that you also found this to be the case.

Since you visited we have completed a major refurbishment in the hotel: amongst other things all our bedrooms now have flat screen Freeview televisions and Apple device docking stations, whilst the Family Rooms are just some of the many rooms in the hotel that have brand new bathrooms.

Thank you for your comments regarding our Bar Staff - we take a real pride in providing a friendly and professional service to all our customers - and I will share this review with them.

Hopefully we'll see you at the hotel again on your next visit to the borders of Staffordshire and Cheshire.

Yours Sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel

Address: Audley Road | Nr Stoke On Trent, Alsager ST7 2QQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Alsager
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shortlisted in the category of 2013 Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year, BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel is built and extended around a 17th century farmhouse with plenty of character and original features. All 57 ensuite bedrooms were refurbished 2012-13 and all rooms have Apple-device docking stations and flatscreen digital televisions with Freeview. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel and there is free access to an internet PC in reception. Choose to eat in the award winning Ostler Restaurant for Bistro-style cuisine or Stables Bar for a country pub-style Bar Food Menu. Relax in the indoor heated swimming pool and Sauna which is free to residents. Free on-site car parking for up to 120 cars. Versatile conference & function rooms for 2 - 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manor Hotel
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western
Best Western Stoke On Trent
BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel Alsager, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.