We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business location and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Audley Road | Stoke on Trent, Alsager ST7 2QQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alsager
Devizes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent business location and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I chose this hotel for a recent business trip simply because of its convenient location to the M6 and considering the very reasonable cost was very impressed. On arrival at the hotel, having battled recent floods, I was greeted with a smile and welcoming attitude which is always a good start. The room was as it should be at that price (I paid circa £55 b&b) - nothing grand, but roomy enough, functional with all the required facilities and most importantly clean! A quick swim in the pool continued to demonstrate how well kept and clean the hotel appeared to be.

I ate in the Stables Bar in the evening as opposed to the Ostler Restaraunt. The bar menu offered a good choice and what I ate would not win any culinary prizes - but nor could I complain about price or quality.

In summary - just what I needed on that evening...... I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you need a stop off on the M6 and will certainly use it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Richard B

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

Our location is attractive to customers that want a quiet countryside hotel close to the M6, and I am pleased you found this to be the case.

Since you stayed here in July the hotel has undergone a £250,000 refurbishment which has transformed the look of our bedrooms and many of the en-suite bathrooms. Enhanced room facilities include Freeview flat screen televisions and Apple device docking stations, so, if we do have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again, you may well have an even better stay!

As you took a dip in our indoor heated pool while you were here, you will also be interested to know that a sauna is due to be installed into the pool area during the first week of October:

Thank you once again for your comments - they are appreciated.

Yours sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    98
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
56
90
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have used this hotel on several occasions for business and always find the staff very friendly and helpful. I tend not to use the restaurant in the evening, preferring the less formal surroundings of the bar, which offers a good menu selection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Nigel J

Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

It's always nice to read reviews from regular customers, and we are delighted that the friendliness of our staff is one of the factors that bring you back to hotel.

I'm pleased you enjoy the menu selection in our bar. Our guests like the choice of eateries in the hotel: both the Stables Bar and Ostler Restaurant serve tasty, cooked-to-order food so the next time you stay why not try the restaurant? The menu is Bistro-style and enjoys an excellent reputation for the quality of its dishes.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, by which time our sauna will have been installed into the indoor heated pool area. (It's due to be installed in the first week of October).

Yours sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Having overcome a mix up with the bookings,which I was informed was my fault we hoped to have a good experience with the evening meal.Not so.A gaggle of little girls were gathered by reception desk in the Dining Room,none appeared to know what they were doing.We were shown to a table for two in the corner as two large parties occupied most of the Dining Room.We sat for a while to be attended to and ordered the starter and main course,omitting the soup.The starter was fine,then a wait for around 45 minutes for the main course.Sitting with nothing to occupy our time we were in a position to see the dust on the fittings in the Dining Room.Oh dear !!.My wife ordered the medallions of beef,in our experience a medallion is medal shaped,not a rectangular slab !!!Supposedly pan fried it had griddle marks on it,we were advised it was "pan fried then put under the grill to dry it out",it certainly suceeded in achieving that.The Duck in Plum Sauce was OK but had obviously stood for sometime as it was " sinewy".The vegetables were uninspiring and "tired".Rather surprisingly we were asked if we wanted any sauces with our meal.Ketchup maybe !!! Surprised to find the sweets wereserved from a Trolley very retro,although not covered and left standing around.All sweets appeared to be mass produced as one would expect to be supplied by Brake Brothers.Breakfast was OK but not in the same league as the Holiday Inn.We were advised by a member of staff that there were staff issues.Katrina on Reception was however excellent.We were permitted a reduction of £24 on the bill in view of the inferior meal.Still water which we requested in place of water in a jug already standing on the table was however charged at £4.10,more expensive than the prize winning red wine at Lidl.
Altogether a very disappointing experience,not to be repeated.

Room Tip: Ground Floor,otherwise could be a long walk with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear GwyneddPoshpaws

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy parts of your stay. We are aware that the Operations Manager and Duty Manager both spoke to you during your stay regarding your disappointment with the food. We are also aware that because you booked the hotel as a single traveler, there was some confusion regarding the room allocated to you when you arrived with a second person.

A direct message has also been sent to you in order to discuss your feedback further.

Yours sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our family of five stayed here as a stopover for one night. It was easy to find, at the edge of a sleepy village. The room was clean and accommodated all of us easily enough. The staff were friendly, especially the guys in the bar. Best of all, the five of us stayed and had breakfast for a mere £80. I would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear JohnBrady33

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much. Our family rooms are very comfortable and roomy - many families choose to stay here for this very reason when visiting attractions in the area - and I am pleased that you also found this to be the case.

Since you visited we have completed a major refurbishment in the hotel: amongst other things all our bedrooms now have flat screen Freeview televisions and Apple device docking stations, whilst the Family Rooms are just some of the many rooms in the hotel that have brand new bathrooms.

Thank you for your comments regarding our Bar Staff - we take a real pride in providing a friendly and professional service to all our customers - and I will share this review with them.

Hopefully we'll see you at the hotel again on your next visit to the borders of Staffordshire and Cheshire.

Yours Sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed the night in double room and enjoyed a five course complimentary meal in restaurant to celebrate wedding anniversary. Staff at reception were very polite and professional and we were checked in very quickly which was good as we had new born baby with us. The room was of reasonable size and clean. The water pressure in on suite bathroom was good.
The restaurant food was excellent and for what would normally cost £25 a head for five courses great value for money.
Hotel facilities were good with warm indoor pool which was excellent for baby. Only disappointment was they have decided to get rid of jacuzzi due to maintenance costs. Full English and buffet breakfast is on offer in morning which is of high standard.
I would recommend hotel to others.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Staffordshire Knot

Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

We always welcome couples who have celebrated their Wedding Day here back to the hotel for a complimentary stay on their first anniversary, and I am pleased you enjoyed your the accommodation, dinner and breakfast in our Ostler Restaurant. I'm glad your baby enjoyed the indoor pool too- babies love the warm water.

I want to explain the reasons why we no longer have a Jacuzzi which we regret is no longer in operation. Due to a series of ongoing issues which led to it to being inoperable more often than not, and to avoid continued customer disappointment, we decided to remove it.

In its place we have a sauna being installed in the first week of October, and our literature and website information is in the process of being updated to reflect this change. I hope you and your wife will come back to the hotel soon to enjoy the sauna which is being added as part of this summer's £250,000 hotel refurbishment.

Thank you once again for your comments - and for recommending us - and hopefully we will see you all again very soon.


Yours Sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a lovely weekend at this hotel. Rooms and service were good and evening meal in the public bar good value for money. Good location for M6, Alton Towers and Wedgewood.
We stayed in Listed part of building which due to age of construction allows sound to travel easily between rooms. Reception staff pleasant and would recommend based on a reasonably priced hotel with good amenities.

Room Tip: Part of the Hotel is Grade 2 listed with low beams which may cause you a problem if much over 6 ft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear 123 Bondy

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had a lovely weekend with us and that you enjoyed the accommodation, customer service and food in the hotel. Our Chefs source menu items locally so it is probable that your meals in our Stables bar included ingredients from Staffordshire and Cheshire.

We have many customers who, as you found, stay here because we are located just a short drive from many tourist attractions and places of interest. I hope you enjoyed Wedgwood and Alton Towers!

The seven rooms in the 17th century part of building do allow some sound to travel more easily between rooms, but I hope you enjoyed the character of the bedrooms all of which now have flat screen Freeview televisions and Apple device docking stations to bring added 21st century facilities to the rooms.

Thank you once again for your review, and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

A nice clean and quiet hotel which was perfect as a base for a trip to Alton Towers. The staff were all very friendly and even though there was refurbishment going on, even all the workmen said 'Good morning'. We had one of the newly refurbished rooms and it was really lovely. The kingsize bed was huge! There was no road noise to disturb a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMH, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Nenny B

Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel.

We do have a lot of customers who use the hotel as a quiet and convenient base for trips to Alton Towers, and I am delighted that you enjoyed staying in one of our newly refurbished rooms. Our refurbishment is soon to be completed, so I have made a point of telling our contractors that their friendliness has been mentioned by you in this review - a mention, and a thank you, they greatly appreciated.

I am sure after an action-packed day at Alton Towers the quiet and comfort of our hotel was a great relief, and I hope that you choose to stay with us again when you're next in the area.

Yours sincerely


Jayne Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel

Address: Audley Road | Stoke on Trent, Alsager ST7 2QQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alsager
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shortlisted Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year in 2014, BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel is located in countryside and extends from a 17th century farmhouse with plenty of character. In 2014 the hotel's public areas, bar and restaurant received a £1 million renovation whilst all 57 bedrooms were refurbished between 2012 and 2014. All rooms have Apple-device docking station and flatscreen digital television. The Wi-Fi is high speed and is free throughout the hotel. Choose to eat in the Ostler Restaurant for bistro-style cuisine or Stables Bar for gastro pub bar food. Relax in the indoor heated swimming pool and Sauna which is free to residents. Free on-site car parking for up to 110 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manor Hotel
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western
Best Western Stoke On Trent
BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel Alsager, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Manor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.