We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty shabby.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Colca Inn Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chivay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colca Inn Hotel
Save
You added Colca Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Salaverry 307, Chivay, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Chivay B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Pretty shabby.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Must of our tour of Peru consisted of budget hotels. Unfortunately, this was the worst of our trip. The lobby of the Colca Inn was welcoming and promishing. Upon entering the lobby we had better expectations of the room. Things went downhill as we walked through the corridors to our room. The room itself was sparsely furnished and decorated. The bath towels were placed decoratively at the foot of the bed but, unfortunately, when we unfolded the towels they were all filled with holes. To make matters worse, the bed was extremely uncomfortable.

The complimentary breakfast was just OK and the service rather slow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    34
    17
    17
See reviews for
11
38
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

this is a small hotel located just two blocks from main plaza de Chivay. the room was very nice an dcomfortable.

The staff was very frinedly and helpful, thanks to all them.

Breakfast was basic but good enough. Also, you have other choices for an extra money.

This is a small hotel with good services and benefits, such as great location, breakfast included in the price, TV, hot water.

I recommend this hotel wehn you travel on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The standard was more hostel than hotel. The room only had an internal window facing a lounge, lucky it wasn't busy or this could have been noisy. The bathroom was fine. Breakfast was basic. Wi-Fi was available, but was very slow. Convenient for town.
Wish we had had time to do the Colca Canyon trek.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed here as part of our trip to the colca canyon. It's ok, but nog great. Our room had a bit of a view and that was the best part. Otherwise, our toilet had a hard time flushing, and the comforter on my bed had a few gross stains on it. Definitely a place I used me hostel sheets. Breakfast was simple. Bread and jam. We didn't even get juice as everyone else did since we were traveling just 2 of us and they seemed to be focusing on pleasing the big groups.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I was there once .. in a school trip . The service was really good , the rooms very clean . we did not have any problems. The good point that is well located
As it is usual the freeze nights in Chivay are part of every hotel in the area. and we already know that most of the hotels charge an addittional for the heating, so we din0t have problems getting it.

About bfast all was really good.

A really basic service but i don't have complains.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

As I read some of the other reviews, I can't believe someone would call this place "cute" or "great value." Without exaggeration, this is a horrible hotel.

I unfortunately was given this hotel as park of a tour package by Colonial Tours. I paid an extra 40 soles to stay here, what a rip off!

The hotel is really a hostel. The hotel was constructed and decorated in the worst of 70's fashions. The hotel faces a public park, with plenty of neighborhood let in by the thin window panes. In addition to noise from outside, there is plenty of noise from "inside" the hotel that will permeate your nights rest. My friend's room had no working phone. Heaters are not standard, I was asked to pay 15 soles extra for one. The staff consists of one person as far as I can tell. There really isn't any service at all.

I will concede that the hotel had hot water in the faucet and shower (something that is not always the case in Peru). Bedsheets appeared to be clean.

I will not ever stay in this hotel nor recommend to anyone (even those on tight budgets). Staying here truly was a depressing event in my vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here one night, which was part of a tour package. The room is really basic with a neater--an important feature in the cold nights. The beds were comfortable. The plumbing leaves something to be desired--be very careful in the shower that you don't get scalded by the hot. The staff is really unhelpful and seems a little disorganized. There is supposed to be internet, but we were not able to connect and no one we spoke with could either.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colca Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colca Inn Hotel

Address: Salaverry 307, Chivay, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Chivay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chivay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colca Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.