We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount St. Paul Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mount St. Paul Estate to your Saves list
Mount St. Paul Estate
29 Kaitoke Lane, Great Barrier Island, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland
1 review
“Excellent accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We wanted to have a hassel free weekend, and Hilary and Peter did this for us by organising our flights, rental cars and recomending the dinning places etc. The room has magnificant seaview and my husband and I adore this country style building.

The breakfast is one of the nicest meal we had in the island, thanks for looking after us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for the great review. We need you to come back and catch some more fish!!!!

Kind regards
Hilary, Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
39
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Hilary and Peter were excellent hosts. Our accommodation was first class - everything we could possibly have wanted was provided. Hilary organising flights and the rental car made it so streamlined for us. We would highly recommend anyone looking for a peaceful, luxury stay on Barrier to stay here.
Sally and Nigel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your kind words. Very much appreciated. If there is anything you think we could of improved on please let us know.

Regards
Hilary, Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a fantastic weekend staying with Hilary, Peter and of course... Ben the dog. They were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.

Hilary was very helpful getting all of our travel and rental car hire sorted so that everything was very easy. She also provided some great recommendations for restaurants and made all the bookings for those as well.

Breakfast at the Estate was so good and we ate so much that we had to climb a mountain to work it off.

Our room was excellent with the most enormous bed we have ever seen! We had a lovely views from each of our two private balconies.

We highly recommend not only Mount St. Paul Estate but also the whole Great Barrier Island experience. Great Barrier Island is a slice of paradise and Mount St Paul Estate provides the perfect base to enjoy it from.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi,

Hope all is good for you. Thanks for your great review, we appreciate it very much.
We are so pleased you enjoyed the island and your stay at Mount St Paul Estate.
Spread the word for us in Wellington.

Kind regards
Hilary, Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My youngest of 3 sons and I had the opportunity to travel to New Zealand in Nov of 2012. It was to be the highlight of the year. Mount St Paul Estate was booked for us through Boulder Travel Agency (of Boulder Colorado U.S.A.) when I said we wanted to visit GBI as a part of our nearly 3 week stay in New Zealand. After missing the car ferry from Auckland, we made the choice to fly, and a wonderful choice it was! I called Peter Cole from the airport in Auckland and let him know we would be arriving at the airport rather than the ferry dock. He was there to meet us! He got us a great deal on a local rental car and then hosted an absolutely fabulous 3 day stay at Mt St. Paul. He and Hillary were both very accommodating! My son has a medical condition and his medication must be kept cool. No problems, and no questions asked!. After a wonderful breakfast the first morning, Hillary filled us in on all the best spots for hiking, fishing, sightseeing, even a round of golf! We soon realized, we were already in the best place to stay while on GBI. The room itself was ample, with it's own bath and shower, with windows looking out over the the most spectacular beach front and tropical hillside jungle. Very, very comfortable! Peter and Hillary were available at all times to answer any questions for us, and even to call ahead and make reservations for us at a couple of the best local restaurants. We had to have a picture of Peter and Hillary, and of course their dog Ben, for our photo album! The whole experience of Mount St Paul Estate on Great Barrier Island was one we'll never forget, and that we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed having you both.
Maybe you will have a return trip sometime. Thanks again for the very nice things that you said and also about Ben, he is getting quite famous now!!!

All the very best.
Hilary, Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful three days at Mount St. Paul Estate and GBI and are writing to highly recommend both. We generally stay at 5-star and luxury resorts around the world, definitely not back-packing types. Mount St. Paul is the best place to stay on the island. The rooms with separate entrances from the main house are large, private and well appointed; ours had a king bed, and included a beautiful ensuite. The best part for us was the twin balconies that allowed us views from anywhere in our room. One balcony we think had the best view of a beach on the island – comparable to many of the lookout points that dot GBI. Hillary and Peter were well-informed hosts who stayed out of our way when we wanted and were very helpful when asked. Hilary made a terrific breakfast for us in the mornings. They are a resource on the best walking trails and restaurants – so ask for recommendations. We do not surf, and walking on the deserted beaches topped off our three days. We took the ferry back and forth, an easy four and a half hour trip from Auckland. It allowed us to bring our car, watch the fantastic views in both directions, catch the sunrise going out and the sunset returning. We even spotted a whale! I should not forget to mention the owners’ dog Ben, gentle sweet giant, who will bring you his latest toys if asked. The long and winding road to the establishment had wildlife including birds, which made our stay more enjoyable. We came to rest and relax in an upscale environment and we found it at Mount St Paul Estate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balconies and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi,

Thanks very much for your very kind words. Ben appreciated them too!!! Seriously we
really do appreciate your review, it means a great deal to us.

Kind regards
Hilary, Peter and of course Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here over a perfect summer weekend. Hilary and Peter were extremely helpful in sorting out our travel (flights) arrangements and a rental car while we were on the island - and everything was seamless. They were very welcoming hosts, and within 15 minutes of arriving on Great Barrier Island we were sitting on our balcony with a stunning view and a complimentary bottle of wine - doesn't get much better than that! Breakfast on Sunday morning was delicious too. Comfortable (massive) bed, nice bathroom with both shower and bath. All in all I would highly recommend Mount St Paul for a stay on GB Island, and we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hi,

Thanks very much for the lovely review most appreciated. Hope that your birthday was most
enjoyable for you. Hope to see you again sometime.

Kind regards
Hilary and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We are a french couple and after a 2 weeks tour in New Zealand with a small group of 10 people , we wanted a few days for ourselves in a remote area , in order to hike and relax before going back to France. Great barrier and Mount St Paul was proposed by our NZ tour operator and what a great idea! : Hikes are beautiful ( mountains and sea all over) and very few hikers , the atmosphere of the island is quiet and peaceful and the welcome and bedrooms at Mount St paul estate are just fantastic.
If you wish a retreat from stress, if you like nature and whether you wish to hike or just relax on your private terrace in front of georgous panoramas..this is the place! This will remain one of our great memories of NZ ..

Room Tip: A sea view is a must ! the view on the ocean with the 2 terraces is simply amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We appreciate it very much. Maybe you can visit us again one day.

Hilary and Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount St. Paul Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount St. Paul Estate

Address: 29 Kaitoke Lane, Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrier Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mount St. Paul Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount St. Paul Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.