We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuka Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Barrier Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manuka Lodge
Save
You added Manuka Lodge to your Saves list
12 Rosalie Bay Rd | RD1, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Was just great: room is perfect, view is stunning and Toni a very kind and careful host and helped me organize the next steps after missing the ferry. Can only recommend staying at Manuka Lodge, it is peaceful and quiet but still close to a shop, restaurant and most importantly the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by Toni. Our studio was well appointed and the views were fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble for Toni to organise to ensure that our stay was pleasant. Her local knowledge amassed from years of holidaying at Great Barrier Island (as a child) with her own family was evidence of her passion to market this New Zealand hideaway. Toni's involvement in tourism and community activities away from the day-to-day running of her lodge meant that her information was current. Her recommendations of areas to visit were 'spot on'. The walk to Mount Hobson and across to Mount Heale was worthwhile - the scenery and views picturesque!! The location of Manuka Lodge is great - plenty of walks nearby but a hire car (the Team at Aotea was amazing from the beginning to the end of our trip) - is necessary to drive the island at leisure. Thank You Toni for making our short summer break easy and memorable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Host Toni was friendly and helpful, the unit was pleasantly appointed and the Lodge is well located. There was only one problem- and it is a serious one. The walls are so thin that you cannot get to sleep till the people in the next unit do- and once you do, you toss and turn on the bedsheet worn rough with age, and the pillows that are so thin they are less padding than a towel. Everything else was really nice so please, please get a new flat sheet and some new pillows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni S, Owner at Manuka Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I am very sorry this traveller did not have a good night at my Lodge. I can sympathise completely with regard to the pillows and sheets, but wonder why they did not mention it after the first night so that I could do something about it to make their subsequent nights more comfortable.
Needless to say I have now replaced the sheets and pillows, and wiil attempt to correct the noise problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Manuka Lodge is very well situated with great views over Tryphena harbour and a short walk to a sandy beach and a small grocery store / takeaway. Toni our host was a very helpful and gave good advice on what to see and do on the island. Our unit was a reasonable size with a comfortable bed - it had a fridge and two gas rings

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manuka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuka Lodge

Address: 12 Rosalie Bay Rd | RD1, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Great Barrier Island
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Barrier Island offers everything for the independent traveller who wants to get away from it all to a simpler way of life. In keeping with this, Manuka Lodge offers affordable self-contained accommodation, with the comforts of home. Set in tranquil gardens with abundant birdlife and utilising solar power and rainwater, each unit has a private balcony with harbour and gulf views and is suitable for two guests. Each studio unit is en suite and has a kitchenette (no oven or microwave but a 2-hob gas cooker) Mosquito net, radio, flashlight and reading material are also supplied.Manuka Lodge is a great place to just relax. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuka Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.