We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel & Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Star Hotel

North Star Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flamborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Star Hotel
Save
You added North Star Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The North Landing, Flamborough, Bridlington, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Flamborough
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hotel & Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is great and the staff really look after you and care about you. The room was lovely and clean with everything you could need. The food was superb and the portions were very generous and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to you. As it is also open to non residents if you are in the area we would recommend you visit for a delicious meal.

Room Tip: This is a difficult one as there are only 7 rooms so think any would be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    20
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
47
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainsborough
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went here on a recommendation and was not disappointed. Good size rooms, well furnished, well maintained and spotlessly clean. Staff so friendly and helpful. The restaurant is way, way above the usual standard of pub/hotel cuisine. The choice of menu suits all tastes and is only surpassed by the quality of the food. Beware of the full breakfast as it is a "belly buster" and certainly not for the faint hearted although still maintaining the excellent quality. An ideal location for exploring the North Yorkshire coast and just a short trip to Bridlington, Filey and Scarborough. Should be 3 star minimum but really worthy of 4 stars for its food and service.

Room Tip: go for the four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visit The North Star at least 48 weekends out of 52, boring you might say, 'Not so I reply" The staff are always pleasant and cheerful with nothing too much trouble for them. We are always welcomed, like every customer, with a warm and cheery smile. The food portions are generous with the famous 'Chef's Steak Pie' a must for the hungry eater. The 'old fashioned sweet trolly' is great as you can see exactly what you are about to order. The home made fruit pies are to die for but not recommended if you have just had the steak pie. You will not be able to move from your table!!!!. Quantity is not everything so quality is a must at The North Star as well. The specials board is always changing so there is plenty of variety to offer the regular visitor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stopped off for lunch after a very enjoyable walk along the coast. The food was good and well presented. A good range of vegetables, not over cooked and served separately . The desserts looked excellent but I had run out of room by then, next time I will make sure to leave some space.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Worth the journey to this lovely restaurant, go hungry you will get loads of food and they ask you if you would like more, it is in a class of its own, with Yorkshire coast at its finest a couple of hundred yards away, it is teaming with wild life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had dinner at the North Star Hotel last week. The food was excellent - fresh fish, fresh veg, and puddings to die for. The portion sizes were very generous, and the puddings especially were massive - lots of cream, plus more cream, and fruit salad for the health conscious. Excellent value.
The staff were friendly and attentive.
The views from the dining room across the cliffs to Thornwick Bay and beyond to Filey were magnificent in the setting sun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from the North Star & what a fantastic little break it was hotel was very clean staff friendly and the food was brilliant ( I had the large brekky & it was immense). We had our evening meal in the pub restaurant which was also just as good I recommend the smoked haddock but everyone's food looked lovely. A good traditional hotel in which I will be returning when I'm up the East Riding again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Address: The North Landing, Flamborough, Bridlington, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington > Flamborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Flamborough
Hotel Class:2 star — North Star Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel Flamborough, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.