We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the food and the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosso Sul Mare Restaurant & Wine Bar

Rosso Sul Mare Restaurant & Wine Bar
Avenida Las Gaviotas, 4, 38679 La Caleta, Tenerife, Spain
661339390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in La Caleta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Go for the food and the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Having visited the place many times, we knew what to expect. This evening we did not reserve a table and the reception was rather discouraging. Anyhow, after asking a second waiter, we were told which tables are available. After sitting down comfortably, we enjoyed a very good dinner. The starter (a selection of various dishes) was excellent, worth returning. The main dishes were served in usual very good quality and generous portions. We enjoyed them, no complains about the preparation, the cooking and the food itself. What was a deception this evening was the rather unfriendly service, partly even giving us the impression that we should feel honored. We left with mixed feelings and we did not return for a second time as originally planned.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    169
    59
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have been coming back for the last five years and I've never been disappointed. Food is excellent but for me the staff truly fab. It's a good sign went the same staff are here as long as I've been visiting. A special thanks to Antonio who always makes us very welcome. This restaurant is a must see and visit for food, views and staff a real credit to the owners. I hope to visit for many more years

    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful meal, lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We were recommended to go here by my girlfriends parents, and it did not disappoint. The food was gorgeous and the service was with a smile. I won't give it 5 stars as we had to wait a while for our drinks order to be taken.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful View & Very Good Food ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friendly professional service. Very good food and wine. The View across the La Caleta bay is lovely and very special at sunset.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ate here a couple of times during our holiday in Tenerife. We didn't book either time so had to wait for a table, but didn't mind as were served drinks while we waited. Agree with other reviewers that if you want a front table or to be seated at a specific time you definitely should book in advance!
Food was great, wine was flowing and the staff were friendly and professional.
A great place to eat!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosso Sul Mare Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
La Caleta, Tenerife
 

Been to Rosso Sul Mare Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosso Sul Mare Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.