We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can eat naked!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Haugen's Chicken Barbecue

Haugen's Chicken Barbecue
13801 Highway 12, Port Perry, Ontario, Canada
(905) 985-2402
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 48 Restaurants in Port Perry
Restaurant details
Uxbridge, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“You can eat naked!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I went for the "famous" Thanksgiving dinner. We each got a plate that consisted of decent white turkey, a scoop of potato, awful stuffing, a stale corn muffin (??), cranberry sauce in one of those paper ketchup cups, frozen vegetable "medley", with gravy poured over top of everything. My wife said the gravy was extremely salty - I said that it made the food bearable. For dessert we got a tiny piece of pumpkin pie smothered in whip cream.

I won't go into the decor of the place. Eight foot stucco ceilings and Formica booths that have seen thousands of cigarettes smoked in. The place is absolutely awful in every sense and a renovation truly is in order. Read further and you will know why this probably won't happen...

The worst part of Haughen's is that it's an assembly line restaurant. They want you in, eat, and get-the-hell-out so that your table can be quickly stuffed with new patrons. You can eat naked in Haughen's because NOBODY will notice you if you do - you won't be there long enough! We drove from Uxbridge to Port Perry, ate our meal including dessert, and drove home backed into the garage and were inside the house in 50 minutes - with long-weekend traffic. All this for $50.00

Haughen's only wants your money but it's too darned obvious. I remember eating there in the 80's and it was packed. It wasn't today - and I now know why.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great atmosphere, wonderful staff and another hidden gem for great food in Ontario. I had the chicken wrap and will be going back for their ribs. I rode by this place once and I'm glad I stopped in the second time. The prices are reasonable (nothing over priced) and make sure you try the gravy with your fries! The old rustic charm and warm friendly staff help make your experience a wonderful stay. Compliment that with great food and you gotta to eat here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“must be an off day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

After seeing their large sign each time we passed by claiming they serve the "Best chicken and ribs". Finally went there for dinner last summer, ordered what they are known for the BBQ chicken. Let just say Swiss Chalet is 10 times better. Haugen's chicken had no taste, the chicken did not look like it was BBQ and the sauce was tasteless.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I haven't tried their chicken, but the ribs are delicious! Very homey atmosphere, friendly service and homemade seasonal pies. Very yummy! Next time I go here I am going to check out what other services they provide. ie: brunch, outdoor seating, etc.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Must be the location [or memories?] - an old fashioned diner since 1953”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Go for the experience. It's a fun outing - reminiscent of bygone days.

This restaurant is located on the south east corner of Highway 12 and Goodwood Road. This means it is easy to stop at on the way to the cottage and also on the way to Port Perry.

There are often numerous motorcycles parked at one end of the parking lot. No exception the night we visited, a Thursday. We did not think we would get in - at least 4 dozen bikes. However, inside the restaurant is much larger than it looks and there were many empty spaces.

There are booths for two and booths for four. Most of the seating I saw was booths, but I did not see the whole restaurant. Not really my idea of a place to tarry for a long romantic dinner, but not uncomfortable either.

The menu is simple, the prices are very very reasonable.

Perhaps my taste buds were off, but their famous chicken [possibly pressure cooked or tenderized somehow] did not impress me much. It was served with a small bit of salad out of a bag. The chicken sauce tastes like ketchup with something added to it. The ribs were okay. Strawberry pie dessert was okay.

On the bright side, the food tasted "cleaner" than food in many fast food type places.

Those who have memories of driving by as children, or like my spouse, stopping for a meal on the way to their cottage, perhaps romanticize this place just because it has lasted this long. Or perhaps have memories of good times there? I don't have such memories, so personally it is not high on my list of places to revisit. But the location is great!

And they do have various events, listed on their website: www.haugens.com

Oh, as I recall, they close for the winter.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haugen's Chicken Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Haugen's Chicken Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haugen's Chicken Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.