We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but nothing exceptional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbank Restaurant

Greenbank Restaurant
1999 Highway 12, Port Perry, Ontario, Canada
905-985-1188
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 42 restaurants in Port Perry
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: This restaurant is located in a small village north of the town of Port Perry, Ontario, Canada. Excellent Japanese food and some Korean. Very fresh, authentic. Great sushi. A local favourite.
Restaurant details
Description: This restaurant is located in a small village north of the town of Port Perry, Ontario, Canada. Excellent Japanese food and some Korean. Very fresh, authentic. Great sushi. A local favourite.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Okay but nothing exceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hubby and I visited here for dinner. Service was very good. Young waitstaff were friendly and seemed knowledgeable. I did hear one diner as a question that a waitstaff could answer but she went off to the kitchen to get the answer. Nice size servings. Food was okay but nothing exceptional. Only real complaint was my tempura wasn't crispy -- it was kinda limp. As the title says, the food was okay but nothing exceptional.

For anyone not familiar with the area, the restaurant is actually in Greenbank not Port Perry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    4
    3
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wouldn't honour our gift certificate”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our family bought us a gift certificate as we frequented this restaurant and we went in to use it and they wouldn't honour it. They said it expired. Needles to say we haven't been back. Buyer beware.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyr
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in an unexpected location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

You would never expect to find an above average sushi restaurant in the middle of nowhere. But, if you are passing through Greenbank, make a stop and treat your taste buds. We've been a half dozen times and never been disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Third times a fail”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Have been to this restaurant three times and even time it has been a experience and I'm done giving them chances. First time they thought a sushi order for four people was a huge order that took a hour to make at any other sushi bar it would take 15 to 30 min if they were swamped. Second time phoned to pick up order a hour ahead still had to wait half a hour longer to pick up order. Third time showed up a hour before the kitchen closes and after waiting 15 min to get a drink order and order foo we were told they had no more rice cooked and could only make 2 of the 8 rolls we order with brown rice not even normal sticky rice sad sad sad.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unagi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Have not been there in about 3 years, it has not changed, still the best Unagi and Sushi I have ever had, It will not be 3 years until I go back again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenbank Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Perry, Ontario
 

Been to Greenbank Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbank Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.