We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of I Capricci di Merion

Save Saved
You added I Capricci di Merion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
I Capricci di Merion
via Pozzo, 21 | vicino via Roma, 06069 Tuoro sul Trasimeno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
NJ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Italian Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I and two friends spent 4 nights here two weeks ago and it was delightful. Our Jr. suite was spacious, clean and charming. The staff is terrific and extremely accommodating and the setting is gorgeous. Ristorante is very good as well as the wine list, with many reasonably priced wines. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icapriccidimerion, Proprietario at I Capricci di Merion, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thanks to you all for your review, we are really happy you appreciated our rooms and restaurant,
see you next time
Arianna, Stefano and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    56
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
197
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Superb experience. A fine old house converted into a hotel with beautiful gardens and swimming pool. Also an excellent restaurant with good wines at all price levels. Definitely a place to spend time at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icapriccidimerion, Proprietario at I Capricci di Merion, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words...we appreciate it!
Arianna, Stefano and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

I deliberated over the star rating for this one for some time, between 4 and 5 stars.yes I had a few small niggles, but I ended up knowing it was definitely 4.5 stars or more and therefore had to be 5 star.

A truly beautiful hotel in a beautiful location & setting, with lovely individually decorated rooms all characterised with unique antique furniture. Great warm welcome on arrival, in good English, to this rustic Italian property.

There are only 9 rooms, which gives you an idea of the indivudal service that is provided. We had Molière at the top on the 3rd floor. This gave us a private secluded walled balcony, enabling sunbathing with clothes on or off ;-) The ceiling of our room had been painted with fluorescent paint to mimic a star scape...for someone like me who struggles to get to sleep sometimes this was awesome. The bathroom had a great rain shower, which is perfect for me, but other might find a lack of a bath disappointing. Friends had a suite on the 1st floor which had a lovely four poster bed and a beautifully decorated reception area.

Guests receive 1 hour free use of the 'Emotional Spa', a secluded area where you can lock the door and be on your own with total privacy. There is a jacuzzi with two types of jet, a 'Tropical' shower with three different modes, and a sauna which has easily adjustable temperature including an LCD readout so you know exactly what temperature it is. The sauna roof has those lovely fibre optic 'stars' in the ceiling. The light in the jacuzzi changes colour in sync with the lights on top of the sauna, which together with a choice of 20 different teas means this part of your day will pass all too quickly! The is also a nice pool side, which was just about warm enough. One end of the pool contained more jacuzzi jets so was good for relaxing. Both the hotel, our room and the pool area have views of the picturesque lake.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel as we were staying in the area for a wedding, but it was good...just no hot food - a continental selection only. Can you tell...this was one of my small gripes! But it was all fresh, flavoursome local produce with excellent cappuccino's, so I learnt to go with out for three days...

Francesca on reception gave us great service all week so deserves a mention...we even had a breakfast 'picnic' provided due to an early departure on our last morning, we hadn't asked for this so it was a nice surprise.

I'm sure you don't need me to tell you this part of Italy is simply stunning, just be aware you do need a car.  I wouldn't hesitate to heartily recommend this hotel for your stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icapriccidimerion, Proprietario at I Capricci di Merion, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your words...you described so well and in detail our Villa that there's no much left to add! Speaking of breakfast, we knew from your friends about your leaving early and tought you will have enjoyed something to eat, even if not a proper breakfast.
Thank you again,
Arianna, Stefano and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 days on honeymoon.

The hotel is located in a very quiet and beautiful garden with pool. So, if you are looking for family holiday place, this hotel is fine.
Also we were pleasantly surprised that SPA in the hotel (sauna and jacuzzi) is free of charge.

There is pretty good restaurant in the hotel with Michelin star. Dishes are delicious and unusually decorated.

The room is the only thing that disappointed us. We lived in Puccini suite. To be honest, it needs repair, because we had problems with the sluice in the toilet and light in the room (many bulbs were not light).
Bed was not very comfortable, because everytime you can feel your feet the iron back of the bed.
Also, there is small jacuzzi instead of the shower and you cannot stand there, because the bottom is not flat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Aside from the tiniest of hiccups, with our booking, we could not find fault in this, peaceful, charming, romantic place.

We were getting married in the area a few weeks ago and had rented a villa for ourselves and our guests, but we wanted to spend a view days in the area before the guests arrived to familiarize ourselves with the area and relax.

This is the most peaceful place that we have ever stayed and it was the perfect place to relax before our wedding. It pool is gorgeous, the rooms are charming, the food is beautiful and the spa is an excellent bonus.

I have already recommended it and I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icapriccidimerion, Proprietario at I Capricci di Merion, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words...and see you next time!
Arianna, Stefano and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I Capricci di Merion is the most romantic place where I've ever been, cared for in all details, perfect service, affordable prices, great kitchen, wonderful wellness experience, charming rooms and a great selection of songs, which played at a soft volume, will accompany everywhere in the villa apart from your own room. Wishing you a magic stay at I Capricci di Merion!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icapriccidimerion, Proprietario at I Capricci di Merion, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
We don't find enough words to say...Thank you!!!!
Arianna, Stefano and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We ate in the restaurant of I Capricci di Merion in July 2012 while on holiday in Italy. The restaurant is hidden away in Tuoro on shores of Lake Trasimeno. We ate outside in gardens of hotel. The food was excellent - especially the potato and truffle tart to start. The service was excellent and teh meal very good value for money. We will certainly by back soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at I Capricci di Merion, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your compliments, we are happy to know that you like our Restaurant and food !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to I Capricci di Merion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Capricci di Merion

Address: via Pozzo, 21 | vicino via Roma, 06069 Tuoro sul Trasimeno, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19th century Villa near lake Trasimeno with 9 rooms, each one different from the others, intimate spa for exclusive use and with the possibility of massages. Also present a swimming pool with jacuzzi corner and a view on the lake and a small restaurant by candlelight, sometimes with the delicate sound of live harp music ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your I Capricci di Merion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Capricci Di Merion Tuoro Sul Trasimeno, Italy - Province Of Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Capricci di Merion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.