We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bland food, mediocre service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pier Seventeen

Pier Seventeen
1 Causley, Blind River, Ontario P0R 1B0, Canada
(705) 356-1717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Blind River
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“bland food, mediocre service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Went in for Sunday brunch--they no longer have the brunch buffet, which was disappointing (but in fairness, I didn't call to check that). Small menu with a half-dozen or so breakfast-ish items. Had scrambled eggs, sausage, home fries & toast. The eggs & home fries were sitting in puddles of grease on the plate, none of the food had any real flavour to it, except the fresh-fruit garnish.

Our server was perhaps new, definitely not well-trained. Offered my husband a coffee refill while ignoring my empty cup right next to his. We had to ask for jam to be brought out for the toast, thinking that he'd bring a little basket of assorted packets like the next table over had gotten--was a disappointment (& rather off-putting) when he came back over, dropped a handful on the table then walked off.

Disappointing experience overall, not our first one here, but will likely be our last. Neither the food nor the service were worth the price of the bill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    8
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blind River, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“dinner out for birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

for my first time there the sevice was awsome and so is the food you could not ask for better in a small town and the food manager does an awsome job

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hear it's better than when first opened”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Will have to go give this place another chance now that I hear the wrinkles have been ironed out. Food was OK at the time, but nothing spectacular...hear it's very good now. The setting is nice and new with beautiful views of the river. Nice to sit in or even better out on the patio.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We don't get there too often, but it is a great place for a treat. The decor is great, location just wonderful and the food is exceptional.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I went there a couple of weeks ago an I had the rainbow trout and my friend had the beef tenderloin, both to DIE for !! The server was excellent ! This little blonde haired girl was just a little sweat heart ! She was very polite and very efficient ! The view of the fall colors looking over the water was magnificent, as was the decor !!

A big thumbs up to the owner of this place ! They should be very happy !

Stop here for sure !!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier Seventeen also viewed

Blind River, Northeastern Ontario
Blind River, Northeastern Ontario
 
Blind River, Northeastern Ontario
Blind River, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Pier Seventeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier Seventeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.