We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Old Mill Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Mill Motel to your Saves list
Old Mill Motel
Hwy 17 & Woodward Ave, Blind River, Ontario P0R 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Blind River
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here last night and was highly disappointed. There were 10-15 hairs on the floor of the bathroom. We got into bed and there was sand and gritty stuff between the sheets.
also beware, the motel is right next to the train tracks. The train came by in the middle of the night and work all of us up. Definitely not worth the cost to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    6
    9
    6
See reviews for
8
10
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

These people will entrap you if they think you have a dog staying there. They don't tell you when you check in, but they will try to fine you $250.00 if they think that you have a dog staying there. Also, they will kick you out but not refund your room fee. So make sure you pay with part cash and the rest on check-out. I had to cancel my credit card because of these people.

Room Tip: Go to Pier Seventeen. A bit more costly but well worth it. Beautiful room! And a great restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blind River hotels

Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Well, you win some and you lose some when you are traveling on a tight budget and this is definitely in the later category. The Old Mill is definitely outdated and for me its only redeeming qualities were that it was clean and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. Otherwise it still needs a facelift.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

The Old Mill is right on the River. Very pretty location and we were glad we booked ahead
as the hotel looked to be almost full. Our unit over looked the lake and the sandy beach. We went for a walk on the shore and met many travellers doing the same thing.
The room was large, the bed comfy including the pillows. I personally loved the pink sink, bath and toilet. A reminder of my house growing up. A very comfortable clean room. I would stay again. It has the charm of an old motel, but feels looked after. I even got a book from the reception.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is an older somewhat delapidated motel, but it was clean, the service was good, the view from the balcony is beautiful, and there is a lovely private beach on the property. Although there had clearly been some updating done in our room, it needed much more. However I'd stay again just for the view and beach. Be advised there is a railroad track right in front of the motel, a train went by in the night, but not much noise. Also there is a decent "home cooking " type resturant across the street, and a Tim Horton's.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moulins, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The folks who run the place are certainly nice, but the place itself has seen better days. No smoking, perhaps—but the rooms reek of smoke. They bill the rooms as cozy--if cozy is crappy 70s furniture that you wouldn't want to sit on. We got stuck in this town (itself not much of a destination)--Old Mill was the only option left. Try for Pier 17. Overpriced. And loud! This seems the choice for local highway workers, and they partied nearly all night (it seemed) just down from our room (we had kids, so this was especially charming). Next morning their picnic table was literally covered with beer bottles and cans.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We needed a place to crash and decided to stop in for the night. The room was small but was recently updated and our stay was pleasant. The room was very clean and provided a microwave, refrigerator and a small flat screen television. The bathroom looked to be recently renovated which was nice to see. Overall a good experience for two weary travellers.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Mill Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Motel

Address: Hwy 17 & Woodward Ave, Blind River, Ontario P0R 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Blind River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Blind River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Mill Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Motel Blind River, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Mill Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.