We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Refugio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Refugio to your Saves list
Hotel El Refugio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Putuco | carretera rural a Cabanaconde, 54, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Colca Canyon
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Rooms are large and comfortable. They have hot springs that you can soak in. In the correct season, you can see a roaring waterfall from corner of the terrace. The terrace has good views of the river and cliffs. Far from town but it has an in-house restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    41
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
49
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night before viewing the condors and the canyon. I think we had the best room in the hotel, for three of us, split level and great views! Very comfortable bed and good quality linen. Hot spring baths were great. Did not have dinner so can't really comment on the food, though breakfast was ok.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the El Refugio Hotel outside of Chivay Peru January 31 to Feb. 1 2013. It is located about 5-8 minutes from he town of Chivay, Peru. It sits on the banks of the Colca River and is very serene and peaceful. As you approach the hotel lobby, there is a beautiful waterfall inlet that dumps into the main Colca River. But, if you want to go into town, you will have to have the front desk call you a cab which we did one afternoon. The cost of the cab ride is S./15 (15 soles) each way which we thought was a bit spendy. The hotel has it's own thermal baths which was wonderful. The temperature is perfect--not too hot or too cool--just right! The inside of the room was nice and clean. We had asked for a matrimonial room and what they gave us was a room with 3 beds; Two queen size beds and a single which was fine for the two of us to share one of the queens. A nice touch was, every day they provided us with a clean terry cloth robe to use for showers or the thermal bath. We used this hotel as our jumping off point to Colca Canyon and the Condor Crossing (Cruz del Condor) which was amazing and beautiful! The bathroom had plenty of hot water but no exhaust fan which made the mirror fog up each time the shower was used. The restaurant was average as was the food. For the included morning breakfast they cooked to order your only choice: eggs scrambled or fried. The had a fruit bowl on the table with a pitcher of OJ and provided either toast or a bread-type biscut with your eggs. The hotel was listed as a 4**** but I felt it was more a 3.75 *. There was no TV in the room which was fine by us. The only TV is located in the main office/common area of the hotel. So overall, if it is peace and quiet you want, where the river lulls you to sleep each night, this is the place for you. Ther is also a family of eagles that soar overhead once in a while. Service was good and obligatory but no one bent over backwards.We really liked it and would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Bring a book, game or something else to entertain you due to its isolation from town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

El Refugio is nestled down in the start of the Canyon, just outside Chivay. It is a solid 15 min walk from town. It is a lovely, serene location, but therein lies pros and cons. The pros are that the hotel is nicely styled like an Eco lodge, the rooms are large, very clean, quiet and atmospheric. Wifi only works in the foyer. There is a nice thermal pool onsite, whereas for other hotels in the area you have to travel to thermal springs and pay to use them. The cons are that you are a little trapped because walking to/from Chivay in the dark s not a realistic proposition. This means you have to dine at their 'restaurant' which has a limited range - although our soup and salad combo was pretty nice as we were not at all hungry. Breakfast is serviceable, but nothing special. There is a big problem with the path down to the hotel from the bus parking area. It is still being repaired (see other reviews) and in parts is gravel and slippery. Yes, they carry your bags up and down the path, but it is a hazard and will trouble those not fleet of foot (or fit). Overall, a really nice hotel that is in an apt location for your visit to the Canyon. BTW, the Condors are spectacular, but try time your visit to when the other tour buses have gone!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel on the drive back from visiting Arequipa. We arrived (we were 3 couples) at dusk, the view was beautiful, the hotel is nestled in the bottom of the canyon on the river. There are many steps to reach the reception area which did not pose a problem for us, it actually made the approach even more magical. The gardens were beautiful, the reception staff very helpful, they retrieved our luggage from the car and brought them to our rooms. The room was very clean and comfortable as were the beds and bathroom. We wanted to use the thermal baths but the water was cold . It is very quiet and a great place to rest. The food was good but not remarkable. It was a great stay and recommend staying ther but I do not think I would go back . I would suggest that perhaps the hotel would indicate more clearly the location of the reception as well as a clearer sign on the road to help travellers find their way ( the sign is werathered and not very readable)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights here last month and the hotel we found beautifully located and well thought out. We stayed in a suite and the room was great - spa in room, bigger bed and clean.

The service we recieved was very helpful and attentive. In the restaurant we had a few good meals with great variety of food also. The hotel is located a little bit away from town (15 soles by secure taxi) and at the end of a gravel driveway which our tour bus refused to drive down as its hard to maneuver it so we did have a 10 minute walk after a tour one day. The only other thing I can fault is there is only wifi internet in reception and restaurant and very average speed. But we would stay here again

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the night before we visited Colca Canyon to see the condors (that were a great sight). I do not recommend this hotel. It is located in a spectacular location right on the rapids of the Colca River but that does not make up for the bad night's sleep. The rooms are large but badly furnished and very cold with a small heater which is totally ineffective. Our room stayed cold and damp so that our towels did not dry overnight which made for an unpleasant start to the day. Perhaps all this would not be an issue when the nights are warmer but in mid April it was not acceptable. Dinner and breakfast were okay and the staff was certainly welcoming but nevertheless I cannot recommend this hotel if you want a reasonable night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Refugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Refugio

Address: Putuco | carretera rural a Cabanaconde, 54, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Colca Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Refugio 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“El Refugio.” What comes to your mind when you think of those words? Perhaps, a place of security, a safe haven, a sanctuary, a shelter, a retreat, or a place where you can call your own? That is exactly what you get at hotel “El Refugio”. Our motto “In contact with nature”, describes the very setting of the hotel. We are located in the majestic and beautiful Valley Colca. “El Refugio” is bordered by mountains that acts like a retreat and it is situated at the edge of the Colca River that the rainbow trout calls home. El Refugio” is a four star hotel with bungalow type dwellings in a rustic setting that tries to capture the very essence of nature itself. The hotel contains elements like wood, stones, and thatched roof that make it a part of nature. This is to convey a natural setting that will help you to relax and enjoy your time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Refugio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Refugio Hotel
Hotel El Refugio Peru/Colca Canyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Refugio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.