We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windlestraw Lodge Scottish Borders

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walkerburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windlestraw Lodge Scottish Borders
Near Peebles | Peeblesshire, Scottish Borders, Walkerburn EH43 6AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Walkerburn
manchester (via boro)
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First Class ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Read my review, or previous or even better visit Windlestraw Lodge ... you will not be disappointed.

We can break this down into four clear points ... location, house, food and service and i will be direct about each.

Location - sat back off the local road and easy to find the house sits proudly at the end of its inclined private driveway. The views from the house are picturesque and the gardens are lovely & peaceful.
House - the decor suits perfectly and you fell at home and at ease instantly. All the rooms are clean and full of character and i heard no noise from any other room or surroundings. Enjoy tea in the sun lounge or after dinner drinks in the drawing room ... fantastic
Food - Its very easy to oversell an experience but on this occassion i have to say this is the best culinary experience in 5 years of fine dining around the UK. Chef, Alan Reid gets a perfect 10 and i have to say i was served fautless dishes and the second night was simply the perfect menu executed precisely, Thank you! ... breakfast is the best also :-)
Service - Both Alan and Julie Reid care about what they are doing and make you feel welcome and have an eye for detail ... whether it be a pot of tea or dinner service the pair work well and so hard to ensure your stay is remembered (oh not forgetting the girls at dinner and the two four legged friends !)

Without doubt a gem in the scottish borders, FOR SURE !

Negatives - having to leave ! (and bloody rain!)
Visited 28-30 Aug (couple)

Room Tip: all rooms are good. from facing rooms get best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
53
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

On a recent week's driving trip in Scotland, the Windlestraw was an unexpected gem. We had done the west coast, Ballater and Edinburgh, and were on the (subdued) homeward leg of the journey, having had a great week.
We were late leaving Edinburgh, and, being booked in for supper at 8.45pm, had to ring to say we'd be delayed. Julie could not have been more accommodating. We arrived to a warm welcome, were showed to the exquisite rooms (beautifully appointed and comfy), and then came down to dinner

The panelled dining room is graced by a statuesque sideboard, complete with a display of excellent wines, which sets off to perfection the near-Michelin-star quality of the degustation menu we were offered. We were not expecting such a world-class standard of cuisine. Everything was superb, and the homemade bread, wine (mine a smooth, fruity Riesling; his, a complex Sauvignon Blanc), homemade petit fours and excellent coffee were the perfect complements.

Having mini board games (Noughts and Crosses on ours) on the sitting room tables is a lovely touch.

Sadly, we could only stay one night, but it was the most comfortable-come-homely night we had had on our trip.

For the quality of decor, fixtures, fittings and welcome, our doubles were a very reasonable £90 [single occupancy; for two sharing, it's cheaper) per night. We couldn't believe that the food was only £45 - that's exceptionally reasonable.

If you're looking for a high-octaine holiday, this may not be for you, but lovers of quiet, calm, luxurious surroundings should make the trip.

Shall certainly be back.

Room Tip: Rooms are named. Peddie faces the front, and is slightly bigger than Caberston, the other double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We has one night at Windlestraw Lodge and only wish it could have been more!
Beautiful house, peaceful, welcoming, luxurious and the best - the food! You can't eat as well as this in any of the top restaurants in Edinburgh!
We will be back of that there is no doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The food and accommodation were both wonderful. We had a lovely stay, the room was huge and decor was really appropriate for that period of build. We will be back to enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband, baby and I have just spent 2 wonderful nights at Windlestraw. Being fuss pots, we are hard to please, but please us is exactly what Windlestraw did! The decor is fitting for the age of the property, the quality of the furnishings is noticeable, the cleanliness is top class and the communal spaces are inviting and very comfortable. Julie has such a natural and professional way about her and cannot be faulted as front of house. Alan's skills in the kitchen are nothing short of genius. We loved every minute of our stay and all three of us were well looked after, we cannot wait to find an excuse to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Flawless.

But of course one word is not allowed so.....

The house and location are gorgeous, decor superb, food sublime and the owners an absolute delight.

There are two country house hotels in or near Peebles, one of which is excellent but I would suggest a visit to Windlestraw will not disappoint in any way.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights last summer; our experience was fantastic! The food was delicious, and the room was very comfortable. We were very impressed by the kindness of July and Alan. We felt at home immediately. The location is very convenient for visiting many places and towns from there. We definitely plan to return to this place in the future. We strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windlestraw Lodge Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windlestraw Lodge Scottish Borders

Address: Near Peebles | Peeblesshire, Scottish Borders, Walkerburn EH43 6AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Walkerburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Walkerburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic getaway destination in the heart of the beautiful Border countryside with outstanding views of the River Tweed and Tweed Valley. Relax and enjoy the splendor and location of this beautiful house, coupled with sublime food, superb wines and relaxed but professional hospitality from chef owner Alan Reid and his wife Julie. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windlestraw Lodge Scottish Borders Hotel Walkerburn
Windlestraw Hotel Walkerburn
Windlestraw Lodge Scottish Borders Walkerburn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windlestraw Lodge Scottish Borders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Windlestraw Lodge Scottish Borders to your Saves list