We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park

Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park
Edmondsham Road, Verwood BH21 5RJ, England
44 1202 824040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Verwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park offers a balanced educational and fun day out for all ages from todlers to grandparents. Enjoy facinating daily talks and tours delivered with passion! Free Heavy Horse Wagon rides, Tractor and trailer rides and even the chance to drive a real farm tractor, plus much more including pony rides pony grooming and pet handling sessions throughout the day. Explore exhibits from days gone by freddies blacksmiths, gypsy caravans and showmens collection.Children can let off steam in the undercover go cart arena, drop slide barn or on the pedal tractors and adventure play area. Enjoy home cooked food in the cafe set amongst a backdrop of splendid scenery.Lots undercover in case the weathers not so good, Your visit helps provide a permanent home for over 25 rescued Heavy Horses.
uk lake district
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Me and my 7 year old daughter had a really lovely day.
The animals were amazing. The children were encouraged to get close to them and really enjoy them. All the activities were good fun with very little in the way of hidden costs on top of entry fee. ( £1 bag of feed for animals)
It's a very low tech experience, very simple and down to earth. If you want whistles and bells you will be disappointed but then it's probably not for you.
I would defiantly go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    64
    12
    5
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a great day out. Two adults plus a two year old. Plenty to do.... Lots of horses, wagon rides, tractor rides, bouncy castle, playground etc etc. Friendly staff. Nice cafe. Good value for money. Been to plenty of farms and thought this was great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I really enjoyed being at the Dorset Heavy Horse Farm. The wagon ride was good. The talk on the horses was very interesting. Feeding the horses was a joy :-). The place has a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A great "hands on" family day out for older children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Dorset Heavy Horse Centre. As a family of four with 10 and 11 year old girls, we have grown out of the petting zoo and mini theme park venues. This is much more involving, with plenty to do, especially if you love horses. There are loads of other animals too though. The highlight had to be taking the reigns of a horse and wagon and driving it around the centre; I have never done this before. They are such gentle animals. I really don't mind supporting such a great organisation - you can really see where the money is going. We shall be back again, but as we are local will probably invest in the family season ticket.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Totally enjoyed our day out was worth every penny will be going back next month I have the up most respect for the people that run this place its amazing that people rescue these animal's I will be supporting this place from now on

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park also viewed

 

Been to Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.