We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant educational & recreational visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park

Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park
Edmondsham Road, Verwood BH21 5RJ, England
44 1202 824040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Verwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park offers a balanced educational and fun day out for all ages from todlers to grandparents. Enjoy facinating daily talks and tours delivered with passion! Free Heavy Horse Wagon rides, Tractor and trailer rides and even the chance to drive a real farm tractor, plus much more including pony rides pony grooming and pet handling sessions throughout the day. Explore exhibits from days gone by freddies blacksmiths, gypsy caravans and showmens collection.Children can let off steam in the undercover go cart arena, drop slide barn or on the pedal tractors and adventure play area. Enjoy home cooked food in the cafe set amongst a backdrop of splendid scenery.Lots undercover in case the weathers not so good, Your visit helps provide a permanent home for over 25 rescued Heavy Horses.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant educational & recreational visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Another lovely day out with two year old grandaughter, staff cant do enough for you not many visitors on arriving due to earlier rain, thunder & lightning but we love it come rain or shine such a lovely place and gorgeous animals especially the heavies that are luckily rescued they will have a home till the end of their days. A new baby foal three days old to see from one of the heavies bless it. Place shouldnt be missed,many thanks to all staff and owners who do a wonderful job
Teeny20 southampton.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    64
    12
    5
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Every time I visit the new forest me and my family without fail visit the heavy horse centre. Fantastic centre and you can see the money you pay goes to a wonderful cause, the horses and other animals are well looked after which is shown in condition of the animals and the way they act towarda visitors. Lots to do, horse drawn wagon rides, tractor and trailer rides, feeding of the shire horses and various animals.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“FANTASTIC DAY OUT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have had a brilliant day out with an age group from 4 - 81 years young :-) their is something to do for everyone, from looking at the animals to feeding them, tractor rides full playground for the children , then when you have had enough relax in the cafe area which is lovely home made food.... Recommend to all..... Enjoy x

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just got back from a fab day at the Dorset Heavy Horse Centre. The staff were so friendly and very entertaining. Really impressed with the fact that everything was included in the price. My girls (10 and 8) thoroughly enjoyed themselves with so much to do.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Brilliant day out, suitable for all ages. This is education and recreation combined. This centre is run by people who clearly have an affinity with their animals. We were given a potted history of each of the heavy horses. Dull I hear you cry, NO WAY ! The gentleman (a real character) encouraged audience participation
There was one unexpected addition to the centre and that was the reptile area, we were lucky enough to go in at feeding time which was fascinating.
The little cafe was good value, the food fresh and well presented.
There is a chance, if you want, to further help rescue heavy horses by sponsoring a horse for £30, which we did
We will certainly come back and will be recommending to our friends.
Keep up the good (essential) work

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park also viewed

 

Been to Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorset Heavy Horse Farm Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.