We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amazon Tupana Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amazon Tupana Lodge to your Saves list
Amazon Tupana Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Rua Campo Grande 403, State of Amazonas 69047-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is remote, really remote - which is just what we wanted. Limited periods of electricity, no wifi or signal - a great escape. The property is beautifully in keeping with its environment and many of the staff lived locally along the river bank.
The food was good and plentiful. The room was as you would expect. Well attended and clean - but after a massive downpour one night we had a tiny frog visit our shower room - we were happy to share!
The best aspect of the trip was our wonderful guide Shawn and Jamus the boatman.
Charming, knowledgable and nothing was to much trouble. They both had the intuitive balance of information, humour, detail and quietness. Both had a real harmony with us and the environment.
All the lodge staff were cheery and helpful although the resident macaw,Nina was amusingly moody! The dog Rex and the exceptionally lazy cat were delightfful but the semi-resident spider monkeys stole the show.
The activities were well organised with the highlight being the night cayman stalking. The sense of remoteness, the wonderful night sky and closeness to nature was marvellous and a memory we will never forget. We loved swimming I the river and the other guests were very friendly and like minded.
It is a trek to get here - but we wouldn't have missed it for the world and the journey across the Amazon at Manous and the journey to the lodge the other side is an experience in itself.m

Room Tip: We had a river facing view which I would recommend. From the varangian you can see all the comings a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    38
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
56
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shediac, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at Amazon Tupana. We couldn't have imagined a better way to spend quality time with the children, aged 4 and 6, as a family.

The staff was wonderful. We really enjoyed Aprigio and his knowledge of the forest and the river. We felt very safe with him.

We also enjoyed the food. The layout of the lodge is great. All the staff continuously wanted us to be comfortable, they were very pleasant and accommodating, and at the same time, they didn't invade our privacy.

It's an experience we will never forget. The children continuously talk about Rex the dog, Garfield the cat and Nina the perrot! We loved swimming in the river, spending time in the playroom, relaxing in the hamacs, forest walks, boat rides, seeing all the wildlife including monkeys and dolphins, visiting the school, the food, and most of all, all of the information Aprigio had to share with us.

We would definitively recommend this to people looking for an adventure in the middle of the jungle, who are looking to get away from the crowds.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our family with boys 10 and 7 years, spent a Christmas time in Tupana. Boys will never forged it. Swimming and playing with monkey Chiko, were top points. Daily trips to surrounding gave a lot as well. Good point was also that there was no need for malaria medication because Tupana is in black water area where mosquitos are not able to breed.

Room Tip: We had separate bungalow. It was super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Tupana is a great experience. Well organized, reliable, good staff. The pick-up at Manaus was spotless, the journey comfortable, with lots of boat & van transfers. I loved this place in the midst of nowhere. The animals (i loved the monkeys, hated the kaaimans), the rain that came every day at the same time, the smell of the forrest, the sounds of the jungle, the environment, the other guests. I liked it all. The excursions where good, maybe for 5 days a bit to much of the same. Tupana is a place where the staff doesn't live; they are hired for a couple of weeks and then leave. Now that's the only thing that you feel present which is a bit less positive: it feels a bit like a school camp that belongs to nobody that is being used by visitors. For the rest: a big plus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a great stay at the Tupana lodge where we stayed for 1 week during august . The location is amazing, our guide Robinson was perfect as well as his assistant lucas, and planned the best for us to have the more unforgettable experiences. One of the highlights was the overnight in the jungle, where Robinson and Lucas built a shelter in the jungle. We had time to enjoy ,walking in the jungle as well as canoeing .. , we ll never forget this great experience.
The rooms where beautiful, clean,nicely decorated, the food excellent and plenty! we recommend Tupana for anyone who wants to plan a trip in the jungle.
Ianna and Franck

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Tupana as part of our honeymoon trip around Brazil. The transfers are really well organised with pick up and drop off from our Manaus hotel. We stayed in one of the superior bungalows which was great as it was set slightly away from the main lodge, so it felt very private. The room was good, bathroom was pretty rustic (no hot water) so don't expect luxury, however you are in the jungle! Mosquitos weren't a problem even on our overnight in the jungle.

Our guide Robinson was really knowledgeable and spoke English so was able to tell us about the jungle and river. He was very laid back - we kept asking if anything was dangerous and he assured us it wasn't! One thing I would say is that when we spent our night in the jungle we might have needed a bit more instruction about what to do (e.g. going to the loo - I know it should be obvious but sleeping in the forest was new to me at least!!)

The food was of a high standard and we enjoyed the selection at each mealtime. We swam in the river outside the lodge, chilled on the hammocks and watched the most immense storm on our first night, and made friends with the monkeys that live near the lodge! The evening boat ride out to catch piranha and spot cayman was a real highlight, with a clear night under the stars.

We'd thoroughly recommend Tupana if you're planning a jungle trip in Brazil.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siemianowice Slaskie, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Staff iwas very friendly. Particulary guide Fabio was usefull for us. All trips were interesting and we could get known the jungle as good as we wanted. Because earlier we were in Pantanal we could compere both. Romms were clend every day and during our stay (4 days) we were satisfited for service. Monkies auround lodge were fantastic.

Room Tip: In mu opinion, rooms on the river side are better then jungle side, becuse of sightside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amazon Tupana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Tupana Lodge

Address: Rua Campo Grande 403, State of Amazonas 69047-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Amazon River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amazon Tupana Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Amazon Tupana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazon Tupana Hotel Amazon River
Amazon Tupana Lodge Brazil/AM

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazon Tupana Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.