We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal out with family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Royal Hotel
44 Allardice Street, Stonehaven AB39 2BU, Scotland
+44(1569) 762979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 33 Restaurants in Stonehaven
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Meal out with family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We went here recently and went for a light lunch. Although we thought it would be small the portions were very generous and we did actually manage to eat it all ! Very nice food and staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This has to be one of the best places to eat in Stonehaven. Excellent menu even for someone as fussy as me!!!
Food piping hot when served, tasted fresh and we'll cooked, beautifully presented, but not pretentious.
Waiting staff were friendly and attentive without rushing us at all, despite being extremely busy.
Catered for our three year old well, while our food was served on heated plates, her's was on a cooler plate.
The chef came out of the kitchen to glance around, checking al was well on a couple of occasions.
Overall a completely pleasant experience in a family friendly atmosphere. Would certainly recommend to others.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Excellent food served from a menu featuring a range of daily specials & the usual regular pub grub meals. Staff are friendly helpful & knowledgeable. You are always allowed to take as long as you need over your meal & never feel rushed in spite of this being a busy eatery. Would certainly recommend to anyone looking for a nice meal in a relaxed atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlethen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I went for supper with my daughter and family (7 of us) for a start they have these brilliant round tables and seating which means we can all talk to each other without anyone getting left out as in a rectangle table. The waiting staff were really friendly and helpful and the food itself couldn't be faulted. I especially liked the wee side salad, it was really tasty unlike most places which give you a clump of purple curly leaves and call it a salad! And the prices were reasonable too. We'll definitely go there again. We also got a good supply of crayons and paper for the kids to keep them amused - very important!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

On Christmas Eve I took two young American students for dinner hoping to impress them about Scottish hospitality. Not so, the food was barely warm and the vegetables especially baby potatoes hard.I asked for chunky fries to replace the potatoes and got skinny ones. The portions weren't enough even for a pensioner which I am, I paid with a credit card which was taken upstairs to the office while I waited at the bar. I wrote to the owners a few days later but got no response. Last week I emailed them, still no response. I am a local resident and have many overseas visitors but will not recommend the Royal to anyone, even locals!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Hotel also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.