We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good chinese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal China Chinese Restaurant

Royal China Chinese Restaurant
5 Barclay Street, Stonehaven AB39 2BJ, Scotland
01569 765030
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 30 restaurants in Stonehaven
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Stonehaven
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My second visit and on both occasions had very good service and food. The food is fresh, delicious and presented extremely well.
The decor is modern and clean.
Although the restaurant wasn't full on either visit I would recommend booking.
A great addition to our local restaurant choices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    16
    9
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ABERDEEN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best in Stonehaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Weekly visitors to Royal China
Excellent food, even take a way, superb staff, and owner hands on all the time
Food selection is excellent
Nice and modern, easy parking
Need to book as very popular with Stonehaven residents
Keep up the great service

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have no complaint about the food here, its usual Chinese / Thai fare. However the service leaves a lot to be desired. I have been disappointed on more than one occasion both with the sit in and take away service. On one occasion (feb this year) they screwed up my take-away order and I was left waiting for 1.5hrs. By way of apology they deducted £2 off my £28 order. Their customer service was shocking. However after saying this I have eaten here and had take away since then with no problem at all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We decided on a take away. However when we arrived to collect we wished we had decided to sit in. seating area looked lovely
Staff were friendly. Good selection on the menu. When we got home and opened everything up portion sizes more than enough. We demolished everything. Best take away we have had for a while. We will be back. next time we will try sitting in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I ate here with friends and all of us agreed that the food was delicious! However the service was somewhat lacking. Trying to pay the bill at the end of the night was tricky, we just couldn't grab anyone's attention!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal China Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Royal China Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal China Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.