We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor show” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Cafe Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Waterfront Cafe Bar
Allardice St, Stonehaven, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 30 Restaurants in Stonehaven
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Kilmarnock
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Poor show”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Whilst it is obviously the choice of the owners, I found it very disappointing that it stopped serving meals at 4pm on the Sunday afternoon on the weekend when the town was busy (Folk Festival) and the sun shining.
In these times when businesses are vying for trade I consider this to be an opportunity missed and not 'visitor friendly'.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    8
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Seagulls and dog bowls littered the outside seating area.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

It was a lovely day and following a walk along the sea front in Stonehaven we decided to eat at the Waterfront Cafe along with friends. The outside area has a nice view over the sea front, unfortunately the reality is not so good. Seagulls circled and dive bombed on a regular basis during our meal. They attacked any food left on the plates by departing patrons, staff were slow to react and clear the tables. The area was also littered by dog bowls. Would I return, probably not.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“poor service, terrible outdoor area”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

In a nutshell my back yard, that gets no attention, is in better shape than the outdoor eating area here. Cigarette ends, weeds, tables that are dirty, needing a lick of paint, dirty dog bowls and birds waiting to swoop on the food. Only reason we sat outside is due to smell of fried food inside. On top of that the simple order took ages to arrive, and not all at the same time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“GOOD ACCESSIBILTY AND SERVICE AND TYPICAL CAFE FAYRE ON OFFER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A group of about 6-10 of us have been meeting at the Waterfront fortnightly for over 18 months now. Access is reasonably easy for the members of our group who are wheelchairs users, whereas many other places around Stonehaven are just not as roomy or accessible. The layout and decor are simple and on the practical side, which suits us fine. Occasionally it can get a little noisy, as noise seems to carry somewhat, and the coffee machine makes a bit of an annoying racket - but don't they all?

We perhaps aren't the easiest party to cater for, as we often all arrive at different times, order at different times, eat at different speeds, order something extra at different times, and leave at different time!! Some of us have three course, some have two, some have one, and a few - like myself - tend just to have tea and a scone, so we maybe try the patience of the waiting staff, but they are always very friendly, helpful and accommodating, especially Rhona.

The menu is typical cafe restaurant fayre, and although we always manage to choose something we like, it would be nice to see some new additions being offered on the menu. Likewise, there have been times when one of the soups has been finished at 12.45, and that the scones are all gone by then as well. Surely people want scones in the afternoons too?

Having said that, everything we have is always very good, and the favourable service we receive is really what makes it an enjoyable lunchtime outing for us all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My friends and I were in Stonehaven and decided to have lunch at the last minute. We visited the Waterfront Cafe Bar and were rewarded with a lovely plate of thick warming soup and crusty brown bread. We had a lovely view of the bay. Will use the Waterfront more often now.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Cafe Bar also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Waterfront Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.