We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonehaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Chapel of Barras Farm, Stonehaven AB39 2UE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“Great stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We just spend 1 night at Chapel of Barras, and we noticed the place was perfect! Wish we could have stayed longer. Very spacious room with great hosts, and excellent breakfast. If you are traveling by car this is your place where to stop for sure. A different experience, highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
53
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A wonderful 2 night stay. Everything was just perfect....even the weather !
Will definitely return here soon ! Spotlessly clean spacious bedroom and bathroom !
Delicious homebaking and super breakfast menu. Friendly, helpful owners who know the area so well. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a brilliant stay at the Chapel of Barras B&B in June. The bedrooms are so airy, windows looking out to the fields and the farm, the bathrooms are so spacious, all in all superior to many other B&B’s we have stayed in. The baked treats that welcomed us in our bedrooms were wonderful. The location is just beautiful, just a few minutes from Stonehaven, an ideal spot to stay and tour the many castles in the area. Our hosts couldn’t have been more accommodating, helpfully advising us on our exploration of the area – thank you David and Michelle! The Scottish breakfast was absolutely delicious!!! I’m hungry thinking about it now! I would highly recommend this B&B as it was just ideal and it was such a pleasure for my family and I to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orkney islands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A lovely country location, friendly welcome and beautifully designed new addition to farmhouse. The room was calm after a busy day at work, with most attractive furniture and furnishings. Very tasteful, lovely colours, great bathroom.
Breakfast was worth getting up for, definitely one of the best breakfasts I have had when travelling. Well actually better than the ones I have at home as well. Lovely fresh fruit, selection of breads and really tasty eggs. Definitely one to go back to. In fact I should not be telling you, they may be full next time I try to book !

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights before our wedding at the Dunnottar Castle in Scotland. We were immediately welcomed into David and Michelle's house and shown to our very clean, spacious and comfortable room with an incredible view! After a good nights sleep we woke up and enjoyed a great, homemade Scottish breakfast and went out to enjoy Stonehaven. The day we were to check out they were nice enough to allow my wife to stay longer than checkout to prepare for our wedding that day. There were very personable and welcoming and when we return to Scotland we will definitely stay with them again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a great time in Stonehaven, and this B&B topped it off with its large room, cleanliness and freshness, and very comfortable beds -- oh, and the breakfast was great! They served a full Scottish breakfast and plenty of other food for those of us not quite so adventurous. It was conveniently located near Dunottar castle and the town of Stonehaven, which is home to the #1 fish and chips restaurant in the UK. The hosts are also very friendly, and they let us go out and visit the cows, which I know sounds weird, but for a city-girl from America, it was fun. If you are adverse to B&Bs normally, you might like this a lot, because it felt a little like a hotel room. Great place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Far enough off the beaten track to feel like you're out in the country, close enough to Stonehaven for all the facilities you might need. Beautifully extended farmhouse giving comfortable and tastefully decorated accommodation for guests. David and Michelle couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful. Home made croissants, Scottish pancakes, bread and muesli were all delicious. They don't skimp on quality for the rest of the fayre either. David must work really hard on the farm to keep himself trim with a cook like Michelle as his other half! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone. Well deserved to be number one in Stonehaven.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Chapel of Barras Farm, Stonehaven AB39 2UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Chapel Of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast Stonehaven, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.