We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clifftop walk and views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RSPB Fowlsheugh

RSPB Fowlsheugh
A92, Stonehaven AB39 2TN, Scotland
01346 532017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 things to do in Stonehaven
Attraction details
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great clifftop walk and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Bird breeding season from April & still some birds lingering till September. Be sure to look out for butterflies, moths and smaller mammals such as shrew as you make your way along the path.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unknown gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Great place to go for a walk. Huge amounts of wildlife. Nice coastal path with wildflowers. Good hide recently been built as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Fowlsheugh has to be one of the hidden gems of North East Scotland. Spectacular cliffs, thousands of birds, no tourists, and puffins!

If you're going, take the coast road south out of Stonehaven. Turn at the sign for Crawton, and follow the road to the end. The car park only accommodates 12 cars, but we never saw more than four. The path was a bit overgrown when we were there, but it had been raining for weeks. It's a bit muddy, but manageable after so much rain.

We saw thousands of birds nesting on the cliffs - seagulls, fulmars, kittiwakes, herring gulls, razorbills - and when we went all the way out to the end at the Anderson hut, there were puffins nesting and waddling on the cliffs below.

We spent the better part of three hours at Fowlsheugh, with a short diversion to the (free!) loos at the entrance to Dunnottar (getting old sucks!), and can hardly wait to return.

According to a tourist leaflet we picked up in Aberdeen, there can be up to 120,000 seabirds nesting at Fowlsheugh at any one time.

Highly recommended for anyone interested in seabirds, spectacular scenery, and a not too taxing walk away from it all.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a couple of hours - and free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Fowlsheugh is a great place to go for a walk - I think it took us about half an hour to walk from the car park to the hide at the end, stopping to take photos on the way, but I think you can walk on further, towards Dunnottar Castle to the north. Walk is pretty gentle but path is unmade, so probably not suitable for buggies, less able folk etc.
The cliffs were heaving with gulls and other seabirds when we went. It's a bit pungent with all the birds doing what they do, but you can't begrudge them that!
This would be spectacular on a sunny day to take the kids and have a picnic, and there are open areas for running around (obviously supervised near the cliffs!) but I imagine it would be pretty dramatic on a windy, rainy day/evening too.
I hear they are to be running a path from Dunnottar Castle to Fowlsheugh, which would be amazing, but I'm not sure if this yet exists. If that existed, a walk from Stonehaven, up the Bervie Braes (when they re-open after the landslip remediation work is finished) up Black Hill to the monument, over to Dunnottar Castle then on to Fowlsheugh, would be an unbeatable walk! Remember to take sturdy shoes, snacks/drinks if required and be prepared for weather.
The car park is a bit small which might prove tricky at busier times. It is about a 5 minute drive from Stonehaven.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Hadn't been here in years but was worth the walk to see the puffins. The new 'hide' is a great addition to the experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RSPB Fowlsheugh also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to RSPB Fowlsheugh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RSPB Fowlsheugh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.