We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value and good situation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Inn

Ship Inn
5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
01569 762617
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 30 Restaurants in Stonehaven
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Historic inn (1771) on the edge of Stonehaven's picturesque harbour. Stylish glass-fronted restaurant (38 covers) with extensive and varied menu. Seafood a speciality and daily specials board. Meals also served in cosy bar which offers a good range of draught (including real Ales)and bottled beers and ciders. Wine available by the glass or from wine list. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wide selection of soft drinks and excellent freshly ground coffee.We also have an outside terrace overlooking the harbour where we serve meals (weather permitting).11 luxurious ensuite bedrooms (7 with harbour views).
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decent value and good situation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

While the menu is not very cheap, it represents good value. The kitchen does a decent job overall, although one of my fellow diners was still hungry after eating, and my portions were a bit variable, i.e. too much meat and not enough chips ... The food was slow in arriving and the waiting staff were not coping well with the lunchtime rush: our bill had to be requested twice and again took a long time to be dealt with. However the premises are very well appointed and look straight out to the harbour, and despite the quibbles above, the food was good value and well-prepared.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    134
    37
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beware of the soup and sandwich”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I popped in today for a quick bite and left feeling very disappointed. I went for the soup and sandwich combo. The cullen skink was very watery and tasteless, the worst Cullen skink I have ever had!! One mouthful was enough for me.... I then ate the chicken sandwich and near the end I found two large pieces of rubbery chicken skin which is a first for me in a chicken sandwich.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My daughter and i stopped in to the Ship Inn for lunch prior to walking out to Dunottar Castle. This place has a cosy interior and attentive staff and terrific fish and chips. We had a choice of breaded or battered and we chose the latter. The fish came out coated in a lovely crispy coating, and was perfectly cooked within. Very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“The food is good, the service needs further work.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The quality of food and choice was in my opinion spoiled by the poor service. The waiting staff would benefit from additional training. To seat us at the table while they were still in the process of cleaning the table was not a great start. They leaned across the table while serving dishes, never checked if we needed further drinks or thought of pouring wine or water. Although they offer liqueurs on the menu, they were spoiled by being presented in large nip glasses, not what was expected. When asked for cucumber for the gin we were told that they weren't trained to use a knife, sad! Good service needs training and a leadership from the management, nether of which was evident during our visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Delightful location on the harbour front. Good home cooked menu selection with one of the best fish soups I've ever had. Attentive service and good value for money.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.