We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carron

The Carron
Cameron Street | Stonehaven, Stonehaven, Scotland
01569 760460
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Stonehaven
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Food amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I've eaten here three times and my last visit was in July 2014. The food as always was amazing our waitress explained in detail what was on the specials board. This made a difference as we were both going to order from the normal menu but when the specials were described we changed our minds! Service is excellent as is the food. Nothing is too much trouble I had lobster which came with butter but I was told that I could have a mornay sauce or something else if I wanted.

Such a shame that The Carron will be closing at the end of this week what a loss to all us foodies :(

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    39
    17
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“WHAT A GREAT SHAME THIS UNIQUE RESTAURANT IS CLOSING ITS DOORS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We returned to the Carron Restaurant in Stonehaven for a second visit within three months in the week the owners announced they were closing the restaurant, after failing to find a buyer. What a shame, as we have had wonderful meals there and Saturday was no different.

As with our last visit, I had reserved the window table for 4 - the best table in the restaurant and allows you to be slightly removed from other diner's chatter a wee bit, and with the light nights you have the bonus of looking out to Carron and the White Bridge.

We received the usual warm and friendly welcome upon arrival, and as ever, the specials menu was all explained to us and the drinks order taken. Our friends had not visited before, so deemed it fortuitous we'd booked when we did, so they could witness the stunning Art Deco decor, as well as enjoy the great cuisine.

Both us ladies chose the Stuffed Portobello Mushroom from the menu. My friend had spotted it on the website and had pretty much decided before we arrived as she thought it looked very impressive. The guys both selected the Carbonara starter from the specials board. Our starters arrived very quickly, and were all delicious.

For main course I chose the salmon, my husband the pork belly, and our friends selected the Scallops with Chorizo and Cassoulet and the Dressed Crab as their main courses. The crab and scallops were freshly caught from Catterline, a wee harbour south of Stonehaven.

We may have arrived planning to settle for two course, but we were all tempted by the dessert selection, and they certainly rounded off our very impressive meals. We had a Creme Brulee, a Cheesecake, a Banana Parfait, and a Crumble. It just doesn't do these sweets justice to list them like this, as they were all superb, and the attention to detail is what makes all the food so special, but it is especially so with the presentation of the desserts.

We finished with 2 double espressos and a green tea. We'd had quite a selection of drinks, and as three of us had all fancied different wine, we'd ordered by the dearer option, by the glass. The drinks and coffees/tea certainly added a huge chunk to the bill - £44.20, and the food totalled £120.85. That is certainly not a cheap meal at £165.00 plus £20 tip....almost £50 a head, but you are truly paying for Robert, chef/owner's tremendous talents in the kitchen and his wife and staff's excellent service front of house, and a very unique front of house it is too.

I can only speculate that although the restaurant has been packed out the door the Saturdays we've visited, perhaps it isn't so busy at other times. However, this stunning restaurant is going to be sorely missed as a 'special meal out' venue for many when it shuts its doors at the end of August.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“mg101”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Four of us went to this art deco restaurant on a Saturday night, place was very busy but we were attended to quickly, the quality of the food was first class, all starters and mains were complimented on, comprehensive wine list, not overpriced, all in all a pleasant experience in interesting surroundings. Must add there is a chip shop of the same name in Stonehaven, don't mix them up!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good food in lovely building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had lunch on the verandah on friday and enjoyed the sunny environment and outlook over the paved garden. Delicious home made bread and a good wine list. I had the baked crab which was delicious with a generous portion of unusual and tasty vegetables. Service was good up until we were on the point of ordering coffee but we were told, by what seemed to be the manageress dressed in black, in a terse tone of voice, lacking all subtlety, that the restaurant closed at 3 so "we needed to know this" and that put us off ordering anything further. What a shame that staff dont have better training. She appeared so keen to close up shop, clearly not what one wants to hear when one is enjoying a leisurely outdoor lunch on a friday afternoon after a morning of meetings....the stylish and clever young woman who served us up until that point (half way towards a PhD in law and having studied all over Europe as well as in Scotland) had a far better manner with people....what a disappointing end to a potentially memorable lunch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food in unique surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

THere are two "Carrons" in Stonehaven, one is a chip shop which claims ( along with many others) to have invented the deep-fried Mars bar, and the other is this delighful art-deco jewel, serving delicious fresh and local;y sourced food. Both have their appeal, but clearly you should avoid confusing one for the other.The decor is charming, if this place was in Glasgow or Edinburgh it would be much more written about. The service was friendly and attendtive and the waitress was very knowledgable about all the specials ( I think she may be related to the chef, father/daughter ?) Anyway I had a leaf salad with smoked salmon. the veg was home grown, tasty and nicely dressed, the salmon was plentiful and very tasty. Next scalops that were cooked to perfection and melted in the mouth, finished with a chocolate and orange tart that was very rich but somehow I managed to eat it all. Excellent meal, would not hesitste to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carron also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Carron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.