We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Hotel

Marine Hotel
Shorehead, Stonehaven, Scotland
+44 1569 762155
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 33 Restaurants in Stonehaven
Price range: $17 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
896 reviews 896 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
675 helpful votes 675 helpful votes
“Decent Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This pub is located in the center of Stonehaven along the small bay. There are large windows for viewing and some tables outside during the nice days.

The service like most British pubs is order at the bar, give your table number, and wait to be served. The staff are busy on those days when lots of tourists are coming through to see the castle.

A nice international selection on the menu is available to suit any palate. I had a smoked salmon salad with a light dressing. It was a quick service with a decent portion. The salad was fresh and the salmon tasty and not overpowering the vegetable bits.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    78
    30
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“By far, best haddock and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were visiting from Canada and the haddock and chips here was by far the best we've ever had. The portion of fish was huge and the chips freshly made and delicious. My brother's steak was not prepared to his liking and the bill was adjusted to reflect this which was a good gesture and much appreciated. We will definitely be back on our next next trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bliss...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Sat outside in the sunshine today, eating the best haddock and chips in the world,and overlooking the harbour.
Heaven can wait.....

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family gathering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We went to The Marine Hotel restaurant recently. The menu was extensive and everything was cooked fresh and portions were huge !! The service was great and would certainly recommend this pub/ restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“disappointing food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

The menu made the reader feel hungry! The specials sounded lovely too and the staff friendly. Decor was quirky upcycled art using fishing boat corks and nets etc. Clean and family friendly
However my sea bass dish was really rather tasteless and unseasoned. My husband's classic fiush and trips was nothing special. Only as we were so hungry did we eat most of our dishes.

Just really disappointing. We were offered desserts on the house but just said no thank you.

Not cheap either!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marine Hotel also viewed

Catterline, Stonehaven
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.