We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great big picture from the window shame about the details” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonehaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Save
You added Marine Hotel to your Saves list
9-10 Shorehead, Stonehaven, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great big picture from the window shame about the details”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

we stayed in Judas which rewarded the trek up the stairs with a stunning view of the harbour. One side of the room had no power so none of the lights or hairdryer worked. The wifi access didn't work and although the breakfast had a tasty selection of fruit and lovely yoghurts we'd been looking forward to the cooked bit (will study the small print better next time) very noisy through the night outside - people seem to hang about directly below
will try another hotel next time we are in Stonehaven

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
25
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I stayed here with my partner for our anniversary, and it was beautiful, with a lovely AV system that let us play my iPod on our TV, a big comfy bed and a nice breakfast. It was quiet and we didn't experience any noise. However, it cost £110 a night, and it's just not worth it! Also, a bit disappointed that there was no cooked breakfast, just a continental breakfast, when the Marine has such a beautiful restaurant and competent chefs.

Overall, the Marine is great for a romantic stay, but just not worth the price tag.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

The view from our room was amazing - right out over the harbour. The room was small but very well appointed and well decorated, very comfortable bed - in fact, I loved the room! Sadly though, because the pub is so popular, there was a lot of noise from downstairs and even with the window shut I was not able to fall asleep until the pub had closed. (If you have mobility problems then I would not recommend it as there are several narrow staircases up to the rooms.) The food was good though and we would have really enjoyed our stay apart from the noise, but we did stay at the weekend, so perhaps a mid-week stay would be better for next time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

What a fabulous place! My partner and I stayed in Judas which was a superb room, great view over the harbour and was well equipped with a Tassimo drinks machine, safe and very large LCD tv! The food is some of the best we've ever eaten- the seafood platter is to die for. The staff were very helpful and extremely hard working- made us tired just watching them. We had a superb time and we have already booked our return visit!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

the room (Lucifer) on the top floor, incredibly well-appointed, had everything and more. Breakfast (continental style - always a winner for me) and dinner absolutely incredible. Would definitely like to visit again - if only you could stop the youngsters screaming outside until 3 in the morning

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Read the small print, continental breakfast, small tray of fruit between guests, small tray of cheese, etc. Made to feel guilty for asking for a coffee refill. Stairs tricky for elderly guests room safe unusable, small rooms well decorated. Wi Fi not accessible in rooms. No draws in room, noisy with staff room next to bedrooms. Upside, nice view of harbour and free parking, Big LCD TV. If the its the view you want and a decent breakfast try the Ship Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed only one night, but wished it could have been more.

The rooms are superb, very nicely decorated, furnished and finished. Our room was 'Lucifer' (they're all named after Belgian beers apparently) and was on the top floor.

There are some considered touches - the lighting is pleasant, the bed very comfortable and the bedding fresh, clean and cosy, there's a full-size room safe, a flash coffee maker, and a large flatscreen television.

The bathroom is clean, modern and smart, with a very deep full-size bath and separate walk-in shower. The loo runs on 'Saniflo' but worked fine. The soap and shower gel is provided as wall-fixed dispensers - but - they're filled with very good stuff, smelled lovely!

There's no phone in the room, but hopefully, like us, you've come to get away from it all - and to help with that, the view takes some beating: right on the quayside with the harbour and the head right out in front of you. If you do need to keep in touch, then wifi is free and there's a good 02 mobile signal.

We had dinner in the restaurant, and despite it being a busy 8.45 on a Saturday night, had no issues with the service or food. The Dunnottar Ale, their exclusive, was the best beer we had in Scotland. We enjoyed the food, and were quite full on just two courses! We can see why some find the pricing on the high side, but being used to London prices and service, we thought it was a good meal. The pub downstairs claims to offer 100 different (bottled) beers and 100 types of whisky.

Breakfast doesn't feature any cooked items, which is a little disappointing, but there was enough of a continental offering not to leave us hungry.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: 9-10 Shorehead, Stonehaven, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Stonehaven, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.