We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ship Inn to your Saves list
Ship Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night and wish it was longer. The hotel is in a fantastic location on use harbour in stonehaven. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent, as was breakfast, the bar had a good selection of ales and whisky's too. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfy,uthe staff were very friendly too. It's a place we will be coming back to.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    106
    40
    8
    2
See reviews for
42
123
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good hotel. Clean, cozy, friendly staff and with an excellent restaurant.
In front of a small harbor, the location is perfect if you plan to visit the Dunnottar Castle (you can do it walking a nice trail.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Ship Inn has an excellent dining room, a pleasant bar, and comfortable rooms with views of the pretty harbour. The young staff are very well trained and helpful. No residents lounge, which is fair enough in an inn. Nice little town, and good walks, especially to an amazing castle.

Room Tip: Ask for superior room facing harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst my husband attended a job interview in aberdeen. We found the hotel to be lovely the staff were friendly and knowledgable about the local area. We dined in the restaurant in the evening and enjoyed everything we are. We would come again during the summer months so we could enjoy the surroundings more unfortunatly the evening we came it was very stormy and we didn't fancy going outside :) xx

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an evening meal here and a couple of drinks. A nice enough place with a good selection of beers. The menu also had a good selection of meals. We opted for the fish and chips and to be honest it was fine but a bit overpriced for what you got. Also had a sneaking suspicion the chips were cooked from frozen. To summarise, nice place which was very busy but with an overpriced menu.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although we have been to Stonehaven many times this was our first visit to the Ship Inn and will definitely not be our last. Everything from our room overlooking the harbour, the fantastic food in the restraunt and the kindness of the staff make this a hotel you want to visit again and again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Stonehaven after having seen photos of the nearby Dunnottar Castle on the internet. The castle is an easy 2 km (1.5 mile) walk from the centre of Stonehaven, and the amble along the coastal path is among the most beautiful walks I've ever done. We picked the Ship Inn as it had been positively reviewed by others, and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is clean, cosy and comfortable, and the staff were excellent: friendly and and attentive. Our only caution would be to elderly or disabled visitors: our room was up two steep flight of stairs, and we had some difficulty getting our heavy suitcases up to the room (we are neither elderly nor disabled ourselves, and it was still tough!).

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour front room, and pay extra for this if necessary - the view and the sea air were bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Address: 5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic (1771) inn with 11 luxurious en-suite bedrooms (7 with harbour views) - all with flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Comfortable 38 cover restaurant with spectacular views of picturesque harbour. Varied menu with seafood a specialty. All food home cooked using the finest locally sourced produce. Cosy bar with good choice of draft beers (including Real Ales), bottled beers, cider and soft drinks. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wine by the glass and extensive wine list. Freshly ground coffee. Outside terrace with tables overlooking harbour. 20 minutes from Aberdeen - Oil Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Stonehaven
Ship Inn Stonehaven, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.