We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in a Beautiful spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Inn

Save Saved
You added Ship Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ship Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Stonehaven
Montague, Massachusetts
1 review
“Lovely Hotel in a Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice hotel. Had a lovely room that overlooked the harbor. Wasn't the quietest spot since it was beautiful weather, folks were outside having a drink. The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed eating at the hotel's restaurant at night. Took a nice hike up to Dunnotar Castle, and the war monument on the way. The hike is longer than they say, but well worth it. We would recommend it to anyone and would stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room, great view. One evening we had a Polish gentleman, who liked to hear h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    81
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
100
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Beautiful setting in front of harbour. Nice room, probably quieter at back of hotel. Very good cooked breakfast, compared to the poor continental breakfast at the Marine hotel (also dearer) next door. Also, choice of fish, porridge, etc.
Only minor complaint - my poached egg arrived hard boiled.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great place. But the service may be better. Situated in a very picturesque place. Little overpriced. The service may be better. The breakfast was good. The room was with a view to the dust bins. The pipe of the kitchen near the windows.

Room Tip: Ask a room with the view on the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taufkirchen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a cosy room with beautiful harbour view.
The hotel can be highly recommended. The breakfast was rich and very nice. Had a real good time in the Ship Inn and Stonehaven. We surely come back again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great stay at the Ship Inn. Glad we found the place. The room was clean and comfortable with a fantastic view of the harbor out large windows. We stayed in room 9. The bed was comfortable and we had a great nights sleep even though the room is directly over the bar. If you are looking for some exercise there is a trail to Dunnotar Castle from just a few yards down the street. The trail is only 1.5 miles but there are some long steep uphill passages. The reward is the spectacular views when you make it to the top.

Only downside for us was we didn't realise we should have made reservations for the restaurant so we had to eat in the bar. The menu is the same but the bartender who took our order clearly forgot about us and we couldn't catch his eye until we had waited for about an hour. Then he realized his error and came to the table to ask if we had eaten. Should have been obvious that with no utensils and and empty table that we had not been served. What was disappointing later was that he blamed the kitchen for the problem. We had to ask him for salt, pepper, and condoments as well since he just wanted to drop our plates on the table and run.

Still highly recommend the place for a night or two since it is close to several of the castles in the area without the crazyness of nearby Aberdeen.

One last note is that there is no AC in the Inn, very typical of most places we stayed in Scotland, but we found a fan in the hallway and that made the night perfectly comfortable.

Room Tip: Book a room with the harbor view. It's only a little more and the view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friendly welcome and ideal location. We would especially recommend our room which had a superb view of the harbour.
Our meal was served efficiently but would recommend other guests to book a table; the restaurant was full on our night (Friday) but we were lucky enough to be fitted in at short notice otherwise we would have dined in the bar

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was end of our Scottish road trip, and what end. The Ship Inn is bang on the harbour with beautiful views of the harbour. Food (great seafood) staff and rooms were perfect. Great selection of whiskey and real ale on tap too.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Address: 5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic (1771) inn with 11 luxurious en-suite bedrooms (7 with harbour views) - all with flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Comfortable 38 cover restaurant with spectacular views of picturesque harbour. Varied menu with seafood a specialty. All food home cooked using the finest locally sourced produce. Cosy bar with good choice of draft beers (including Real Ales), bottled beers, cider and soft drinks. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wine by the glass and extensive wine list. Freshly ground coffee. Outside terrace with tables overlooking harbour. 20 minutes from Aberdeen - Oil Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Stonehaven
Ship Inn Stonehaven, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.