We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great food & good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ship Inn to your Saves list
Ship Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Leyland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great food & good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times now when I'm working in the area, it's always been superb & the staff are very helpful, they even get me lactofree milk for breakfast, the food in the restaurant is fantastic... I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    114
    41
    9
    3
See reviews for
45
124
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Lovely place, top restaurant with great food.breakfast perfect.
The staff were welcoming, proffessional and very well trained.
My room small but my choice, as I booked the last room available.
Gorgeous views of the port and coastline.

Room Tip: I would and will stay here again, but in a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I stay at "The Ship" a lot. I find it the perfect antidote to the hustle and bustle of Aberdeen when up on business. Room are vey comfortable and clean and the food is exceptional. Best of all is the view when you wake up of the harbour. The staff are all very friendly and I can't see past the Ship Inn when up in the Aberdeen Area. A great little hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were very impressed by the Ship Inn. Our room facing the harbour was spotless and well appointed. The staff were friendly and efficient and though the restaurant is popular and busy we never had to wait long for its excellent food. We would certainly return for the Inn is a perfect base for touring round the area. We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Chose a front room facing the harbour for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed four nights at the Ship Inn. Very good hotel in an excellent location for seeing the area around Stonehaven. The rooms are all upstairs and ours was small but very clean and well maintained. Rooms are not air-conditioned however fans were available, just ask the staff. The pub and restaurant are very active in the evenings and the menu and food are very good. The staff was excellent and provided very good service and information about the local area, how to get around and what to see. Parking is limited in front of the hotel but it is free. Only a five minute walk to the middle of town and to the waterfront, which is beautiful. Don't miss Donnattar Castle but be prepared for a steep walk. The view is spectacular. There is easy access to the Aberdeen highway to the Aberdeen Airport but allow extra time for the traffic, it's not far but it takes some time.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room when booking if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We got a room at the last minute. Not a view but nice and clean.
Would stay here again. And the staff was friendly!!

We walked to the Castle which is about 1 1/2 mile away. Wonderful views and it's worth the walk!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Lovely location in Stonehaven harbour overlooking the quaint harbour and the sea, everything is modern and clean and the staff very friendly. Try the restaurant it won't disappoint with locally sourced home made dishes, please give this place a try folks, we will be back soon

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Address: 5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic (1771) inn with 11 luxurious en-suite bedrooms (7 with harbour views) - all with flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Comfortable 38 cover restaurant with spectacular views of picturesque harbour. Varied menu with seafood a specialty. All food home cooked using the finest locally sourced produce. Cosy bar with good choice of draft beers (including Real Ales), bottled beers, cider and soft drinks. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wine by the glass and extensive wine list. Freshly ground coffee. Outside terrace with tables overlooking harbour. 20 minutes from Aberdeen - Oil Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Stonehaven
Ship Inn Stonehaven, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.