We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ship Inn to your Saves list
Ship Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Reading, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stumbled upon the Ship Inn by chance, looking for a place to stay with some character on the east coast. The Ship Inn faces the old fishing port, with wonderful views out to sea. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was very well appointed, looked like it had been refurbished recently to a high standard. We ate in the restaurant; the haddock mornay was tremendous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    114
    41
    9
    3
See reviews for
45
124
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We slept like babies in our spotlessly clean room. The bathtub was huge--great for soaking. Breakfast was delicious, especially the fried bread and black pudding, and set us up nicely for our hike to the best castle in the whole wide world, Dunottar Castle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Watch the tide go in and out from your bedroom window, see the Sea Cadets tackle the rough seas every evening, enjoy a meal or a drink with locals and visitors alike, admire the cliffs and local Dunnottar Castle and the peace and quiet of a wee Scottish seaside village... What could be more perfect?
Forget the pace of Aberdeen - we'd choose the Ship Inn every time.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The owner has acquired the property adjacent to the original hotel and converted it into a restaurant and additional bedroom suites . We had a room in this new part which has been completed to a very high standard . We had a beautiful view over the charming old harbour .We had delicious meals , but we advise you to book for dinner to avoid disappointment . The service was very friendly and efficient .
Dunnottar Castle, about 2 miles south of the village, is strongly recommended for a visit . At present you cannot walk there from the village along the cliffs because of a landslip.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend asking for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this beachfront hotel with wonderful views and a very comfortable bedroom but were disapointed with the breakfast.. The web site advertises full Scottish breakfast, but although the breakfast was good it was an English Breakfast - No Haggis or Lorne. The toast was very thin toastie bread and tasted like card.
The staff are very friendly, but fail to mention that the restaurant gets very full on Saturday evenings and we couldn't get a meal. Also all day Saturday and Sunday the bar gets full with "locals" and it is very difficult to get served

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room at the front either in the hotel or in the annexe otherwise you have to liste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, tr
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stonhaven is quite a low key attraction on the Aberdeen coast: while its harbor is charming, the rest of town is nondescript at best (nearby Dunnottar castle is, of course, stunning): I had therefore some troubles explaining to my wife why we travelled two hours from Edinburgh to stay there; that is, until she saw the hotel and the room.
The hotel is of course a nice pub + restaurant (of which more below) with a few rooms upstairs: ours, one of the largest to host the bed for our daughter too, was still quite small and a bit cramped, but very charming and immaculately clean. The view over the harbor and the cliffs beyond was picture perfect, and it all had a lot of character (the bathroom was modern and functional).
The staff was welcoming and helpful from the start, giving us indications on how to find the local clinic for some minor problems of our kid.
The food was, simply put, great. Amazing haddock soup and steamed mussels, salmon and turbot (not as tasty as our Black Sea shield turbot, I must say). Good beer and whisky, for a great evening.
A path from the harbor leads above the cliffs toward Dunnottar: the last part of it is now closed because of erosion, but is enough to reach the War Memorial on top to have stunning views toward the castle and the cliffs (to actually visit the castle it is actually simpler to use the car, as now you have to walk on the paved road anyway).
Breakfast was actually slightly disappointing, with hearty scottish fare (the haddock was probably once again the highlight) and a few confectioned jams. Once again, the friendly service made up for the unexciting breakfast.
I cannot imagine visiting Scotland without seeing Dunnottar, and I cannot imagine doing it without staying at the Ship Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

booked an overnight stay online for anniversary. Forgot to book a table for dinner. When we checked in and enquired about eating there we were informed we should have booked as they were very busy but if we wished to eat early (5.30) then they could accomodate us if they could have the table back for 7.30. We were shown to our room overlooking the harbour, the sun was shining and it looked beautiful. after a good shower , toilet perfectly adequate. went to bar for a drink and the bar was busy always a good sign we went next door to the restaurant. The captains table Lovely setting, our order was quickly taken and when the food arrived , it was amazing!!!! We were served very efficiently, not rushed. and given time to enjoy our food. after 3 courses and coffee we left at 7.15. totally full. We went for a walk around the seafront and returned to our room. although we were above the bar the noise was muted. bed comfy and slept well. breakfast the next morning was also spot on. plenty of choice and cooked to order. My only criticism (petty) would be , a wee packet of biscuits on the tea tray in the room would be nice. will definitely return

Room Tip: Room 6 very good view but would imagine in the summer it being very noisy being up above the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Address: 5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic (1771) inn with 11 luxurious en-suite bedrooms (7 with harbour views) - all with flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Comfortable 38 cover restaurant with spectacular views of picturesque harbour. Varied menu with seafood a specialty. All food home cooked using the finest locally sourced produce. Cosy bar with good choice of draft beers (including Real Ales), bottled beers, cider and soft drinks. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wine by the glass and extensive wine list. Freshly ground coffee. Outside terrace with tables overlooking harbour. 20 minutes from Aberdeen - Oil Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Stonehaven
Ship Inn Stonehaven, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.