We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO HAGGIS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ship Inn to your Saves list
Ship Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“NO HAGGIS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this beachfront hotel with wonderful views and a very comfortable bedroom but were disapointed with the breakfast.. The web site advertises full Scottish breakfast, but although the breakfast was good it was an English Breakfast - No Haggis or Lorne. The toast was very thin toastie bread and tasted like card.
The staff are very friendly, but fail to mention that the restaurant gets very full on Saturday evenings and we couldn't get a meal. Also all day Saturday and Sunday the bar gets full with "locals" and it is very difficult to get served

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room at the front either in the hotel or in the annexe otherwise you have to liste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    114
    41
    9
    3
See reviews for
45
124
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, tr
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stonhaven is quite a low key attraction on the Aberdeen coast: while its harbor is charming, the rest of town is nondescript at best (nearby Dunnottar castle is, of course, stunning): I had therefore some troubles explaining to my wife why we travelled two hours from Edinburgh to stay there; that is, until she saw the hotel and the room.
The hotel is of course a nice pub + restaurant (of which more below) with a few rooms upstairs: ours, one of the largest to host the bed for our daughter too, was still quite small and a bit cramped, but very charming and immaculately clean. The view over the harbor and the cliffs beyond was picture perfect, and it all had a lot of character (the bathroom was modern and functional).
The staff was welcoming and helpful from the start, giving us indications on how to find the local clinic for some minor problems of our kid.
The food was, simply put, great. Amazing haddock soup and steamed mussels, salmon and turbot (not as tasty as our Black Sea shield turbot, I must say). Good beer and whisky, for a great evening.
A path from the harbor leads above the cliffs toward Dunnottar: the last part of it is now closed because of erosion, but is enough to reach the War Memorial on top to have stunning views toward the castle and the cliffs (to actually visit the castle it is actually simpler to use the car, as now you have to walk on the paved road anyway).
Breakfast was actually slightly disappointing, with hearty scottish fare (the haddock was probably once again the highlight) and a few confectioned jams. Once again, the friendly service made up for the unexciting breakfast.
I cannot imagine visiting Scotland without seeing Dunnottar, and I cannot imagine doing it without staying at the Ship Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

booked an overnight stay online for anniversary. Forgot to book a table for dinner. When we checked in and enquired about eating there we were informed we should have booked as they were very busy but if we wished to eat early (5.30) then they could accomodate us if they could have the table back for 7.30. We were shown to our room overlooking the harbour, the sun was shining and it looked beautiful. after a good shower , toilet perfectly adequate. went to bar for a drink and the bar was busy always a good sign we went next door to the restaurant. The captains table Lovely setting, our order was quickly taken and when the food arrived , it was amazing!!!! We were served very efficiently, not rushed. and given time to enjoy our food. after 3 courses and coffee we left at 7.15. totally full. We went for a walk around the seafront and returned to our room. although we were above the bar the noise was muted. bed comfy and slept well. breakfast the next morning was also spot on. plenty of choice and cooked to order. My only criticism (petty) would be , a wee packet of biscuits on the tea tray in the room would be nice. will definitely return

Room Tip: Room 6 very good view but would imagine in the summer it being very noisy being up above the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Ship for a couple of nights, on a break from Edinburgh. After the 1 mile downhill walk from the station, we appreciated the fact that it sells 2 well kept real ales. We had chosen one of the refurbished rooms in the extension, up a steep staircase above the restaurant. The room has been done out very nicely, although the side double-glazed windows have developed moisture leaks so they steam up inside. Not a problem to a guest, but something the Inn might want to take up with their installer.

Very nice shower and the water pressure in Stonehaven is massive, so take care when turning on the taps. We were a bit worried that there would be noise from the restaurant below, especially from early breakfasts, but we couldn't hear anything at all. The fact that there's only very quiet music helps. The harbour front is very quiet and we actually left one of the windows open at night, to hear the sound of the waves lapping.

Free wifi is welcome and the Inn is nicely located for a walk to Dunnottar Castle abnd woods, although the cliff path is currently closed

Room Tip: Luxury Room 9 overlooking the harbour and cliffs. Rooms in the original building may be noisy as ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

20 mins drive from Aberdeen so a reasonably priced alternative to the extortionate prices of the city centre hotels. The hotel itself is situated right on the harbour with views out over the North Sea. The bar and restaurant both looked clean and welcoming although I did not have a chance to use either of these facilities. Room was modern and recently decorated and had free wifi which came in very handy. The staff were all friendly, very helpful and pleasant. I will use this hotel again on my visits to Aberdeen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perthshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Company I work with put me up in this Hotel for work in the area. No complaints about Hotel, Room I had overlooked the harbour, Food was good value for money & portions were adequate, sometimes had eyes bigger than my stomach ha ha.
Decor in room was modern & free wi-fi as well.
Would definately use again either for business or pleasure.
The fact it is always busy is a testiment to it being good value for money.
Cooked breakfast in the morning as well being served at 7am, which, when working in the area is handy to get that early start.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Ship Inn in Stonehaven is about 20 - 30 mins from Aberdeen, Clean and friendly accommodation. Breakfast very good but dinner in the restaurant was amazing. Would definitely recommend to anyone and would definitely go back if in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Address: 5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic (1771) inn with 11 luxurious en-suite bedrooms (7 with harbour views) - all with flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Comfortable 38 cover restaurant with spectacular views of picturesque harbour. Varied menu with seafood a specialty. All food home cooked using the finest locally sourced produce. Cosy bar with good choice of draft beers (including Real Ales), bottled beers, cider and soft drinks. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wine by the glass and extensive wine list. Freshly ground coffee. Outside terrace with tables overlooking harbour. 20 minutes from Aberdeen - Oil Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Stonehaven
Ship Inn Stonehaven, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.